We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, relaxing, clean, convenient and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Crest Motor Inn
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, PA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, relaxing, clean, convenient and location.”
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Best location in Cape May on Beach Ave. , convenient to a really good beach location, walking distance to restaurants and shops. Great views, generally quiet and very adult friendly. Stayed there twice this summer and may try to get in a third visit, but definitely coming back next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cape22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    128
    39
    18
    14
See reviews for
84
360
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lake grove, ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This was our first visit to Cape May. A co-worker suggested the Sea Crest Inn. We stayed three nights, Mon through Thurs, the third week of August. The parking is a plus. It is mostly covered, off-street parking, and protected by the building. Many accomodations in Cape May do not have their own parking area.... be careful of that. We were in room 312 (an "ocean front suite") which faces directly towards the beach and over the pool. Beautiful view. Most of the rooms will have a very nice view and balconies. Our room appeared to be recently refurbished and was immaculately clean. The entire place is very well maintained and clean. Laminate "wood" floor throughout the living areas and carpeting in the bedroom. I thought the furnishings and decor was a little sparse, but quite pleasant, nonetheless. A previous reviewer mentioned the issue of the only A/C unit being in the bedroom, which is in the rear of the unit and, if the bedroom door is to be closed at night (for privacy), the rest of unit will not receive conditioned air. This was not of concern to me and my wife, as we were travelling alone. We also found no need to use the A/C during the day time as the outdoor temp was in the low 80's and, with the bedroom window open at the rear of the unit, and the sliding door open in the front, the ventilation was perfect. The balcony is not private, but one continuous space connecting all the rooms with two chairs and a small table for each unit. We sat out on the balcony in the late afternoons having wine, cheese and fruit and it was very relaxing. The pool was a very refreshing temperature and the whirlpool/hot tub was a very nice alternative. We liked to use it in the early evening and found it was not heated to a desireable temp (two days in a row). Not to worry....we notified the desk and immediately a staff member was out to rectify the problem. Overall, we found the hotel staff to be friendly and accomodating. Due to restrictions on the number of people to a room, the hotel is primarily an adult resort. No screaming children! The location of the hotel is excellent. It is situated across the street from the beach, but not only that, it is directly across from the beach access point where there is a concession stand, restrooms and the location where you may purchase your beach tags (there is a fee to use the beach in Cape May). It is also a just a very do-able walk to the town center, with all the shops and restaurants. We used our car at first to go the shops and restaurants, but found it much nicer to walk. The staff allowed us to check in early on Monday. We were escorted to a bathroom where we could change into our bathing suits and utilize the pool. A little later, we had lunch at the Rusty Nail a couple of blocks away, which is an open air restaurant on Beach Ave. Uncle Bill's Pancake House is pretty close. We found the pancake house to be very good...get there before 9 o'clock to avoid waiting. Also, if you go to Cape May, have dinner at the Merion Inn restaurant. It was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tnapster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We've been coming to the Sea Crest for 15 years and love it! For the past 8 years, we've booked a 2 room suite poolside and ocean view, which has a bedroom and living, kitchenette combo. The rooms, pool and spa are always clean and well maintained as are the grounds. The location has easy access to the beach and promenade and is in a quiet section of town. We enjoy sitting on the balcony and watching the sunset in the evening. Because rooms are limited to 3 people, the hotel does not attract families with small children so it is very quiet and allows for relaxation. Staff is always friendly.
We've stayed at a other beach front hotels and found them to be loud, DIRTY, and small. The Sea Crest is none of those.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattiS522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Bob and I have been staying at the Sea Crest for 20yrs. and every year gets better and better. We would never think of staying anywhere else in Cape May. The entire staff is friendly and helpful at all times and every year we notice upgrades to make the Sea Crest extra special, we always feel at home when we stay. We thank the Sea Crest for making our vacation a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capemay1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, NJ
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This is the third year my daughter (19) and I have stayed at the Sea Crest and will definitely plan on returning for our mother-daughter outing next year. The staff is very nice and willing to assist. The beds are comfortable and I like the idea of having a living room, kitchenette, and bedroom. "Cathy" was the terrific lady who took of our room each day, and she couldn't have been nicer! It is quiet and the entrance to the beach is across the street. Last year my daughter used the pool, but this year we went to the beach each day. It's a short walk to the mall and I would not hesitate to recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

This is our second time at the Sea Crest and we had an enjoyable stay. We had a suite with an oceanfront view, and a kitchenette with fridge, stove, and microwave. Nice sized suite. The only adjustment the hotel needs to make to this suite is to add another air-conditioner to the front of the suite. The one ac unit is located in the bedroom, and it's only efficient enough to cool down the entire suite if you leave the bedroom door open - and that kind of leaves no chance for privacy of any kind for the guest(s) in the bedroom or the front suite room. The hotel staff was kind enough to supply us with a fan, but a second ac unit would made the room perfect.

My only other issue with this hotel is that tell you it's a "non smoking" hotel, but on the website it only states "no smoking in the rooms". The problem is that every time I walked to the pool area, there was one guest who was smoking every time I happened to walk past their room to go to the pool. Unfortunately, there's only that one way to enter the pool area. As a non-smoker, this was really annoying. Smoking is not discouraged at all in the hotel, as you can see sand buckets in front of most rooms and next to the elevators. I personally want to enjoy the ocean air breeze without inhaling cigarette smoke.

Overall, I recommend this hotel. Keep in mind that the average age of most guests here seems to fall into the 40-60+ year old demographic. Don't seem to be many families with kids staying here either.

We'll probably make a return visit to the Sea Crest in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drivezone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2010

The Seacrest offers everything I want when staying in Cape May---proximity to the beach, gorgeous views, and rooms that are clean and comfortable. The proprietors are never more than a phone call away for any issues or questions that may arise.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.6 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
678 reviews
1.0 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 37 in Cape May
692 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
183 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Crest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest Motor Inn

Property: Sea Crest Motor Inn
Address: 101 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#9 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Crest Inn is the perfect romantic Cape May getaway for couples. The Sea Crest is owned and operated by a local couple, and located in a quiet part of Cape May overlooking one of the largest beaches on the island. Close to the shopping area, fine restaurants and historical homes.With features like ocean front suites with fully equipped kitchens, the only out door whirlpool in Cape May and extra large balconies, why stay anywhere else? Close to restaurants, nightspots, fishing, tennis, golfing, swimming,biking shopping and just steps away from the beach, you haven't experienced the Jersey Shore until you've experienced Cape May at the Sea Crest Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Crest Motor Hotel Cape May
Sea Crest Cape May
Cape May Sea Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing