We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July stay”
Review of King's Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King's Cottage
Ranked #33 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights. Great location! Very nice and accomodating innkeepers. Opted for the light breakfast which was adequate but a better coffee is a must.
Would probably come back but this place needs a major sprucing up..even just some new paint.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NashMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westyUsa, Owner at King's Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Thank you for your review - we do have a wonderful location in Cape May right across from the beach and ocean and only a block away from shopping and restaurants - we try our best to give all of our guests a good feeling while staying with us and always are concerned when a problem exists.

During your stay must have been the few days we had a problem with our coffee maker - with the extreme heat and all the A/C being used our coffee pot kept tripping until we were able to replace an electrical part when we became aware that our coffee was not perking properly for a few days (we have it set for early risers) and it was weak - we the Innkeepers of Kings Cottage buy a special Gourmet Arabica Bean Coffee and pride ourselves on how really good our coffee is and have testament from many many returning guests of that fact. We are sorry you did not have that experience

Owning and running a B & B is a challenge especially a 134 year old one! We agree with you, that there are some places on the outside porch that need a paint touch up - we feel our interior is beautiful and kept up very well with victorian era wallpaper and fresh paint in some rooms and all the woodwork from the 1878 building has been restored to it's original beauty. The problem with painting the porch right now, is that we have been having our guests sit out there from Spring (when it was painted) and we stay pretty busy until the end of December - owning a B & B is different than owning a private home when you can paint whenever you feel like it - we do not want to paint during our most busy season and disrupt and disturb our guests - therefore it is our hope that our guests will forgive and excuse some minor flaws on our outdoor walls and doors and continue to enjoy while sitting on our porches the most beautiful view they have of the ocean and beach right in front of them

Barbara Preminger ~ Owner-Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 83 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent part of the July 4th weekend back at the King's Cottage and we had such a lovely time. The innkeepers, Roseanne and Joe were wonderful and gracious hosts. You cannot beat the location of this spot - just steps from the beach and a short walk in to town. We look forward to returning next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacobsmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The guesthouse is in a great location with shops an lots of restaurants nearby. The owner was very friendly and made us so welcome. Although the weather was a little disappointing is was still very pleasant sitting on our balcony looking out to sea. We were the only guests on our 2nd night and really enjoyed having the place to ourselves.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babadoo504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

What a dump! The worst place we have ever stayed in Cape May. Save your money. We were left alone in the house each night and told to call the innkeeper's cell if we needed anything. Sad breakfast too.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medicenter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I wanted to do a single night trip to Cape May for a little us time. The innkeeper worked with us and we had a lovely room on the 3rd floor that looked at on 2 sides over the ocean. There was another couple there but they were out and we spent a quiet afternoon shopping, which you can walk to and enjoying a few drinks in the covered porch area. We had a lovely meal across the street at the tavern and back to a quiet inn for a delightful nights sleep. The room was quiet and the bed very comfortable. There was a en suite bath with a double headed shower. Breakfast was delicious and very filling with excellent coffee. We were made to feel at home and that the inn was ours to enjoy. We are looking forward to returning in the fall.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs were a nice size and the view of the ocean was very nice. This inn is within walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed at King's Cottage back in mid-April and had a great time. Weather wasn't great but the place was. Dan and Barbara are the perfect B&B hosts. I've stayed at many B&B's and these guys are right up there with the best of them. They are there when you need them to offer great advice on where to eat and what to see in Cape May. I actually read a bad review of this place on Trip Advisor and all I can say is there's just no way that could be true. Someone was having a bad day and just took it out on them. When all the other reviews are positive something is not right. Anyway, will definitely be back here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I just got back from a one night stay to celebrate my 50th birthday. I had never stayed in a bed and breakfast and this was a wonderful first experience. Barb and Dan was very friendly and we spent sometime talking to them and found them very enjoyable and very knowledgable The room was very charming and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was delish! we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1, with a wonderful view. Next time I am trying room 4 for a variation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
722 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.2 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
1.1 mi away
The Peter Shields Inn
The Peter Shields Inn
#9 of 40 in Cape May
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cottage

Address: 9 Perry St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1460
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
King`s Cottage Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing