We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another year, another great stay at the Avondale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avondale by the Sea
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Another year, another great stay at the Avondale”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I did a thorough review last year. We got the same room this year (309) and had yet another wonderful time. It's still spotlessly clean and very well run. This year I asked for extra bedding to help cushion the punishingly hard bed, and it worked - slept great (although the a/c is louder than some people would want, it's fine for us)! Thank you to the staff and management for a perfect few days in Cape May!

Room Tip: The reason I like 309 is that it has a nice ocean view but isn't right over the street. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAFPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    64
    16
    10
    6
See reviews for
70
108
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just returned from The Avondale. Very lg. and clean rooms, but the location is what is best. Across the street from beach and a 5 min. walk to Washington St. shopping district and many restaurants. Owner was very attentive to a key/lock issue and staff was friendly and helpful. The only drawback would be the pool closing at 6:00 ea. night, not sure why. Try McGlades across the street for breakfast ( best omelet I've ever had ! )

Room Tip: Breezeway rooms don't have a great view of ocean but sufficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is our 8th year staying at Avondale by the Sea. We love it! The location is great and the view of the ocean is spectacular. The rooms are clean and each year we find new upgrades. The owner and staff is warm and friendly. We wouldn't stay anywhere else!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Wanted to let you know we always enjoy your hotel. You were booked tight this week so we stayed at the Macomber (lovely!) but we've been customers for almost every summer since 2000.

Last summer we only had a few days, but they were perfect. Great location for kids as the pool is clean, supervised and close to the ocean. Our first choice when traveling with family!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandM_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed in a king suite and it was wonderful! My two kids slept on the pull out sofa and were very comfortable. Our bed was comfortable as well, there was a slatted door between our room and the living area with the sofa so we had privacy which was so nice! The porch had two rocking chairs and it was so fun to sit there in the morning and look at the ocean. The view was beautiful! The room was very clean. It didn't even feel like we were in a "beach room" because it was so clean! The whole place is non-smoking which was fantastic as well. No disgusting cigarette butts or odors anywhere. Very pleasant people...I didn't have to cover my little one's ears at all anywhere! And the staff in the office was so helpful. One woman (sorry I didn't get her name) was so wonderful to me and helped me plan activities for my kids and even called a whale watching company to get info for me without me asking her to. The guy who checked us in also offered to help us with our luggage and gave me some useful tips. Fantastic staff!! The location was fabulous. We were across the street from the beach, an arcade, the Convention Center, McGlades fabulous restaurant, Rita's ice cream and two blocks from the outdoor mall, and three blocks away from mini-golf. Across the street from the hotel they also play movies on the beach Wednesday nights. That looked really fun. This was the perfect vacation! We will be back to beautiful Avondale by the Sea!

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor. You do have to walk up stairs to reach your room so I recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmomNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay here again. First floor room was comfortable and clean, good sized for a family of four and included an outdoor seating area with rockers. The a/c unit in the bedroom was loud but effective in cooling off both rooms (the main room has just a fan), and the pull out bed was comfortable. And you cannot beat the location. Right across the street from the boardwalk and beach, a few short blocks from Washington Street mall, close to coffee shops, quirky shops, the Acme and many good restaurants - we hardly used our car at all while there! Aside from the rude pool monitor, the staff was top notch - helpful and friendly.
Free breakfast was simple and ok for a quick bite. Agree with anothers' review that the pics on the website do NOT do this place justice. It's a good value, the location is great. We will be back in 2013.

Room Tip: first floor room is great. less lugging of stuff. and even better if you can get the parking spot r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aamadruto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Breakfast was bare bones, the rooms are noisy and werent as clean as they should have been, and my kids were treated very rudely by the woman who sat by and guarded the pool - no floats, arm bands, jumping etc...no fun!!!!

Room Tip: May want to stay higher up to avoid street noise - there are streets front and back of these rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RGR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
650 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
653 reviews
0.6 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale by the Sea

Property: Avondale by the Sea
Address: 609 Beach Dr, Beach & Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1827
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cape May
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avondale by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find all our rooms are immaculate and comfortable. We are proud that many of our guests return year after year. Our oceanfront location, friendly atmosphere, proximity to restaurants, shops and sites make Avondale by the Sea an outstanding choice for your stay in Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Avondale by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale By The Sea Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing