We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of King's Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King's Cottage
Ranked #34 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Barbara, Dan and Roseann provide excellent customer service. My husband and I just returned from a week stay. This was not our first time at the inn. We've stayed in different rooms and they are always clean and comfortable. The innkeepers are very accommodating and a wealth of information regarding Cape May. Barbara's lemon cake is superb. The location is very close to the beach and shopping.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jaeskr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    15
    9
    4
    8
See reviews for
8
52
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I made a reservation on line and got an email reply that said your room has been reserved and someone will call you. No one called me and when I called, Barbara told me that the room I had reserved was no longer available. Then she proceeded to hang up on me. When I called back, she did not reply. Terrible customer service, do not stay here. It is apparent they don't know how to use the online reservation system. Very upset at this very bad customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpcarra13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westyUsa, Owner at King's Cottage, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
It is true that this reviewer made an On Line request for a room on Monday of the Labor Day holiday for the following Saturday night but no one at Kings Cottage E-Mailed back giving this reviewer a Confirmation of the request for the date or room asked for. The Webervations System works by informing the person making a room request that someone from the Kings Cottage will contact them with the availability and rate of the room request - as it was a very busy time over the Labor Day weekend we at Kings Cottage did not have the opportunity to get on the computer and give any information for this request

Just as I was about to E-Mail this reviewer on September 4th to give the information that the room requested was not available as it had been booked several days before the request had come in On Line and that it had been booked for a two night stay which we require on weekends and this reviewer wanted just a Saturday night only - I received a phone call from this reviewer and I said that I was just about to make an E-Mail reply about the room request and proceeded to explain the procedure of On Line requests and how we need to get a reply by phone and get a credit card number to secure and confirm a reservation for a room if the dates and room are available to the request.

This reviewer did not want to hear my explanation and insisted that a reservation was made on line and each time I tried to explain that I had not spoken to anyone on the phone to give an actual confirmation or get a credit card number this reviewer did not want to hear my words and kept insisting that a reservation was made on-line and that the room was reserved

After repeated attempts with my explanations there was not much more I could say - yes I do know the on line reservation system very well since we at Kings Cottage have been using it for many years - it is a very good system and works well for both the Innkeepers and our guests but it has its draw backs when the phone is also ringing and we are also taking reservations while Inn keeping and not able to be on the computer at all hours - that is why who ever uses this system must understand that what may look available on the chart may not be available in real time and I am not sure that this reviewer understood that. I could have been more helpful to this reviewer if I had had the chance to explain this system and how it works.

Barbara Preminger ~ Owner-Innkeeper
Kings Cottage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My stay was a nightmare!!! Barbera one of the owners almost gave me a heat attack. She is a new owner with no people skills. She woke me up in the am screaming that someone burglarized the place. Truth is, anyone can get in there. She was also spying at us on the fire escape onto our bathroom window. I can go on & on about this place.
The old reviews were to the previous owners. This woman is a new owner & knows nothing about the hospitality business.I actually had to leave within 1 hour after I was woken up and was never refunded my money.
It's a very small B&B!!! They have only 1 spacious room. Room 2. There is no breakfast like advertised. It's just a small old house with very small rooms.

Room Tip: Room 2. That's it! Broken air conditioner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westyUsa, Owner at King's Cottage, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor and all those who read these reviews

This is a very sad and potentially libelous review because none of this happened as reported by this reviewer. As a matter of fact I was very surprised to see that this reviewer would write this on the world wide internet because it has put the reputation of our business in a bad light. We, the owners of Kings Cottage know the true events of this reviewers stay as do the other guests who were involved and who wrote and signed a statement for us as witness to the true facts of this reviewers stay.

This reviewer came with family including a 20 something son who came into the Inn while this reviewer was asleep in the middle of the night - both the reviewer and son had entrance keys. The next morning around 11 AM another guest staying with us came to me and asked if anyone had checked into the room next to them during the night and I said no - the guest then reported being woken at 3 AM by loud voices coming from the next room (we only had this reviewer and this guest staying with us at the time of this event) Since there was no one else staying at the Inn this guest and I went to this reviewer who at the time was standing in the hallway and asked if we could get any information of there being other people in the room next to the guest's room making loud noises at 3 AM

All other things in this review did not happen. I am sorry if this reviewer's son caused her problems at Kings Cottage

Also my husband and I have owned and run Kings Cottage for over 12 years - we are not new owners and I care very much about all my guests and their safety and well being and I give as much hospitality as I know how to give. Please read many other reviews. We have guests who visit us over and over again. Our Inn is an old Victorian House but comfortable and welcoming to all. As was said in a recent review by one of our long time returning guests "they feel like family when they come to visit". A comment like this means a lot to me and makes me proud to be a caring Innkeeper

Barbara Preminger ~ Owner-Innkeeper
Kings Cottage B & B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have been to Cape May for many summers but this was our first time at the King's Cottage. We are already planning our next trip! Roseann and Barbara were perfect hosts in their beautiful inn. So much character! Room 2 had spectacular views and so much extra space. I was concerned about not having a condo kitchen we were used to for beach snacks but a small refrigerator is available on each floor for guests. Perfect! We were just steps away from the beach making this stay our most convenient. Walking to dinner and the mall was so easy. The continental breakfast was just enough to start our day and appreciated, since breakfast out in Cape May can be very expensive. Loved that we didn't have to pack our beach umbrella, towels and chairs if we didn't want to. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room 2 has wonderful porches, beach views and extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

From the time our hostess met us at the Door I felt as though we were being welcomed into someone's home .
warm , inviting and comfortable .the view from our room was spectacular and the location was excellent , close to shops , restaurants ,
and the beach .
the home made blueberry muffins were exquisite .definitely a must !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This gem at the shore was a very pleasant surprise. Beautiful furnishings, wonderful treats (the iced mint limeade and black bottom brownies are worth the trip alone), an amazing innkeeper (thanks Roseann), and a very relaxing, romantic, and restorative experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have been staying at King's Cottage for the last 5 years, and must say, this is the only B&B I would ever want to stay. You can not beat the location of this place. Close to the center where everything happens, next to Congress Hall, 2 steps away from the beach. The house's history tells a story, while in this modern life it still offers everything you need. Compare to other B&B's it is also more affordable. The innkeepers are friendly and personal. I feel like I am part of the family when I visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#27 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Luther Ogden Inn
The Luther Ogden Inn
#31 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cottage

Property: King's Cottage
Address: 9 Perry St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1460
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
King`s Cottage Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing