We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, cozy, beautifully decorated and friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Peter Shields Inn
Ranked #9 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed in the Peter Shields the weekend of December 15, 2012, while attending a Cape May Christmas Tour. We were in Room 7 - warmly decorated in shades of yellow with a cozy gas fireplace and comfy bed snugly tucked beneath the eaves of the Inn. Although it was a short stay, it was plenty long enough for us to know we'll go back! We loved the room and amenities in the Inn such as the snack room with lots of help-yourself snacks and beverages, free wifi, wine and cheese Happy Hour in the upstairs lounge, our own personal room-designated parking spot, delicious breakfast in the lovely on-site restaurant and more! The service was warm and friendly - top rate. We'd go back ANY time, but would particularly like to do so in the late spring, summer, or autumn when we can take advantage of the available on-site bicycles and beachfront location. Peter Shields is a beautiful, comfortable, and friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: Get ocean side with a fireplace! Can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allisonjg58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 253 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our 29th anniversary brought us to PSI on the whim to stay put, for one night in an inn, in which, we could relax by a fireplace, in our room, with a cocktail; eat an amazing gourmet dinner; afterwards, relax by another fireplace downstairs and enjoy the comfort and elegance of a very well-run inn. It was a perfect one night stay, rare to find in Cape May. Ah! Breakfast completed the yearn for another day at PSI. Next time will be very soon, make it your next time for a beautiful quickie!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have great charm, decide for yourself, but take what is available, they are all exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a place to stay in Cape May, for a quick overnight stay, and we came across the Peter Shields Inn. We have stayed in several different places in Cape May before, but we were looking to save a little money on this trip, and the Peter Shields Inn was running a special price that couldn’t be beat. Especially, for a beachfront B&B.

We booked Room 4, which was very clean, with a comfortable King bed, ceiling fan, gas fireplace, flat screen TV, spacious bathroom with a 2 person Jacuzzi tub, and a nice balcony with a table and two chairs. The rest of the Inn was very clean, and nicely decorated for the holidays. There is a large sitting area on the second floor, where wine and cheese are served in the afternoon, and a balcony that offers a wonderful view of the beach and ocean right across the street. Another floor up, there was a nice snack room that had free snacks and fresh made cookies, as well as a refrigerator stocked with beverages.

The staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was good, and made to order. Overall we had a great time at the Peter Shields Inn and would definitely stay there again.

--John Crawford

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just read the "Never again on Year's Eve or Ever" review and I must say that is it totally untrue in content and substance. My husband and I stayed at the Inn overnight last year, as did 10 other friends, participating in the New Year's Eve "package" that the Inn offered. The rooms are immaculate, food excellent, staff and service impeccable. We have also stayed at the Inn in the past several years during the summer months and have gotten to know the owners on a personal basis. They are truly genuine people and I am sure they were espousing the lovely New Year's Eve menu as any proud restaurant owner would do.

I also know for a fact that NONE of the rooms are equipped with phones and perhaps this couple who clearly indicated they were hung-over (hope they didn't drive that night), must have been "hearing voices" the next morning regarding the "call" (pardon the pun) to breakfast. IN addition, perhaps if they weren't so inebriated, they could have changed the time on the clock themselves.....or was that not "fab" enough for them to do?

I am truly taken aback at the un-Christianlike and crude comment about the dismay this couple felt witnessing an "over 60" crowd at the Inn, as all those in our group have (proudly) reached that pinnacle in our lives. It implies that people over 60 should not continue to have celebratory events in their lives. What a disturbing minset this couple must have (which clearly explains their bizarre review). Hopefully, they too will grow older and appreciate the blessings that our "over the hill gang" have encountered thus far in life. This couple couldn't be more crass or untruthful and I do believe that anyone who read their review have already formed an opinion about the classlessness of this couple rather than the fallacious writings of what apparently are "spoiled brats"!

Kudos to the Peter Shield owners and staff. You run a remarkable and classy establishment....this couple could learn much from all of you.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean front, the view is spectacular in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karenbKinnelon_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This review is a little late, but just wanted to share. My husband and me decided to stay at PSI for two nights in April 2012 for our 5-year wedding anniversary. We had room #8? (had an ocean view, large jacuzzi tub and fireplace) and it was so romantic. It was our first time leaving our little one so aside from a mother's anxiety leaving her child with the grandparents, I had a great time overall. It was the trip my husband and me needed to reconnect and to be like teenagers all over again. When we got there, we were able to check-in a little early, park our car, and go for a walk across the road where the beach is a stone's throw away. We came back for the afternoon wine and cheeses, which was delicious. It was warm enough weather that we sat outside on the second story balcony and then moved to the front porch. Later on that night, we ate at the B&B restaurant and had the most amazingly delicious dinner. Seared salmon for me, filet for the husband...just perfect! The dinner was part of the package deal of the stay, which was also a plus. The next day we explored Cape May and came back for the afternoon wine and cheeses. They also have a room where they stock drinks, snacks, and freshly baked cookies for guests. It was a nice touch. The breakfasts were delicious and what a view too! The only negative was that the staff wasn't extremely friendly, but they were extremely professional. We've been to another B&B in Cape May that lacked the ocean view, but if we had to choose, we'd go back to that one b/c it was a little more cozy for us. However, the PSI is more for a romantic, high-end, first-class getaway. We always had admired the building and thought it would be a great place to stay, which it was!
Maybe we'll go back on our 10 year...we'll see!

Room Tip: Definitely pick a room that has an ocean view! Worth the price tag!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Peter Shields Inn was a relaxing way to spend my husband's BD. The staff were friendly and helpful. The afternoon wine and cheese and veggie tray weres very good. They serve Cape May wines,only and for dinner also. You can bring your own wine selctions for dinner if you choose to.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petals1452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night for a quick get away. What an amazing spot. We were there days before the Hurricane so I am glad it was only for one night. Cape May is such a nice beach town- beautiful homes to look at. The staff at the inn was beyond helpful. We will be back!

Room Tip: Oceanfront - can't be beat! Also, a bottle of wine on the front porch is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMN19701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
717 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
567 reviews
1.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,345 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#16 of 37 in Cape May
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peter Shields Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peter Shields Inn

Address: 1301 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: $136 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Peter Shields Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peter Shields Inn is Cape May's most romantic bed and breakfast. Enjoy the beautiful Cape May ocean views from our porch. Experience the luxurious, high-ceilinged rooms and five-star gourmet meals in our Zagat-rated restaurant. Sumptuous, leisurely breakfasts are included with your stay as well as leisurely afternoon "wine and cheese." Additional amenities include his-and-her bicycles, beach chairs and umbrellas, plush bedding and nightly turndown, and five-star concierge services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Peter Shields Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peter Shields Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing