We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Were the walls made of cardboard?”
Review of The Cape Winds

The Cape Winds
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cape Winds
Ranked #37 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed here because it was relatively inexpensive by Cape May standards and it was a last minute booking. The place was terrible. It was fairly clean but the bed was really uncomfortable and old and we could hear conversations happening right next door. We could even hear coughing and sneezing. Only stay here if you absolutely have to. Location was also poor. It was right off a busy street.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank wunderlust2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 32 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2011

It's a shame this hotel doesn't get more attention. Its VERY clean, the staff are WONDERFUL (friendly, down-to-earth, happy) and accommodating. We're far enough away from the noise and we've never had noisy people either next to, or below us. It didn't matter that we were farther from the beach than many other motels. All we needed was a place to sleep, shower and relax........before going out again. We were comfortable. Our only criticisms are that the showerhead didn't spray properly, the beds were only full-size, and one of the chairs had a ripped cover...no biggie. This place is reasonable and nice for the small amount of time that we spend in our room. We like to hit the beaches and sight-see. :-)

Finally... a family-owned place that has charm, is peaceful, clean and is more realistic about its rates (it's what Cape May was like when I was a kid...before huge hotel corporations took over and charged ridiculous prices!!! If you aren't "high maintenance" (spa, pool, chocolates on the pillows), then try it for yourself! --You didn't really come to the beach just to stay inside most of the day, did you?

Room Tip: Room 10 has the bad shower nozzel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank From_our_family_to_U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We were looking for a place to stay overnight so we could take the first ferry in the morning on our way to Ocean City, MD. After reading the reviews on here I decided to risk it because it was cheaper, and we had no need for any amenities like beach, pool, or on-site restaurants. The young lady managing the office was super-nice, and the place was clean. That's about all I can say.

The parking lot is gravel, with no marked spaces, and guests had parked far apart, so there was no room to park when we arrived about 7 PM. The office person told us we could park in the street or a nearby lot. I was leaving valuables in the car so I waited till someone moved out, then parked.

The first reviewer on here mentioned a very strong odor of cleaner. I stayed in room #1, and this odor - fumes, actually - were extremely strong. I opened the window but then it was hot. I ended up with a huge headache from the fumes.

Some teenage boys upstairs were clattering up and down the stairs until about midnight, then again about 6 AM.

The worst part, though, was the fact that, despite charging $165 for the room, they required a separate CASH payment of $12 for each of my two girls. They did mention this upfront but I guess it didn't register that it was CASH (doesn't that sound a little shady?) and it took a chunk out of my vacation cash. This was bad enough, but even after paying the extra $24, there were only two towels (for 4 people) in the bathroom, and by the time we noticed it, the office was closed and the staff person had gone home. If it hadn't been for this towel fiasco, I probably would not have bothered to write this review. We went on our way to the ferry and Ocean City with no sleep and no showers.

I was so angry that we had been charged an extra $24 cash for two girls, and not even given towels for them, that if I'd had time I would have looked up whatever authority controls lodging in that town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I would like to give this place a better review. It is overall a pretty neat, clean, and cheap ($150/night when others were getting $250-300 on a Thursday night stay). Despite the room looking very clean, there was a distinct urine-like odor in the room with a recent attempt at Lysol cover-up. Were it not for that, I probably would have rated at least 4 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esteban1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Very Clean and very affordable and close to everything....walking distance to many resturants, shops and bars

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

This is the perfect place if you are on a budget and want to do an overnight in Cape May without being close to the ocean. The staff was friendly and courteous. The rooms (while small) were clean, comfortable, and consisted of 2 double beds, dresser, table & chairs, a closet alcove, tv, mini fridge and a nice bathroom. You can see the owners take care of this place. There is no phone or alarm clock in the room which was a little odd. My only solid dislike is the parking lot. It is very small and not paved. With large loose stones, people do not know how to park correctly. If you are returning later in the evening, there is a chance you may have to find street parking nearby. I did not experience hearing any traffic sounds in the room at night. It seemed like a quiet street to me.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CapeMayDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

Small motel (with even smaller parking lot) on the main drag into Cape May. Room had 2 double beds, small but functional bathroom, small refrigerator, and color TV. Parking was a challenge when the motel was full but everyone managed to fit in!
Room is typical of what you can find for a mom & pop motel - nothing fancy but functional and clean. We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank imsavvy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.8 mi away
Cape Harbor Motor Inn
Cape Harbor Motor Inn
#24 of 37 in Cape May
83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Crest Motor Inn
Sea Crest Motor Inn
#8 of 37 in Cape May
601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#30 of 37 in Cape May
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,346 reviews
0.7 mi away
The South Winds
The South Winds
#18 of 37 in Cape May
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cape Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cape Winds

Address: 810 Lafayette St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cape Winds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cape Winds is the place to stay in Cape May. We are located in the heart of Cape May's Historic District... an easy walk to the city's fine dining restaurants and unique shopping experience of the Washington Street Mall. Head the other way to explore the marina district... Cape May's fishing and boating center. Or enjoy a short stroll to the beaches. Park once and tour the town on the free trolley ride from the Elementary School located just across the street or rent a bike from a local shop. ​ Cape May is America's original seaside resort. With a rich history, award-winning beaches, designation as a top bird watching location, and many outstanding examples of Victorian architecture, Cape May is a charming seaside town drawing visitors from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cape Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Winds Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing