We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, excellent, excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avondale by the Sea
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2005

It really bothers me that some people criticize the owners of this hotel. It is a wonderful establishment and it is correct that they have rules against smokingone. As far as cork screws not being in the room, Cape May is not a party town. If you want to drink, go to Wildwood. I think it is hard to keep a happy medium between being a concerned host and a little controlling .Mr. Weiner always honored my birding weekends and even gave me advice for a room when he was booked. I feel very safe there even if I was traveling alone. The breakfast is excellent for cold food.

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallywilliams743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 263 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Edgewater, New Jersey
220
Reviewed May 3, 2005

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
218
Reviewed March 16, 2005

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
ny
15
Reviewed March 13, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2004

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catlansdalepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Manasquan, nj
115
Reviewed September 23, 2004

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2004

5  Thank wkyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.6 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
284 reviews
1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#20 of 37 in Cape May
722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,361 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#9 of 37 in Cape May
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale by the Sea

Address: 609 Beach Dr, Beach & Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1827
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $121 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avondale by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find all our rooms are immaculate and comfortable. We are proud that many of our guests return year after year. Our oceanfront location, friendly atmosphere, proximity to restaurants, shops and sites make Avondale by the Sea an outstanding choice for your stay in Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Avondale by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale By The Sea Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing