We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of Summer at John Wesley Inn”
Review of John Wesley Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
John Wesley Inn
Ranked #2 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

For the past 6 years, we have spent the last weekend of the summer at the John Wesley Inn. Everything at the Inn is top-notch. The owners, Bonnie and Lance, are warm hosts and great people. The breakfast, the rooms and the hospitality are second to none. I highly recommend the John Wesley Inn for any occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smwesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 750 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

Two years in a row we have celebrated our anniversary at the John Wesley Inn. How could we not?

Bonnie, Lance and Cindy are absoutely wonderful. We truly enjoyed everything. We loved the morning conversations as well as the private napkin folding lesson with Cindy. Their hospitality, the fabulous meals, the absolute beauty of their B&B - made our entire stay perfect. BONUS - besides being the prettiest house on the block, they are 1/2 block to the beach and approximately 2 blocks to town.

I am thinking/hoping this will be an annual visit for us...:o)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just got back from our second visit to John Wesley Inn at Cape May. We just love this place! It is absolutely immaculate, gorgeously decorated, delicious breakfasts and lots of enjoyable conversations with one of our host, Bonnie. The room was large with lots of amenities, parking, candy everywhere (in case you get a sweet tooth attack) and close to everything. We plan to return again...many times.
R and R

Room Tip: Balcony room and suites are just the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We are so happy our children selected the John Wesley Inn as an anniversary gift. This is a beautifully maintained historic property with parking on the premises. Bonnie and Lance were warm and gracious hosts. Location is phenomenal, 1/2 block to beach and 2 blocks to center of town. Bike rental down the block. Our room was clean and very comfortable especially the firm bed. The breakfasts were delicious and served on beautiful china. It was obvious much thought and planning went into making the guests feel at home. Availability of beach chairs, beach towels, coolers, and other amenities. We are definitely planning on returning to the John Wesley Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location - easy walk to the beach and everything in town - and they have everything you need right there chairs, towels, boards, parking. And this is the prettiest house in the famed Stockton row. Great food and amenities; kind hosts. Only negative was the mattress was hard and room had sparse lighting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A last-minute trip to Cape May introdued us to Bonnie and Lance at The John Wesley Inn. It is hard to find combined accommodations for three of us, but Bonnie suggested we could rent apartment B by the night if it wasn't taken for the whole week. She was very timely in keeping us posted, and we spent three nights there. It was a very comfortable two-level carriage house with a spiral stairway to the upper level. All the amenities were there and the fully stocked kitchen made it easy to prepare food in the kitchen. There is a Murphy bed on the lower level that is very comfortable as is the double bed upstairs. The location is perfect for walking all around town and Bonnie's recommendations for local restaurants were very helpful. Lance was wonderful about juggling our car around in their off-street lot. We would certainly enjoy going back to the John Wesley.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGT45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Traveling on my own, I did my research and found the John Wesley Inn. Sounded great. It was more than I could have hoped for. Bonnie and Lance made me feel so comfortable and were so kind and eager to make me feel at home. The breakfasts were excellent. Gourmet level and served on beautiful china with real silverware. My room was a wonderful place to relax, clean and comfortable. Location so convenient to the beach as well as the center of town. I highly recommend the John Wesley Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#14 of 37 in Cape May
275 reviews
0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Queen Victoria
The Queen Victoria
#4 of 40 in Cape May
1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.1 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Wesley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Wesley Inn

Address: 30 Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2408
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: $135 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where Antiques and Amenities Harmonize" One of the Historic "Stockton Row Cottages". Located 1/2 block to beach and 2 blocks to the walking mall. Park your car "on-site" and "forget-about-it". Full Service Inn, including a full compliment of amenities. I polish the silver and he polishes the chrome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing