We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King's Cottage
Nearby Hotels
Jetty Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$129
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$141
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Southern Mansion(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$279
$219
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Virginia Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Congress Hall(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Cape May)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montreal Beach Resort(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$158
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Periwinkle Inn(Cape May)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
47
15
9
4
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
15
9
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb boutside porchhalf blockwashington street mallwe've stayedocean viewbarbaraaccommodationscapeonsiteinnsboardwalk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 83 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2009

My wife and I and another couple had a reservation for two rooms. We arrived early and were welcomed warmly. My friend asked to use the restroom and after using it he commented to Barbara (an owner) that it was very dirty. He also noted the kitchen was also dirty. At that point, Barbara flew into a tirade and demanded we leave. She said we were very fussy and would not get a refund. We then decided to stay and were locked out of entering the B&B. Through the door, we were told to go away and not come back. At that point, we found rooms at a different place in Cape May. Upon arriving home, we were surprised to see that our credit cards were charged which we are now disputing.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westyUsa, Barbara Preminger - owner at King's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2010

As owners and Innkeepers of Kings Cottage we enjoy ~ actually love greeting our guests. It is always a pleasure to greet and welcome them to Kings Cottage. We believe that most people who come and stay at B&B's know and understand that we are a small operation ~ a kind of "Mom & Pop" business and are not equipped as a large or even small hotel would be. We do not have a large parking lot or large hotel type lobby. When we are fully booked ~ which is always the case in July and August as we are just across from the beach ~ we can only fit in and serve the amount of guests that are booked and staying with us at that time. We are always careful to explain to our future guests, when they are booking a room that we cannot fit them into our parking lot until at least after 11:00 AM which is our check out time but that our check in time is 2:00 PM and our housekeeper must have time to clean and prepare all rooms for the next check-ins. Most of our guests usually follow this advice from us.

We are sorry if some (only a few) of our guests forget or do not follow the instructions given by phone. When this happens we always try our best to accommodate them as best we can but sometimes such as in the month of August (our most busy month of the year) when guests arrive early and our parking lot and rooms are full we have no other choice but to ask our arriving guests to please return around check out or better yet check in time.

We are sorry that when people arrive early and are told to come back later that they get so upset they feel the need to write a review ~ we would have been most happy to have welcomed them at 2:00 PM which is our posted check in time ~ when we would have been relaxed and ready to greet them with our welcoming warm Kings Cottage greeting and shown them right away to their housekeeper cleaned and prepared rooms with there beautiful ocean views and open porches where they would have relaxed and enjoyed breathing in the fresh ocean breezes

Barbara Preminger ~ owner - innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

First the owners were very nice and answered all questions about cape may. We stayed in room 2 it has a nice view of the beach and thats all the good things I can say about it. The bed really needs to be updated it is very worn out lumpy and soft. the toliot would not flush right and took 2 and three tries. The room had nowhere to sit and watch the small TV. The window AC cooled the room but the filter light was on and it was very humid in the room. The breakfast was nothing to write home about and indeed the french toast with the weird spices with meat and cheese on top was not eatable for me. For the money I was VERY dissapointed this was my first B&B and i will never ever stay at one again. And if you have sprint forget about calling or texting there is no signal there and no phone in the room. I felt like I threw away over 1000$ and looked for any excuse to stay out of the room. There were many better kept B&B around town I was very sorry I stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuckyuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westyUsa, Barbara Preminger - owner at King's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2010

As an owner and Innkeeper of Kings Cottage it is important to be sensative to all guests wants and needs. When you have a small B&B you get to know each and every guest and you get to figure out ~ almost a 6th sense ~ as to who is enjoying and feeling happy at a B&B as much as you can tell who is not. I would say from this review that Kings Cottage and maybe any other B&B was not what they wanted as their beach vacation.

I can always tell from phone calls when people are asking questions about the B&B if they have an understanding as to what a B&B is all about and when I receive several phone calls like up to 8 to 10 then I know that the person has no idea what to expect

Kings Cottage is not anyway near being a hotel ~ modern or otherwise ~ we have only one queen size bed in the room not two ~ we have a small basic TV not a large wide screen type ~ there are no phones in any of our rooms (most if not all B&B's do not have phones in rooms) we do have a phone on our sunporch that all our guests are welcome to use and we always offer to make reservations for our guests. I have no control over cell phone lines or connections in Cape May. We have looked at the toliet and it is now working fine. I must comment that as an Innkeeper and owner of Kings Cottage that my one wish is that when you are staying with us and there may be something not working as is sometimes the case when we are very busy in the months of July and August and people are checking in and out with only an hour or two to clean and prepare the room for the next guests that we as owners would appreciate hearing if something is not working so that it can be fixed and not have to read about it on Trip Advisor ~ thank you, it really would help us alot. The A/C also appears to be in good working order and we did not hear any other complaints about it from any of our guests.

Suite Two is our most requested room ~ we sometimes have a waiting list when it has been booked and people ask for me to call them if there is a cancellation. There are five (5) chairs and one sleep sofa in that suite. There are two porches one open and one glass enclosed with screens. All three rooms in that suite have ocean views ~ they may be some of the best panoramic views of the ocean in all of Cape May. We have many, many returning guests who only stay in Suite Two and no one has ever complained about the bed being uncomfortable as a matter of fact we only get remarks as to what a wonderful nights sleep was had in that bed.

As an owner of Kings Cottage I am always sorry when I can sense that a guest is not having a good experience and I am sad to say that this is the sense I get from this reviewer that from check in to check out they were not having a good time. This is always a dissapointment to me as we want all our guests to enjoy their stay with us and to be able to leave saying what a relaxing and happy time they have had. I hope they will have a happier time if they return to Cape May and look for a more modern place to stay.

I would also like to respond to the breakfast remark ~ as an Innkeeper it is a very hard job to know what each and every person wants for their breakfast ~ we serve at least 18 people on a normal morning. We have a set menu because we could not make that many individual meals by ourselves. Most people we believe come to B&B's for a more "fancy" type of breakfast as was described in this review which is a Monte Cristo which is just a dressed up type of French Toast with a little ham and turkey and swiss cheese grilled on top with a sprinkle of nutmeg served with maple syrup. Please ask us if you want plain anything ~ we will be happy to do what you ask as long as it is in line with our menu ~ just please let us know ~ we want you to be happy

Barbara Preminger ~ owner - Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

The problems with the Kings Cottage are many, First of all, the property itself is very rundown. The furniture on the very small and tight porch should be thrown out. Even the salvation army wouldn't take this worn out ugly stuff. The rooms, however, were adaquate, small, but clean and airconditioned. The price was not at all less expensive than other properties which are so much nicer in Cape May. The outside of the house has virtually no appeal at all. No flower garden, no rocking chairs ...nothing that you want when you go to Cape May. The location is near the beach, but not in a real Victorian or charming spot.

Breakfast was "eat what we serve and don't ask for anything else" The step and fetch it service was laughable. So we laughed. If you ask for something a little bit different from the way they serve it...whatch out you will literally be scolded and made to feel like a very unwelcomed guest. If you don't want a fattening breakfast and would prefer some granola or whatever, forget it! The Inn owners should go do something else. They clearly have a problem with accomodating guests. I think they're just burned out.

Thank goodness the weather was great and so was the beach...so we just wrote off the Kings Cottage as a very bad choice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westyUsa, Barbara Preminger - owner at King's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2010

Kings Cottage is a historic B & B built in 1871. Our guests both new and those that return year after year always tell us on arrival how much they really enjoy the feeling of stepping back in time and sitting and relaxing on our antique wicker chairs, rockers and sofas located on both our porches ~ one open and one enclosed ~ which overlook our wroght iron fenced in garden and the ocean located across from our Inn. We also have tables on those porches where we serve our guests breakfast. Since we are a B & B and not a hotel or restaurant ~ we do have a pre-set menu ~ there is always coffee, tea, juice and a baked item for self serve in our dining room and a fruit course, hot entre' such as an egg dish one morning and sweet dish the next is served to each table ~ if we have guests with special diet needs we do our best to accomodate them but as a small B&B we are not equipped to take separate individual orders from each guest. I would say as an Innkeeper that most of our guests are aware of and accept this part of the B&B experience. We always get compliments from our guests on what a nice amount of food we serve and how good it was and that they have enjoyed eating it.

We at Kings Cottage are very proud that we do have so many guests who return each year to see us because they enjoy our location across from the beach, our breakfasts and afternoon teas.

In this response to this review we are sorry that this reviewer did not have the same experience as so many of our other guests do.

Barbara Preminger ~ owner - Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed at King's Cottage on a Thursday night and spent our Friday in beautiful Cape May, NJ. Our HONEST opinion and we do believe FAIR appraisal of this place was that it was very ordinary and in many respects sub-par. We stayed in room 10 which was all the way upstairs. Room seemed to be fairly well kept, the AC and the TV worked and all lights functioning as they should be. Figuring out how to open and close the doors with the keys they provided was more a challenge than it should be. But, we get that its a very old Victorian house and a lot of the modern doors/locking mechanisms will just be absent in a B&B such as this. Fair enough.

Just about the only positive we can give for King's Cottage is that it is right on the beach and provides for very quick access to the actual beach and action.

Okay - so the negatives:
First, we were informed that check-in was 2pm both on the phone and via the website; not so for us -- we had taken off the day from work and got to Cape May early that day and showed up at the B&B at 1:30pm seeing if we could check in early. The innkeeper said she'd check on the room and let us know. She goes up and states its not ready yet. Fair enough. Well, we ended up waiting till after 2:30pm till we could carry our things up to our room; this was after we were told three more times that the room will be ready soon. Telling your clientele something and not being able to deliver is a HUGE faux pas in customer service. Another HUGE flaw we noticed was that our credit card information, address and names were sitting on a piece of paper in their parlor (no private office or desk) and no one attending the parlor. And it was just not our information -- everyone that was checking in that afternoon/evening had identical sheets filled out (credit card info, names, addresses) on the desk in the parlor. The lack of privacy by a vendor is a huge mistake -- this is the kind of thing that leads to identity theft!! So, be warned if you're giving your credit card information to the innkeepers.

Second, the place seemed to get one half of the phrase "Bed & Breakfast" correct as they provided us with a nice bed to sleep on. The breakfast..... well that was a different story. On Thursday night, we got back to the Cottage around 10:00pm and decided to enjoy a slushee on the porch outside before we went back. After finishing our refreshment and some nice Cape May ocean air outside we headed in and smelled the peculiar scent of meat cooking in the kitchen on the first floor (smelled like sausage)...... HOLD THIS THOUGHT. The next morning we get down for breakfast. They had little goblets of fruit, orange juice and some mini-muffins. The hot breakfast was served after we grabbed our seats out on the porch; the plate consisted of a little scrambled eggs, a tomatoe, some sauteed mushrooms, stale sausage and BAKED BEANS. Um, okay..... beans and eggs anyone? And my wife pieced it all together that the meal we smelled eminating from the kitchen the previous night was none other than our breakfast which was then re-heated the next morning. Just plain LAZY.

All in all, not worth the money we shelled out. There are too many other B&Bs in Cape May, NJ for their service to be anything short of on top of their game.

They will NOT be getting our repeat business.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshnMurz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9perry, owner at King's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2009

The biggest faux pas we make at Kings Cottage is letting people in the front door before check in time. There are many many B & B' s that will not allow you to enter their Inn until the posted Check-In Time. And there are reasons for that - we need to prepare for your arrival and need quiet and privacy to do so. The afternoon you arrived I was in the process of removing paperwork from a private enclosed binder that NO ONE sees but the Innkeepers/owners - you banged on the front door before 1:30 PM and we let you in even though I was not finished putting my paperwork away while getting room keys for arriving guests - which are kept in a private desk drawer.
You were told your room was not ready but in good will and kindness you were told you could bring in your bags - leave them in our front parlor and were given a free parking permit to park your car at a lot close to our Inn. At no time were you ever invited to come over to the desk where I was working or look at any paperwork since you were not checking in and that desk was not unattended - as a matter of fact the desk is all the way in the back of the parlor and there is a privacy screen there also where guests are not allowed - we do not leave things out for guests to look at of a private nature - I can only assume you took it on yourself to go to the desk when another guest came to the front door and you were in the parlor "putting your luggage away" After you got your parking permit and were leaving to take your car to the lot - you asked if you could have keys to the front door and room and were told no - not until you were checked in and escorted to your room by the Innkeeper.
It would have been nice if you had reported on trip advisor that we also allowed you to use our beach chairs, towels and shower facilities for the entire next day even though you checked out at 11 AM the next day

As to the breakfast - that will have to be reviewed by me with my co-owner/business partner who recently took a trip to Austraila and thought it might be a different experience for most Americans who visit our Inn. If it is not well received we will change it and I am sorry that you did not enjoy it - we do try to take guests compliments and critiques in to consideration
Barbara Preminger - owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

The Rose Room was the perfect spot for waking and looking out at the ocean without even getting out of bed. The room was absolutely charming and the perfect spot for relaxing after a day at the beach. Our innkeepers were welcoming and informative and fun to chat with on the lovely porch. We enjoyed delicious and beautifully presented breakfasts and the afternoon tea on the porch was the perfect way to meet and converse with other guests at the B&B. Since Kings Cottage is just steps from the beach, its location couldn't be beat. An additional perk was the fact that beach chairs and towels were provided, so no lugging of those extras. This was our first trip to Cape May, but we can't wait to return and visit Kings Cottage.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tookie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews