We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Crisp, Location Location Location”
Review of John Wesley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
John Wesley Inn
Ranked #4 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new york, new york
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Clean & Crisp, Location Location Location”
Reviewed July 13, 2008

I always select hotels based off tripadvisor reviews and ratings and Im so glad I went this route again. The John Wesley Inn was in the perfect location - 1/2 a block from the beach, and within 3 blocks to the main town center and all the popular restaurants. I selected the suite on the top floor- the Mount Vernon- b/c it looked clean and crisp - unlike a lot of dark, heavy, victorian rooms. With classical music playing from the bedside speaker, a light breeze from the ceiling fan, and comfortable and clean bedding - taking siestas in here was a dream. I have issues with cleanliness and this place was spotless. In addition, the towels may have been the plushest I have ever felt.
Each morning Bonnie the innkeeper serves a fresh homemade breakfast, fit for a 5 star hotel.
Most of the other guests were repeat visitors and if we return to Cape May we will surely do the same.
PS- I recommend dinner and/or drinks at the Ebbit Room in the Virginia Hotel (3 blocks from the John Wesley)

  • Liked — cleanliness, closeness to beach and town, bedding, breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blazerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    40
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
64
511
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MA
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2008

This was our first visit to Cape May, NJ. Bonnie and Lance couldn't have made our stay more delightful! We stayed 5 nights. The Inn is beautifully decorated and maintained. The breakfasts were spectacular and the afternoon cookies were awesome! It is a great location, close to the beach, shopping, restaurants. Park your car in their driveway and forget about it!
Many of the other guests we met had been "repeat visitors" and we could see why. We would definitely return.

  • Liked — great location, clean & comfortable, great hosts
  • Disliked — nothing unfavorable to say
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpfMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, VA
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2008

My wife and I celebrated our 40th anniversary at the John Wesley Inn, and we could not have made a better choice. The Inn is located on Gurney Street 1/2 block from the beach but is also a short walk ( 5 minutes ) from the Washington Street outdoor mall, miniature golf, a great community theater and many restaurants -- location, location, location! The Inn has several fine rooms from which to choose ( book early ) and has a beautiful sunroom and a great front porch. The breakfasts are great - do not miss! And I have saved the best for last - our hosts Bonnie & Lance are truly wonderful folks who welcomed us into their beautiful home and helped to make our 40th great!

Bob & Ruth, Haymarket, VA

  • Liked — Our hosts were wonderful
  • Disliked — Everything was great
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoxerOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2008

A Bed and Breakfast with a real Breakfast! And a very good one at that. Not only the food but the interesting company as you have your breakfast at a common table beautifully laid out.

We have been to several Bed and Breakfasts in Maine, Shelter Island, the Poconos, and Cape May, but the John Wesley Inn has been the best. Bonnie sat and talked with us like old friends and the other couples we met at breakfast made for quite interesting conversations.

Excellent accomodations keeping an "Old World" charm without any "old" inn feeling. Comfortable and fresh furnishings made us feel very cozy and relaxed. We thouroughly enjoyed returning to the Inn after our "Birding" outings with the famous Cape May Conservatory.

If you are looking for a Bed and Breakfast that stands up to the name and concept, look no further. I know you will be pleased with a stay at this welcoming Inn.

  • Liked — Overall Qualtiy
  • Disliked — We could not stay longer
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxieNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We had a lovely suite in beautifully restored Victorian house. A block from the beach, two blocks from the center of town. Delightful, fastidious hostess (we never met her husband). Elegant breakfast tastefully served. Impeccable!

  • Liked — Decor, hosts
  • Disliked — Lots of steps! (We like the exercise, but in a few years, who knows?)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2008

My boyfriend surprised me with a 2 day getaway in Cape May at the lovely John Wesely Inn for my birthday and our 1 year anniversary. The Victorian inn is beautiful and once we walked in, you can instantly feel how much love and care the innkeepers Bonnie and Lance put into this B&B, from the intricate details in their design to their genuine hospitality and delicious breakfast. The rooms were so charming and immaculate. We also really enjoyed how close the inn is to the beach and the mall area filled with quaint restaurants and shops. This was the perfect romantic getaway and we are looking forward to visiting Cape May again and staying at the John Wesely Inn for years to come.

  • Liked — The friendliness and hospitality from the hosts innkeepers
  • Disliked — nothing - it was amazing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lily029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2008

We just returned from a wonderful 2-night stay at the John Wesley Inn. My siblings and I booked four rooms to celebrate my parents' 50th wedding anniversary. The B&B was immaculate, comfortable, and in a perfect location (1/2 block from the beach, in the historic district, and close to shopping). Bonnie and her staff provided lots of extra touches to make our stay truly memorable. All eight of us LOVED it!

  • Liked — clean, comfortable room, with lots of extra touches
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AliceLee428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 39 in Cape May
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Wesley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Wesley Inn

Property: John Wesley Inn
Address: 30 Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2408
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where Antiques and Amenities Harmonize" One of the Historic "Stockton Row Cottages". Located 1/2 block to beach and 2 blocks to the walking mall. Park your car "on-site" and "forget-about-it". Full Service Inn, including a full compliment of amenities. I polish the silver and he polishes the chrome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing