We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mer Beachfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Mer Beachfront Inn
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Family Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Spent 4 days here with husband, son, and 3 y.o. grandson and had a great time. Entered the room into a kitchen area and the first thing I noticed was the full size refrigerator rather than those mini dorm-size ones in most rooms. That along with the small kitchen sink and microwave allowed us to keep food for breakfast, lunch, and healthy kid-friendly snacks in the room - a big deal when traveling with a 3 year old. The room looked out onto the ocean and pool with a small balcony to sit and watch the sun rise over the ocean. The pool was divided into 3 sections: 1' for toddlers, 3' for small children, and 5' for swimming. It worked out great because there weren't older kids rough-housing in the toddler area so our shy 3 y.o. was able to play without lots of older children splashing and running. A surprise for our time at the ocean: if you show your room key you are provided with 2 beach chairs and an umbrella at no charge. This hotel was a great choice for us. It was clean, comfortable, and had all the amenities that we could hope for. Oh, and when we checked out late there was a room with showers and restroom facilites to get ready for the trip home! I'll definitely come back here next time I'm in Cape May.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmmaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Thank you so much for the lovely review! We are so happy you chose to stay with us while you visiting Victorian Cape May. We couldn't agree more with you -- our hotel is tailored for families. We are happy you enjoyed our spacious rooms, well-appointed kitchenettes and pool area. We're glad you took advantage of our recent addition -- beach chairs and umbrellas! As for checking out late, we encourage our guests to spend the day and use our showers and restrooms before heading home. Again, thanks for the kind words. Hope to see you and your family soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    216
    37
    29
    36
See reviews for
248
239
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

I have no idea where the complaints come from. They must have been staying at a different hotel- not La Mer. The service, rooms and cleanliness has always been impecable. So what if it costs, you knew that when you booked. Stop whinning. I have been coming to La Mer for about 15 years.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pbk4780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
WOW! Thank you so very much for the lovely review! We love that you have been staying with us for 15 years. We adore the notion you choose to stay with us, year after year, with so many other options here in wonderful Cape May.

Again, thank you for the raving review but most of all thanks for being a loyal customer. See you at the shore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed in a room with ocean view balcony on the 4th floor. Fabulous view! The room was very nice and housekeeping did a great job. We cannot say enough about the excellent service and friendliness of the staff. We especially liked the beach service which consists of a beach umbrella and 2 sand chairs that are put up and taken down by a staff member. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for 4th floor center on the beach side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you so very much for the 5-star review. We know you lead a busy life and it means a lot to us that you took the time to sing our praises here on TripAdvisor. We love that you loved the view and found our rooms clean. We are over-the-moon you found our staff friendly, too. We're glad you took of our newly appointed beach chairs and umbrellas. Please come back and thanks again for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was our second stay at La Mer, and although it is sort of away from the 'action', ie. restaurants, shops, etc., that are within easy walking distance to some of the other hotels, it is nice to have the tranquility. Rooms are good size and clean, we had a kitchenette and full size refrigerator which helps and although we were in high season, the value was good. (hint-pay with cash and they will give you a discount). A lot of families, however, so if you have an aversion to hearing children, not the place for you. Nice complimentary chair and umbrella service on the beach, which is directly across from the hotel. The restaurant has a decent menu and what we did try was very good, although a tad pricey and not the biggest portions. We did have an issue with parking in our assigned 'area' and two nights, we parked on the street, but that was not terribly inconvenient either. Not luxurious but very functional.

Room Tip: They are pretty flexible in the room structure. They will work around your needs. Just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodland13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you so very much for the lovely review! We are happy you enjoy our off-the-beaten path location. It is indeed more tranquil on our end!
We're happy you found our rooms spacious and clean. And we are glad you were able to enjoy our newly appointed beach amenities.
Thanks again for the kind words! Come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
241 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Had our third stay at La Mer in the past four years. Our large suite was very spacious and clean. We have always choosen to stay at La Mer because: it is located directly across the street from the beach, there is a spacious pool, it is a clean hotel. They always supply ample bath towels and pillows. Room decorations are sparse, however, views from most of the rooms make up for this. They are currently adding a spa/gym. Construction, though not loud, was shaking the building a little. Also, the bathroom fan in our room didn't work and the sofa bed was unbelievably uncomfortable. The desk was very responsive about fixing the fan before our next visit however. An added plus and new this year: a beach rental credit for each room to use for beach supplies (beach umbrellas, chairs...) was great!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clevertravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you so very much for the awesome review! We are honored to be your go-to hotel in Cape May for the past four years.
We love that you find our rooms spacious and clean. And we couldn't agree with you more -- the views are outstanding!
Come back next summer when our new spa and gym will be up and running. Thanks again for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

The reviews said Clean.... and it was. So clean and nice. There was construction going on , but we Never heard a thing. The room was spacious and clean.. the mini bar/sink was big, the refrigerator actually got cold and the coffee maker and coffee were good too. The only thing I can tell you is that the front dest check in person can make or break your stay. Ours was "supposedly new". So when I overhear another guest checking in, and being told about the free towels for the pool and beach, as well as 2 free beach chairs and a beach umbrella being available with your room key, I asked. I also had to ask for the Free trolley passes.
The pool is heated and nice, there is drink service from the restaurant at the pool too... VERY NICE. This hotel is away from the action, but so quiet for sleeping and the beach was not too crowded. The hotel also has a stand on the beach for cold drinks, as well.
Wonderful stay, wonderful time for all. My kids liked the pool and the beach chairs. I will go again.

Room Tip: Ask at the front desk for the manager to get the best details. They also provide FREE beach towels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachtravelerEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank you so very much for the lovely review!

We are over the moon you found our rooms clean (we aim hard to be the cleanest in town!). We are also glad you liked our mini bar, coffee makers and other amentities such as our pool and restaurant.

We have printed out your review to share with our front desk staff to go over the free amanities we offer.

Again, THANK YOU THANK YOU for the glowing review! We know you lead a busy life and it's really kind of you to take the time to review us.

We hope to see you soon...once the construction is done, we will have a NEW spa and NEW gym. Yay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

When I called to book a room a week in advance I was told there were no openings for 1 night. I explained that this was a special occasion for our family and and magically appeared for $450. I booked it, but was very surprised to see the vacancy sign up that night. I heard another traveler come in and ask for a room for the night and she was offered one for half at what I was paying.

When we walked in to the room our tub was full of dark hair and not washed out.

The bed was hard as a rock.

Front office staff was very unfriendly and downright rude.

Very disappointed. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jroman05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
We are extremely sorry you were disappointed with your stay.

We strive hard to satisfy our customers and reviews like yours truly sadden us.

We have printed out your review to share with the front desk and maid staffs.

Again, we are sorry we did not meet or exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape May
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
3.3 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mer Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Beachfront Inn

Property: La Mer Beachfront Inn
Address: 1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mer Beachfront Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay with us and enjoy the luxurious comfort and seaside serenity at La Mer. • Spectacular oceanfront views• Private balconies• Granite wet bars w/ microwaves and refrigerators• High-speed internet• Heated pool with sundeck• Outdoor gas grill• Elevators• On-site laundry facilities• Personal safes • Multiple telephones • 40-inch LCD/DVD Televisions• Business Center • Banquet rooms• Off-street, covered parking• Beautifully landscaped grounds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your La Mer Beachfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mer Beachfront Hotel Cape May
Hotel La Mer Beachfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing