We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be better”
Review of Hotel Macomber

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Macomber
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed September 16, 2007

The Macomber is neither great nor terrible and, like most of the reviews say, it has its ups and downs. The sad part is that the Macomber is in a prime location on Beach Ave and it should be a premier destination, yet it is decidedly lower tier for Cape May. If I had to describe the current situation, I'd call it stale. Maybe the owners are complacent and satisfied with what they have, but it frustrates me that they don't do more.

Check-in was nice. We arrived a bit early and the room was ready, but the guy behind the desk was less than personable. Not rude, not nasty, not even unfriendly, just not real personable. We stayed a few days and every time we passed the front desk, this person (or anyone else) never so much as smiled at us or said hello. Is that a requirement? No, it isn't, but would it kill them to be a little friendlier? We asked for advice a couple times and got nothing but monotone, unhelpful responses.

The front porch is nice, but on this particular weekend it was crowded with beer-swilling and smoking patrons the entire time. In the morning, their trash and coolers were still out. It was less than classy, and a tad trashy. If I wanted Wildwood, I'd stay in Wildwood. This is Cape May.

The irony is that in addition to sitting in The Prime Location of Cape May, the Macomber houses Union Park, a leading fine dining restaurant. Visitors need to climb past the Bud drinking crowd, through a lobby, and back into a dining paradise. It is really strange.

The hotel itself has some charm and everybody thinks the hauntings are cool, but would it kill them to fix it up a bit? The showers are terrible and the wallpaper is peeling. Despite having space, there are no tables or desks in the rooms, so forget eating or trying to write. They offer no wireless internet access, which is really somewhat of a staple offering these days. The only building access is through the front, which is a travesty considering the parking lot is in the back and there are no elevators. A rear entrance could and should be put into place. A lack of an elevator is understandable, but multiple employees standing around watching as you struggle to lug your bags upstairs is annoying. Again, service is not strong.

The good thing about the Macomber is that you can usually get a room and the rates aren't bad. The question they need to ask themselves is this: why is it so easy to get a cheap room on the beach in Cape May at the Macomber when motels and motor lodges charging almost twice as much are booked?

In my opinion, this could be a premier location. Clean it up a bit, freshen the rooms, add some services like afternoon tea and concierge, keep the beer-swillers out of view, add luggage and valet people, and just be a little friendlier. The Hotel Macomber could be SO MUCH MORE, but they don't seem to appreciate that. Its really ashame.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank capemaytaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 235 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2007

I had a nice stay at Hotel Macomber over the Labor Day holiday.
PROS:
Location, location, location
Beautiful front porch w rocking chairs-perfect for people watching.
Tremendous restaurant!
CONS:
Fairly uninterested hotel employees ( except for Sarah!)
Loud door slamming at all hours.
Air conditioner was extremely loud.

I believe the location makes up for all the cons at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank psu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2007

We just returned from a week-end getaway at the Hotel Macomber and enjoyed our stay. At this time of the year, Cape May is just awakening from its winter lull so some of the small businesses located within the hotel property had not yet opened. I had e-mailed the hotel a week or so prior to their opening expressing our interest in a reservation. A prompt response was made as well as a follow-up after our deposit was received. We took advantage of the two night package in a side room with the $70 voucher towards dinner at the Union Park restaurant located on the property. The staff was polite, the room was clean, the king bed was very comfortable, the bedroom decor looked fairly new and we had a view of the ocean from our side bedroom window. The location was great and we had a parking space in their lot. In season there is a bike shop on the premises as well as a little cafe. Though these had not yet opened, we were able to rent a bike at another shop around the block and there were a few coffee shops a few doors away for breakfast. The Union Park is a top notch restaurant with attentive staff, lovely decor, roomy table placement, and superb food. It's BYOB and the $70 coupon was a definite perk. You can easily walk into the business district for some shopping, cross the street for the beach, or just rock on the porch. If you can put in perspective that it's an historic building (no elevator or individual room HVAC controls) and can deal with some minor maintenance wrinkles (wall paper nicks or peels, overly drooping shower curtain) you will experience the seaside charm of Cape May and have a few dollars left over to spend.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank lilybob24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2007

Every year my husband and I go to Cape May and stay at the Hotel Macomber. Its located across the street from the beach and its close enough to everything that you don't need to use your car during your stay. The parking is free, the rooms are very clean and the hotel's restaurant is awesome! I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osama-Sid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2006

Attempted to calmly discuss my upsetedness with the hotel clerk about safety concerns at the hotel. She was extremely rude and was not the slightest bit interested in the safety and well-being of the hotel guests. According to her, they do not have hotel clerks on shift during the late night hours. However, the front door is always open!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank NJBeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2006

After driving for 5 hours and showing up at the Maycomber, we were told that they didn't have us ariving today, but tomorrow. After repeatedly denying their mistake and not doing anything to fix it, we had to find a place to stay on the spot.....A little tough to do during the summer months and with caring for a transplant patient at the same time. After our night elsewhere, we arrived back to the Maycomber to finish out our stay. Each of the desk clerks were extremely rude and unwilling to help in anyway....I felt bad asking for things that would pull them away from their game of computer solitaire....No kidding! With a transplant patient, things must be clean, clean, clean, however this hotel was very dirty. When asked to clean the comforter, I believe they just sprayed febreze and called it a day, because the mess was still on the comforter. A shared refrigerator looked as though it wasn't cleaned in months. An ice machine that was always empty. And a toilet that had hot water coming out of it....although that felt good from time to time. Overall, I felt that the Maycomber doesn't care about its patrons and cares only about the money that it receives. I am shocked that this type of hotel would remain open all of these years with this type of service.

2  Thank Meezerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reston, Virginia
16
Reviewed June 26, 2006

I fell in love with this hotel after visiting their website and I was not disappointed with the real thing! The Macomber was exactly what I hoped it would be, old and very charming. My husband and I went to Cape May for our 1 year wedding anniversary and were first timers to the town. It was fabulous. It rained almost the whole weekend but it didn't put a damper on our trip.

The Hotel Macomber staff was pleasant and helpful, the side room we stayed in had a wonderful view of the ocean and the wrap-around front porch was a great place to relax and people-watch. We loved that we could walk or bike anywhere in town. The bike rental shop was right in the hotel on street level. Very convenient. We didn't eat at Union Park, the on site restaurant, but it smelled great and the dining room was beautiful.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has a love of very old, historic and charming places. We will certainly be back, hopefully in the very near future.

Thank you Macomber, for making our 1st anniversary unforgettable!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#10 of 37 in Cape May
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,225 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alcott
Hotel Alcott
#22 of 37 in Cape May
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macomber

Address: 727 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2464
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $136 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Macomber 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Hotel Macomber is a historic landmark hotel featuring 37 rooms with full amenities. We have everything you need to unplug, unwind, and relax in Cape May, NJ. Located just steps away from pristine, white sand beaches, Hotel Macomber is a family-run hotel where you'll feel right at home. Our prime location and attentive customer service paired with our pristine rooms and convenient amenities have allowed us to be a Cape May destination for many families and guests. We offer you a great getaway location with award-winning fine dining, free parking, and a relaxing atmosphere. Cape May is a quaint, family-oriented seaside resort town rich in Victorian architecture and gourmet restaurants in addition to its many beach related offerings. Our passion for Cap May shows in our customer service. We want you to have the best experience you can in our great seaside town. Consider us for your next reunion or spiritual retreat. After a day of lounging on the beach or sightseeing come relax with us in our historic hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Macomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macomber Hotel Cape May
Macomber Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing