We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Cape May...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Mer Beachfront Inn
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Excellent location, best staff (especially Lynn at front desk), great rooms, reasonable rates. I have spent many vacations on the east coast, and this is one of the best. Onsite restaurant, with great food and the friendliest staff, you could ask for. I will continue to book year after year.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_KAston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

531 - 537 of 721 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

I love La Mer and my husband and I, as well as members of our family, have stayed numerous times for years. My onyl 2 issues with it are the fact that they require a 3 night minimun stay and being business owners this becomes difficult. The only other disappointment is that we cannot book the same room two years in a row. I realize that most people want the better beachfront rooms, but maybe there could be some way this could be worked out. We were twice forced to stay elsewhere because we couldnt stay 3 nights.
I love the atmosphere of La Mer, the Pier House food is great from breakfast through dinner, the rooms are neat and clean and the coffee pot and mini kitchenette is a plus!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRACE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Hip hip hooray! We are loving your super duper GREAT review!

We are over-the-moon that you have repeatedly chosen to stay with us numerous times over the years.

Thanks again for the positively amazing review and we can't wait to see you and your family again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We just got back from a 4 day stay in Cape May, NJ. The little town is so Beautiful. It was my First time there. Couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The food at the restaurant on site was so good & the staff there were wonderful. There was NO DOWNSIDE to our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Thank you so very much for the amazing review.

We are so happy that every one in your party enjoyed our hotel. We especially loved the part of your review that said, "There was no downside to our stay."

WOW! Thanks so much for the awesome review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My wife and I have enjoyed staying at La Mer for the past 4 years this year will probably be our last the reason being the unfair treatment on re-booking. At the end of our stay at checking out,we requested the same room for next year We were told that our room was already booked and rooms are "first come first served" this was never our experience in the past. We feel that reservation people at the the front desk should have let us know that our room was being booked to someone else and given us first shot because of our loyalty. Their " business only attitude" left a very disappointed feeling for both of us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Duane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

We are extremely sorry that the room you would like to have booked is not available.

Please understand, that if the room is already booked by another guest, there is nothing we can do about it.

As you know, reservations are based on a first-come-first-serve basis and many times, and often times our repeat customers book far in advance to get particular rooms (especially the more desirable ones).

It's our hope you give us another shot because we love our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We gave this hotel a second chance this past labor day weekend, and all I have to say is the Air Conditioning system ruined our long weekend. Like sleeping on a airplane runway, clicking on and off all night, sometimes for 5 seconds. Seems like they just cant get it together.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kidsdidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

We are sorry to read this review and apologize your AC was clearly not functioning properly. We pride ourselves on running a tight ship and it sounds like your AC system needed servicing. We hope you notified the front desk of the issue.

We will be sure to bring this review to our maintenance department right away.

Again, sorry for the inconvenience and we hope you give us another try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We have gone several years in a row to this hotel. Always clean. Patio in every room. Little kitchenette means you do not need restaurants three times a day. Beach view from our room, and I think all rooms. Perfect access to the beach, with the great addition this year of beach chair/umbrella service.

I do wish that the balcony lights would not be on all night, they are not controllable from the room, and I would love to sleep with the sliding door open to get some of that great sea air. Unfortunately, with the light on, it is too light in the room to keep the door open. (Hey hotel management, you might save on air conditioning costs if you did this)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eljnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

Thank you so very much for the GREAT review! We love that you are a repeat customer and choose us as your go-to Inn when in beautiful Cape May.

We will bring your balcony light request to the owner, too.

Again, thank you so much for continually staying with us and we hope to see you soon at the Shore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My fiance and I had the pleasure of spending 2 nights at this Cape MAy hotel this past August. We were pleasantly surprised with Cape May after being disappointed with Atlantic City. Compared to some of the other hotels on the island, La Mer appeared to be on of the nicest and decided to give it a try. We went with the whole "judge a book by its cover approach" and checked in without a reservation. The front desk lady, Lynn, was sweet and warm and always remembered our names. The rooms were clean, contemporary, and the private balcony added a nice touch. Another bonus was there beach amenities, which we used to get our 2 beach chairs and umbrella. Overall I was very pleased with our overall stay at La Mer. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2011

WOW! Thank you so much for the FIVE star review. WOO HOO!

Reviews like this make us jump for joy!

We love the fact that you found us just by driving around the island and popping in because you, "judged a book by its cover." While we are the most aesthetically pleasing hotel on Cape May from the outside, we know what's on that inside that really counts.

We especially like your words, "The rooms were clean, contemporary, and the private balcony added a nice touch. Another bonus was there beach amenities, which we used to get our 2 beach chairs and umbrella."

We will also be sure to share your review with Lynne.


Come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,209 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,253 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
240 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mer Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Beachfront Inn

Address: 1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cape May
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $143 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mer Beachfront Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Go where the sun and sand thrive. Perched at the edge of the beach in Cape May, La Mer Beachfront Inn invites you to soak up the serene spirit of its seaside setting. Cool, ocean breezes beg for days spent lounging in the sun on the beckoning beach, just steps from the hotel's modern, cozy guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your La Mer Beachfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mer Beachfront Hotel Cape May
Hotel La Mer Beachfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing