We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise on the beach of Cape May”
Review of Mt. Vernon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mt. Vernon Motel
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise on the beach of Cape May”
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Always a little apprehensive when booking a motel, we were so delighted to find this property. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well kept. They look as if they have been recently renovated. It is obvious that the owners care very much for this property. The service is excellent. The owners were knowledgable, friendly and treat you like a welcome guest. Second floor has a great view of the ocean. The location is great. It is near the end of the boardwalk..with a wonderful pavilion at the end to go and relax and listen to the waves rolling in. There is no restaurant at this property. The parking is great..very convenient to just going to the beach. The room does have a fridge and air conditioning. You will need to bring your own shampoo and hair dryer. This is a cash only motel..which I, for one, was happy to know before hand. This is a property that has a great location and a clean, friendly environment. The advertisements for this property are exactly as listed...no surprises!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sillywilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

We stayed on the second floor and the view was great. The pool did have limited hours but it depended on who was at the front desk--one lady was nice enough to extend the hours because the ocean water was 52 degrees and frigid! It was nice to be able to swim in the pool in the evenings, and it wasn't crowded, but it is a very small pool. We looked at other hotels and most seem to close their pools in the evenings too. The Cove is a space of beach at the end of the boardwalk (where the hotel is) and the lighthouse and it was a nice place to set up and even had a no swimming area great for gathering shells and walking. Our stay was peaceful and when we asked the desk clerks for meal recommendations we always got good advice. The room was small but neatly kept and the bathrooms were updated and clean. I would have liked an extra towel or two, because some days we showered twice and yes, the towels are very basic. Because it is a motel, we brought our own conditioner, lotion and hair dryers--motels only provide basic amenities for the price. The airconditioning had to be turned off because it cooled the room down swiftly although I suspect the maid turned it off when she cleaned if we left it on--the room heated up just as fast, so there was never a level temp. They have a neat little window to open in the evenings and hear the waves. There is a small upper deck area to eat and greet. All in all, I would stay here again for the price. The thing I didn't like was having to pay to enter the beach and all the parking meeters in the shopping area, but that had nothing to do with the motel.

  • Liked — View from room
  • Disliked — pool hours, small pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

Well, we didn't meet the dreaded crotchety front desk clerk. The staff members we did meet were very pleasant. Yes, the towels are thin, but they're clean, as was the efficiency we stayed in. And the location was great. Two minor problems:

1. They didn't provide little bottles of shampoo, conditioner, or skin lotion, which certainly is the norm at other hotels and motels. We were told the reason was they didn't have "room to store them." But they did have a hair dryer we borrowed. Go figure.

2. The "dos and dont's" list said to open the front curtains or put out the sign for maid service by 11 a.m. Our curtains were closed and no sign was on the door when the maid knocked at 9:30 a.m. on Saturday. That was rather annoying.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank DebDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

This was the 4 th year my family and I have spend several nights there. We usually book a minimum of three rooms. The rooms smell musty from the musty air conditioners. We complain, they say they are cleaned once a week. Well, the rooms still smell musty, like an old dirt basement in the summertime. The towels are skimpy. The pool has extemely limited hours 10-5:30. This place is tired out. Great location, but too expensive for what you get, and the staff is not that friendly or helpful. My advice, go somewhere else.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank MaydayfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Mt. Vernon is a clean, small motel with a hard-working staff BUT beware who stations their front desk. We left today having been there for three nights. The elder matriarch running the front desk glares at you to leave by 11, and is not interested in your being on the property one minute longer than check out. Despite the fact that we were out of our room before 11 a.m. (with keys to the desk), she did not want our daughter in the pool and frowned at our using the outdoor shower. She claimed it was because she needed our parking space for new arrivals but the parking lot at 11 was half empty. She grudgingly agreed to let my 5 yr old have a quick, last dip but we were not allowed to use a bathroom when we departed at 11:25 a.m. (yes, a five year old and her almost 8 months pregnant mom were told "no" when we tried to use the bathroom in our friends' room which was empty but not yet cleaned by staff). Also, I noticed that they let very large parties stay in their rooms. Last night, two families (two moms) and their five children crowded into one small room with sleeping bags in tow. The families turned out to be very well behaved but the walls are thin, and it might not turn out so well for someone else. We are going to try someplace else next time.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank MaevePhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2007

My wife and I visit the Mt.Vernon Hotel for at least two weekends during the summer season. We try to book weekends in during the shoulder months of June and September, as Cape May is a bit less crowded at this time, as opposed to July/August. We have been coming to the Mt. Vernon for the last 10 years. The hotel is very clean, nice; it is not extremely fancy, but it is certainly very functional. The hotel staff is very friendly and accomodating. The hotel is located a block from the end of Beach Drive. We usually leave our car parked at the hotel for our entire stay, as most of the restaurants/attractions are within easy walking distance. You can even walk to the lighthouse, along a fairly deserted stretch of beach, which begins at the end of Beach Drive. You also park/lock you bicycles at a supplied bicycle rack.

The pool is certainly large enough and very relaxing. An ideal afternoon in Cape May for me is lounging around the pool reading, and taking an occasionally dip. The lounge chairs are comfortable and new.

We look forward to visiting again this summer.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Tends to be crowded during some summer weekends.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rick1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2006

Just returned from a very very hot hot trip to the Cape May beach. 3 nights, family of 4 - 2 boys 5 & 11yo. We have previously stayed 3x before at Colton Court, 2 blocks from Mt. Vernon. The look of the places are very similar - the staff at Mt. Vernon was much more pleasant. Mt Vernon is older motel. Rooms are adequate, decor is very outdated, clean-small bath, clean linens, very skimpy but clean towels. Pool was clean but only open from 10-5:30. I know Cape May well and didn't explect much more for the high prices which you will find everywhere. Its the location. You can park your car at Mt. Vernon and not have to get back in until you leave. Shopping, restaurants, skeeball all within walking distance. The Beach is right across the street. If you want a view, request the second floor. I suspect we will return next year - although I will keep looking for more luxurious accomidations within our budget. The kids wear us out during the day, so nicer rooms to relax in would be swell. I don't have any pictures, but the web site photos match reality.

Restaurant suggestion: If your looking for something a little different we suggest you try a byob Island Grill behind the Washington Street Mall, next to Greens liquour. EXCELLENT! Very very clean, attentive staff, kids menu, interesting menu - horrible view (unkept back entrances tomall stores), but that is the only negative we can drum up.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank familyof4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
The South Winds
The South Winds
#20 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avondale by the Sea
Avondale by the Sea
#17 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#27 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Shack
Beach Shack
#24 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Vernon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Vernon Motel

Property: Mt. Vernon Motel
Address: Beach Drive & First Ave., Cape May, NJ 08204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mt. Vernon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Mt. Vernon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Vernon Hotel Cape May
Mt Vernon Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing