We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved La Mer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mer Beachfront Inn
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed October 9, 2007

We stayed at LaMer for the last night of a two-week road trip before returning to Philly for flight home. Wanted a night by the beach just to relax and enjoy the sound and sight of the ocean after so much sightseeing. I booked the property after reading reviews here and it was just what we wanted. I tried to book online but couldn't because there was a 3-night stay requirement (holiday weekend) so I called direct and they were able to accommodate our one night.

Arriving mid-afternoon on Friday 10/5, there were three people manning the front desk and check-in was fast and staff very friendly. We had a 3rd floor oceanfront room with two doubles (3 adults) and the room was very nice and roomy with a separate sitting area and a nicely appointed kitchen area. A large flat screen tv was in a cabinet for viewing from couch or one bed and a smaller plazma wall-mounted tv was directly in front of the second bed. Nice addition.

The staff could not have been nicer. When we called the front desk to check on pool hours, they actually were already over. They asked if we wanted to take a swim and said they would leave it open for us. The heated pool felt wonderful with the cool, misty ocean freezes blowing--so relaxing.

The hotel is on the quiet end of Beach Drive. Driving past many properties as we explored Cape May, we all liked the looks of LaMer above the others. The place was immaculate, room and grounds, and our only regret was that we could not stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank tvlmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 717 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2007

My husband, 2 1/2 yr old son and 6 month old son just returned from our 3 night stay at La Mer. Everything was great for the most part, there were a few negatives. The positives: The room was lovely-it had a king size bed, sofabed, a crib for our baby, nice balcony, 2 tv's, one with a dvd player and the other flat screen with many cable channels including HBO,the bathroom had a tub(a plus for little children),the kitchen area was very nice-granite countertop,stainless sink and fridge, microwave. The lobby in the hotel was very nice and there was a computer with internet for guests to use, there was ample parking in a covered garage,a room with washing machines and a restaurant on site. The negatives:one employee(male) at the front desk who checked us in had no personality and he didnt know how to program our room key. We had to come back to him 3 times before he got it right.(picture us,exhausted from our long drive with 2 babies, trying to get into our room to relax and having to go up and down 3 times). It was a little frustrating. The AC in our room didnt seem to take away the stickiness/mustiness in the room and it seemed 10 degrees cooler in the outside hallway than in our room even when we kicked it up as high as it could go. We tipped our maids $5 on the first night and asked for more pillows. The next morning we had 2 extra pillows and nothing more. Whooptee doo! It also didnt seem like the maids did any more than make our beds each day and restock the towels int he bathroom.They sure didnt change our sheets nor did they vacuum. For as much as we paid per night, I think they could have at least changed the sheets nightly.
All in all, we had a very enjoyable time at the La Mer. Its a pretty up-to-date place with most of the comforts of home. We would probably stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank starjules76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

This was our sixth consecutive year that we stayed at the La Mer in Cape May. I will tell you by our experiences there are issues with this hotel, as with any hotel, but they are minor compared to the overall experience. Two years ago, I promised my wife that this would be the end of our seasonal stay at the La Mer. It was at this time that the hotel was literally reinventing itself - major construction. There was no help to be found, we could not have towels delivered to the room being told that there was no one available to deliver. This amongst other minor issues all added up to less than stellar stay.

For the summer of 2006, we decided to give the La Mer another chance and were pleasantly pleased with the service - still not up to par with a $300/night hotel but much approved.

This past July (2007) we again visited the hotel and I have to tell you that the hotel is now living up to expectations - with two minor exceptions - the front desk folks and the loud air conditioners in the rooms. In so far as the front desk, these folks need to be a bit more friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable of Cape May. I would suggest that management offer to send the front desk staff to an off season semester at the local college of hotel restaurant management along with a class in Historical Cape May. The in room air conditioners are loud and overpowering not sure what can be done to lower the fan speed and quiet the units but it is disturbing.

A few final notes - the new additions are beautiful, clean and well kept with fantastic views of the ocean and pool. The grounds, pool, landscaping are well kept and reflective of the Cape May Resport Beach Community.

Nice touch with the free Beach Tags this year :>

Made reservations for next year - see you then..

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank blackaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

The area of the beach was beautiful and the rooms were clean, however, the front desk staff were unfriendly and unknowledgable. The free internet service never worked. The hallways were loud until 1:00 am. At $300/night, I expected more than what I would expect in a motel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank beachcomberNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2007

My daughter, 23 mo, and I stayed at this hotel while visiting a friend in Cape May. It was very clean, the staff were very friendly and accomodating. I opted for a breezeway room because of the cost and a ocean view wasn't a necessity for me. The breezeway room was very big and had a mini kitchenette. It was perfect for us. There was a crib and baby blanket waiting in the room when we checked in. The restaurant on the premises was nice as well. We ate breakfast there everyday. I would recommend this hotel. And I will be going back there to stay with my husband and daughter.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieBellaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2007

We recently returned from 5 days at La Mer during the 3rd week of July. La Mer lived up to all expectations. The entire facility including all public areas were very clean. The rooms were contemporary in style with new appliances and counters in our efficiency unit. The beds were very comfortable. The room was spotless. The pool was excellent with poolside beverages and food from the adjacent restaurant. The hotel is directly across from the beach. The hotel offered complimentary beach passes for our stay. We enjoyed La Mer and Cape May so much we stayed an extra day. La Mer is at the eastern end of Cape May. It is a bit too far to walk into town and back with young kids. We didnt mind the 5 minute drive to go out for dinner every night. A shuttle bus runs till 9:00 pm every night around town and past the hotel as an alternative to walking or driving.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MrGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

Stayed at La Mer July 13-16, and had a wonderful stay. We stayed in a B-2 room with a pool and ocean view (which was great). The room was very nice - the kitchen area was a big plus with 2 little kids. I also liked that there was two TVs one with a DVD player for the kids movies. Contrary to other posts, I found the hotel to be very clean and did not smell at all. I have stayed at other hotels along the Jersey shore, and this was by far the cleanest and most well kept even though it wasn't the most expensive.

I loved the kids section of the pool and the drink/food service at the pool. The restaurant was good, and it was nice to go there for breakfast. Dinner was just average. The hotel staff was very accomodating.

We liked the location, and didn't have any problems getting around or finding parking at the shops. They also have a trolley that goes from La Mer to the shops if you don't feel like driving. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kdg07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
736 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#2 of 37 in Cape May
217 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mer Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Beachfront Inn

Address: 1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $148 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mer Beachfront Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Go where the sun and sand thrive. Perched at the edge of the beach in Cape May, La Mer Beachfront Inn invites you to soak up the serene spirit of its seaside setting. Cool, ocean breezes beg for days spent lounging in the sun on the beckoning beach, just steps from the hotel's modern, cozy guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your La Mer Beachfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mer Beachfront Hotel Cape May
Hotel La Mer Beachfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing