We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could not have asked for a better first experience”
Review of Inn at the Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at the Park
GreenLeadersSilver level
Staten Island, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I could not have asked for a better first experience”
Reviewed December 11, 2009

at a Bed and Breakfast.
Innkeepers Maryanne and Jay were absolutely charming and were so helpful in suggesting activities and restaurants during my stay.
The Inn is quaint and within walking distance of the Washington Street Mall. The breakfasts were a great start to the day and the cocktail hour was a nice breather before starting on the evening activities.
I have already suggested The Inn at the Park to many friends and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryleann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
66
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We have been to quite a few B&B's in the Cape May area, but none ever felt like home as much as this one. We had always wanted to try this B&B as we admired it from afar, as my sister lives across the street, and we were fortunate enough to do so this past Labor Day weekend. Our hosts and innkeepers were Jay and Maryann Gorrick, As soon as you walk through the door, you feel like you are at home. The room we stayed in, The Margaux, was beautiful, private, spacious and clean. It consisted of a king size bed, twin bed, two rocking chairs, an antique dresser and antique mirrored closet, which was Maryann's grandmothers'. The refrigerator was stocked with sodas and waters everyday. The towels were plush and plentiful. The two person shower was heavenly. The colors, which were were my favorites, purple, lavender and other accent colors, made you feel relaxed. We were also provided with beach towels and beach chairs and there was an outdoor rain shower along with toiletries and more fresh towels. All this and a parking space too. Jay, who is a Chef, created the most delicious breakfasts and there was also afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres. We ate on the front porch and Jay and Maryann would join us and engage in wonderful conversations. The afternoon zephyrs were fragrant from the beautiful garden surrounding the Inn. What more could you ask for? Jay, culinary Chef that he is, would always ask where we were headed for dinner and was very anxious to find out about our dinner adventures. Maryann was very attentive in making sure everyone had enough to eat and if there was ever anything else we needed to make our stay more enjoyable. There are other rooms, one more beautiful than the other with their own unique features. We were truly blessed to have met these two special individuals. This is one B&B not to be missed and you won't be disappointed. We will definitely be back.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

My wife and I have found that accommodations at a Bed and Breakfast are almost always more satisfying and enjoyable then then a stay at any hotel chain. Naturally some B&Bs are better then others but in general we always prefer the surrounding and service at a B&B. So from that perspective and over 30 years of travel experience, we found that the Inn at the Park stood out as one of the best among the best and certainly the best on Cape May. I would point out that the exceptionally spacious, rooms and especially gracious host, Jay. Maria his daughter was assisting Jay while his wife was away and you would not find friendlier service in any 4 star hotel. Also important to mention, Jay knows food. That is demonstrated in the unique gourmet breakfast served each morning and the or H'ors deurves in the late afternoon. Great porch !

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank geekest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We had booked the Inn At The Park for a "girls' high school reunion. There were nine of us from all over; North Carolina, California,Oklahoma; Rhode Island, Connecticut, and Long Island. It was the right choice by far! The Victorian decor was comfortable and inviting. The innkeepers, Jaye and Maryann, were welcoming and accommodating.
We were served a unique gourmet breakfast every morning then homemade appetizers and wine at 5 pm. We were able to walk into town to shop and had many restaurants at our fingertips. You will not be disappointed; take my word for it.............or just read the other reviews!!

Lucille, Northport, N.Y.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jewelryaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayside, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

My husband and I had a wonderful time this past weekend at the Inn at the Park, B & B. Mary Ann and Jay are so friendly and warm. From the breakfasts to the Wine and hors d'oeuvres, everything was just delicious . We had so much fun sitting on the front porch eating, talking and laughing with Mary Ann, Jay and the other guests. I should add that our room was not only comfortable but beautiful. Everything was is tasteful and classy. This was a great way to celebrate our anniversary. We highly recommend staying in this B & B. We plan to stay there again and again!

  • Liked — The Inn Keepers
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NJChristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2008

This is our second trip to the Inn at the Park to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary. We absolutely love this bed and breakfast and we look forward to coming every year. It has now become a tradition for us. Everything about this place is spectacular. From the delicious gourmet breakfasts, the wine and hors d'oeuvres, to the hospitality-we couldn't have asked for anything more. Jay and Maryann Gorrick are such wonderful innkeepers. They are very friendly, accomadating, and they make you feel right at home. They care about the needs of their guests by preparing foods to your liking and they recommend wonderful restaurants to eat at. We would highly recommmend this bed and breakfast to anyone whether it's your first experience or if you've been coming to Cape May for years. Regardless you will love it!!

  • Liked — The Innkeepers
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aelstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnet Valley, PA
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2008

We just returned from a 3 day stay at "The Inn.... We chose it because it offered a '3 weekday special' for the end of August. This small (6 rooms) and cozy Inn met our needs perfectly. The room, called Sancerre, was charming and included a small guest room where one of us could read or watch TV while the other slept in. The bathroom was updated and immaculate. While the "physical plant" was great, it was the friendliness of the owners, Mary Ann and Jay, who made our stay extra special. Their breakfasts and 5 pm wine and hors d'oeuvres were both outstanding. We could tell that Jay had had some special training at a culinary institute. He used those fresh herbs growing in the garden to perfection. Mary Ann always had time to chat and we were even comfortable watching tennis with them in the living room, with its 40" flat screen HD television.
We've stayed at many B&B's and this is without a doubt the friendliest atmosphere we have ever encountered.
For those who might be bothered by the street noise, we suggest you just close your windows and turn on the fans or AC. It works great.
WE WILL RETURN AND ALSO RECOMMEND TO OTHERS!
Mary from Pennsylvania

  • Liked — Food and hospitality
  • Disliked — Location on busy street
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tennisfans2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.6 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Park

Property: Inn at the Park
Address: 1002 Washington St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1737 (Formerly Plum Palace in the Park)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Park is an 1893 Queen Anne bed and breakfast for food and wine lovers with modern amenities. There are 5 guests rooms and 1 suite with air conditioning, ceiling fans, 1 whirlpool, 1 soaking tub, 3 two-person showers, TVs, 3 fireplaces, family cottage accommodations, and on-site parking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing