We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Crest Inn
Nearby Hotels
Jetty Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$179
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Congress Hall(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Southern Mansion(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carroll Villa Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montreal Beach Resort(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Cape May)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mer Beachfront Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel of the Sea(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avondale by the Sea(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$210
$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveler rating
395
137
43
19
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
395
137
43
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetpool and hot tubocean viewbreezeway roommy husband and iliving roomfull kitchenwithin walking distancenice poolwe've stayedroom was spotlessfew blocksthe entire staffthe jersey shoreair conditionermini fridgemany years
Filter
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 609 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I called to inquire about suites for a family vacation and was put on hold three times before someone came on the line to help me. As soon as I uttered the word "children," the voice on the other line dropped thirty degrees. I was told flat out that they would not put all of us in a suite and recommended another hotel--whose suites were the same size.

Every Summer when my sister and I were kids, we spent at least a few days in Cape May. I was so excited, now that my twins are six, when my mother suggested a continuation of our family 'tradition' with a three-generation vacation . I'm so glad we found another place where they were happy to have us (where the suites are the same size and, as it turned out, the rates were better). Even if we had made reservations at the Sea Crest, we would obviously have been unwelcome.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
5  Thank traveler07079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacrestinn, Manager at Sea Crest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2010

We have a limited number of rooms that we allow children in and they do fill up fast so as a courtesy, when those rooms are full we do recommend another hotel in town. Due to our great customer service and immaculate rooms our phone lines do get very busy with people calling to inquire about the hotel, we try to get to everyone in a timely manor but at times we do have to put callers on hold. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

My husband & stayed here for a three night getaway for our anniversary and it was wonderful! We couldn't believe how clean the hotel was - especially for being right across the street from the beach. The pool and hot tub were immaculate, we never saw any sand, the walkways and flower beds are well maintained...it was beautiful. The hotel is in a perfect location - right across the street from the beach entrance and in walking distance to the main shopping & restaurant area. We stayed in the most inexpensive room - the breezeway - and it was fine. It was a basic room, on the smaller side but large enough for a table and two chairs in addition to the queen size bed and TV. There is no balcony and the room looks out to the next door building, but we wanted to spend most of our time at the beach, not looking at it from our room. We looked at a lot of hotels online & read all the reviews before we booked this one, and we definitely made the right choice, especially after really seeing the other hotels in Cape May for the same price or more. The Sea Crest Inn is perfect - the staff is friendly, the hotel is clean, and the location can't be beat. We will definitely go back - this is the place to stay in Cape May!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacationingNYMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We started looking for a Cape May hotel in early July for a mid-July trip. Oops, next time will know better. Our choices were very limited for our budget. We called the Sea Crest about 3 times before deciding to stay here. Each time, the staff was very nice. It did stretch our budget, but it was the least expensive from what was available on the beach. Although many reviews were positive and the pictures were very nice, I was dubious. We had not stayed in Cape May before, only visited during a thunderstorm. I was very afraid that looks would be deceiving. NOT! The Sea Crest staff was very pleasant. They allowed us to sign in early and leave our car in their lot for the day. We could have used the pool area even without our room being ready, but headed for the beach. The room was quite large with the queen size bed in a separate room. The kitchenette was a surprise, with a full size fridge, microwave, stove. If we were staying longer than two nights, this would have been very handy.

We discovered that our sliding door would not lock and there wasn't a bar for security. Although, this small deck overlooked another deck, I am paranoid. We mentioned it to the staff in the morning and someone was up that afternoon to fix the problem.

They need to improve their wireless service. They advertised free internet, but our room was too far from the access point. Anyone near to the office and pool area could get access.

The pool area was very pleasant, but it was such a hot day, that our stay at the pool was very short. There were a few shaded areas and they were all taken when we visited the pool. We took an early morning dip on our last day. My only complaint would be to start cleaning the pool area before the scheduled open time. They did a very good job, but we had already had our dip when they started cleaning. The hot tub was not heated by the 9:00 open time. It was too hot for a hot tub dip later in the day. (Boy, it was really hot during our stay.)

The private parking was very nice. They even allowed my daughter to park her car for the day while we were at the beach.

We made the mistake of not venturing to the right (south) when we left the hotel and headed towards the other end. There are not many beach front restaurants, but there are two south of the hotel. We should have asked.

Yes, I would stay here again - just not in July.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHS5775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We love The Sea Crest!! We've stayed there many times over the past nearly ten years and have always had positives experiences. The staff is friendly, the rooms are extremely clean and the location is very convenient. Whether we go for a "couple's getaway" or to meet up with family, it's the best place to visit!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsiodine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We booked late at the Sea Crest so we paid pretty, but overall it was very very nice. We did not have an ocean view but were in the breezeway in the back on the third floor which sadly overlooked the roofs of the other lesser kept motels. It was nonetheless relaxing.

The room itself made up for the lack of view with a great kitchenette (everything but an oven) to save on dining out. Full size fridge. Bar area. Microwave, toaster, coffee maker. Two nice and firm queen beds in a separate quarter with great non-stop air conditioner. Pull out sofa. Plenty of extra pillows and more towels came daily than we needed or used. Plenty of space for setting up. Dining table. It was hotter than hell during our stay so the pool was a must several times a day.

The place is somewhat dated in design but it is kept up well: tireless staff sweeping, painting, turning rooms. The latin maintenance guy is dreamy. Nary a grain of sand when walking around barefoot and they bleach-mop the breezeways which is good for barefoot living at the beach.

Off street parking area partially enclosed, but tight: we bashed a fender on a cement support beam trying to get out. Elevator or steps. Ice machine at end of hall. TVs are small but who cared?

The Sea Crest has a longtime mature clientele which makes for a very nice and quiet atmosphere: no screaming children. The pool is gorgeous. The hot tub is a boiling cauldron -- too hot. The rooms are non-smoking but if you do, there are sand buckets around for butts. Vending: 75 cents a can of soda -- where do you see that lately? Plenty of lounges at pool and shade if needed.

Beach view is great, beach is clean; crowded and hot but it is directly across near a beach tag booth and a concession stand for food or chair/ umbrella rentals. About a 3 block walk to the action on the strip and toward Washington Mall which has been done over recently.

It's very charming if pricey, but I suppose they have the right to be competitive. We tried to vie for an extra night but that extra night would have broke me.

Overall, to be in Cape May is heaven. I've even lived there for a few years and I never tire of it. The Sea Crest is a winner. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJDRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews