We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice cute place”
Review of Hotel Macomber

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Macomber
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
phila, pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice cute place”
Reviewed June 17, 2008

Had a very nice time at the hotel macomber. Yes, it does not have elevators, but we managed, and we even had a room up on the fourth floor. The hallway fridges were clean and not full. Yes there is only one entrance to the place but it made me feel a little more secure. We didn't get maid service the last full day we were there but I just asked for more towels and they were sent up to our room promptly. I don't really need the room made up every single day that I'm in a hotel! We had nice towels and washcloths, the bathroom and room were clean and the A/C worked well. The TV is small but has lots of channels. The room was overall small but I did choose a smaller room on purpose b/c they are cheaper. I liked the little common area and all the old pictures placed all around the hotel. The porch was very nice to sit on at night with drinks with friends. There was no closet in the room but there is a small wardrobe in the bathroom to hang clothes in. There is also another dresser in the bathroom as well. There is also a hairdryer and iron and small ironing board too located in the bathroom. They only provide small bars of soap, no shampoo or conditioner or lotion, which is fine by me b/c i bring all my stuff with me anyway. There is a window in the bathroom which is nice, airs it out while showering and you can see and hear the ocean from the bathroom!

  • Liked — location, old victorian building, ocean views from room
  • Disliked — no elevator and no porter for baggage
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wishred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    85
    38
    22
    21
See reviews for
39
105
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Recenlty stayed holiday weekend in May.

1. has a handicapped parking space but is not handicapped accessbile, space is for owner to come and turn on lights at twilight.

2. no public bathroom on first floor, has public space but no bathroom

3. many rooms but only one ice machine on 3rd floor how ridculous is that

4. showers are awful, need immediate replacment with hand held showers

5. 3 day stay near beach, but only change linen once every 3 days, floors needed to be vacumed more often

6. shared refridgerator need serious attention, freezer area was not able to be used needed serious defrosting.

7. public room needs screens, so you could be inside and get fresh air without the mosquitos.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cjh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape May hotels

Newark, DE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2008

We stayed during the off-season and pretty much can confirm the previous postings (both postive and negative) and management responses. Our room was clean and fresh and smelled fine. The toilet paper and facial tissues were of a very cheap quality and rough though.

In terms of hotel security, when we checked in, we were given two hard keys (not electronic key cards). One for our room, and one for the front door to the whole building. There are no peepholes in the room doors to look out into the hallway and no deadbolt locks - just a sliding chain lock. There were telephones in the hallways with clear directions on how to call management staff and 911.

The refrigerators in the hallways were clean. We had a small 13 inch TV in our room with many cable channels. On our second day there were very strong winds and the cable went out but we checked out before it came back on so we don't know how long it was out.

It took a very long time for the hot water to make it's way to our room on the third floor but once it got there, we had plenty.

Our biggest problem was that we booked our reservation online and selected a beach front room with a porch. Our credit card was immediately charged which posed a problem as we had a gift certificate. When we arrived, they accepted the gift certificate and wrote a check back to us for the difference (since they wouldn't credit our card). They would not take a credit card for a purchase under $10 though due to the fees they incur. When we went to our room, it was not what we had reserved. Instead it was towards the back of the hotel with two windows on the side - one measuring 2 feet by 2 feet and the other standard sized one had an AC unit in it occupying about a quarter of the space. We went down to the desk and it was a different person on duty (the first person was very friendly). This person told us the room we had requested was booked a year in advance and was not available (so why could we book it online?). He said they put us in a room with two beds but it was just my wife and I. I asked about the rate difference and if he could do something about the room or the rates and he just looked at us and said, "no." There was no printout of our reservation confirmation so we just let it go. We didn't push the issue but beware of booking online.

We will have to use the rest of our gift certificate and will go back but if we didn't have that, we would probably go somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SEHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

I never write any reviews. But I was looking into taking a long weekend in Cape May for no other reason than to be able to stay at The Macomber. My google landed this website & it's review page where I read the 1st review by a guest who was positively offended by the place. Apparently it was so bad that you couldn't even find a vending machine to buy a bottle of water. It's hard to know where to start. Unless things have changed since we visited it twice during the first several years it was reopened in the '90's you also don't get any TV's. But if you had the great good fortune to have stayed at The Bluffs in Bay head a half century ago before it was demolished for Condos (!!!!!!!!) or The Hilltop House in Harper's Ferry overlooking the Engine House & the confluence of rivers you wouldn't have been able to get any vending machines or TV's either. How many pristine examples of turn-of-the-century Stick and Shingle Style architecture is a person fortunate enough to experience during their lives? Anyone considering the Macomber: Look at the photos of the place. Could you possibly even approach the quiet elegance, the serenity, the timelessness - the sheer mind numbing beauty of a jewel like the Macomber at ANY modern day facility? I'm dumbflumoxed. I suggest that any person considering the Macomber subject themselves to the following acid test. Would you prefer to spend several hours watching American Idol or Kurosawa's Roshomon? If it's American Idol you won't like the Macomber.
ps: the family from Lancaster Cty. PA who purchased and renovated the Macomber in the '90's missed by a month or 2 the auction where all of the original Victorian furnishing and accouterments of the place were completely liquidated. Everything was lost for good. Admittedly a tragedy. And I don't know and don't care about how obsequious or efficient the current owners/staff are. I find this order of issue insignificant in comparison to the joy of staying in a huge, old frame hotel over a hundred years old. And you need to know that the hotel is located at the only angle point in the beachfront road. There is one of only 2 "boardwalk" pavilions in the town immediately across the street. One of the family owned eateries offers those amazing pork roles that rank w/ the Kohr's orange and vanilla custards and fresh saltwater taffy that you are required by NJ law to enjoy while you are at the beach. Don't miss Sunset Beach and collect some Cape May diamonds. The wreck of the concrete freighter from WWII is probably no longer even visible. When I saw it when I was 8 most of the hull was still intact.

  • Liked — building itself, location at Jersey Shore white sand beach opposite great pavilion, GREAT pedestrian mall-interesting and fun
  • Disliked — ... except on biker weekend. Cape May is too self-consciously cute. Ocean City, Md.(pristine) or Seaside Hts.(high class honky tonk w/ skeeball) great fun.
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 347Sqdrn99BGheavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2007

Intersting.. I've heard that beach hotels are a bit relaxed given it's their off season but hotel macomber, in cape may leaves a new meaning. Beach front .. with no amenties! Start with having no hotel staff "whatsoever" after 9pm until 9am! pretty much says it all.. no vending machine to even buy a bottle of water, no one to ask where to go get a cup of coffee (as no restuarant on premises but for dinner). As for safety in general. No phones in rooms! so if you forget your cell or your battery dies and there's an emergency.. you out of luck! as there is no employee after 9am nor a phone to use. There is no place to leave a key.. would have been better off leaving it in room.. the town of cape may should close it down. There should be a law against having no phones nad no employees on the premise! Rooms.. you don't get your monies worth.. as they don't beleive in amenties past a couple of bars of soap! I've seen better rooms.. and the bathroom is very rustic - small, if you should have a couple of extra pounds.. an extremely small shower, smells musty & floors quite moldy.. STAY AWAY! plenty of nice b&b's there.. if you don't want to spend money for 4star hotel.

  • Liked — nothing!
  • Disliked — everything!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vikup01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macomber727beach, General Manager at Hotel Macomber, responded to this review, January 29, 2008
I begin my response by reminding all, that we are a National Historic Landmark on the beachfront. This status prohibits us from changing many things and there is too many to list. Our rates are wonderful and off season as low as $65 a night on select rooms! That in mind, we could double/triple our rates and offer much unneeded foo-foo / stuff. “less is often more” is a quote I frequently use in life. Raising our rates would cause 1000’s of our return guests, to be unable to afford their well needed escapes and place to rest their minds. This is priority for us. It is costly to maintain this historic building that we love very much. It has been an on going project since 1992. We renovate and or paint rooms EVERY year.

The hotel does offer, clean affordable rooms, ac, in room TV, clocks, beach towels, hair dryers, irons, comfy beds and yes, soap. If something is forgotten by a guest, just stop by the front desk. We have even lent guests items from our own wardrobes when they were in need. The phones located on each floor have access to 911, so does the payphone in the living room and does the payphone on the street corner next to the vending machines. There are persons that lives onsite, year round, with a security camera system. When we are given notice of a problem, we fix it. We are fair and reasonable, and ethical people.

Our world has much variety. Choose what best fits your needs. Please, don’t complain to the world if you choose wrong. Choosing a place of lodging with more amenities will cost more. Nothing is free but LOVE. Everyone if different, that is why a rainbow is beautiful. Cape May has a place for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

The Macomber is neither great nor terrible and, like most of the reviews say, it has its ups and downs. The sad part is that the Macomber is in a prime location on Beach Ave and it should be a premier destination, yet it is decidedly lower tier for Cape May. If I had to describe the current situation, I'd call it stale. Maybe the owners are complacent and satisfied with what they have, but it frustrates me that they don't do more.

Check-in was nice. We arrived a bit early and the room was ready, but the guy behind the desk was less than personable. Not rude, not nasty, not even unfriendly, just not real personable. We stayed a few days and every time we passed the front desk, this person (or anyone else) never so much as smiled at us or said hello. Is that a requirement? No, it isn't, but would it kill them to be a little friendlier? We asked for advice a couple times and got nothing but monotone, unhelpful responses.

The front porch is nice, but on this particular weekend it was crowded with beer-swilling and smoking patrons the entire time. In the morning, their trash and coolers were still out. It was less than classy, and a tad trashy. If I wanted Wildwood, I'd stay in Wildwood. This is Cape May.

The irony is that in addition to sitting in The Prime Location of Cape May, the Macomber houses Union Park, a leading fine dining restaurant. Visitors need to climb past the Bud drinking crowd, through a lobby, and back into a dining paradise. It is really strange.

The hotel itself has some charm and everybody thinks the hauntings are cool, but would it kill them to fix it up a bit? The showers are terrible and the wallpaper is peeling. Despite having space, there are no tables or desks in the rooms, so forget eating or trying to write. They offer no wireless internet access, which is really somewhat of a staple offering these days. The only building access is through the front, which is a travesty considering the parking lot is in the back and there are no elevators. A rear entrance could and should be put into place. A lack of an elevator is understandable, but multiple employees standing around watching as you struggle to lug your bags upstairs is annoying. Again, service is not strong.

The good thing about the Macomber is that you can usually get a room and the rates aren't bad. The question they need to ask themselves is this: why is it so easy to get a cheap room on the beach in Cape May at the Macomber when motels and motor lodges charging almost twice as much are booked?

In my opinion, this could be a premier location. Clean it up a bit, freshen the rooms, add some services like afternoon tea and concierge, keep the beer-swillers out of view, add luggage and valet people, and just be a little friendlier. The Hotel Macomber could be SO MUCH MORE, but they don't seem to appreciate that. Its really ashame.

  • Liked — Location and rates
  • Disliked — Lack of services
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank capemaytaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

I had a nice stay at Hotel Macomber over the Labor Day holiday.
PROS:
Location, location, location
Beautiful front porch w rocking chairs-perfect for people watching.
Tremendous restaurant!
CONS:
Fairly uninterested hotel employees ( except for Sarah!)
Loud door slamming at all hours.
Air conditioner was extremely loud.

I believe the location makes up for all the cons at this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank psu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#29 of 37 in Cape May
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alcott
Hotel Alcott
#26 of 37 in Cape May
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macomber

Property: Hotel Macomber
Address: 727 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2464
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Macomber 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Hotel Macomber is a historic landmark hotel featuring 37 rooms with full amenities. We have everything you need to unplug, unwind, and relax in Cape May, NJ. Located just steps away from pristine, white sand beaches, Hotel Macomber is a family-run hotel where you'll feel right at home. Our prime location and attentive customer service paired with our pristine rooms and convenient amenities have allowed us to be a Cape May destination for many families and guests. We offer you a great getaway location with award-winning fine dining, free parking, and a relaxing atmosphere. Cape May is a quaint, family-oriented seaside resort town rich in Victorian architecture and gourmet restaurants in addition to its many beach related offerings. Our passion for Cap May shows in our customer service. We want you to have the best experience you can in our great seaside town. Consider us for your next reunion or spiritual retreat. After a day of lounging on the beach or sightseeing come relax with us in our historic hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Macomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macomber Hotel Cape May
Macomber Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing