We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some issues” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Macomber

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Macomber
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Some issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Yes is it very true that the location is ideal and the price is reasonable. My two issues were that the bed was just awful, cheap not padded and very outdated. So hard that even my firm bed loving boyfriend took issue. It's a challenge to give this hotel a grade above 3 for this reason. Also the staff, although nice were not exceptionally helpful when we ask several questions about events in the area and the location of various places they seem to be out of towners just like us. Not bad but just average.

Room Tip: Ask about a room with a newer upgraded bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    82
    38
    22
    21
See reviews for
38
104
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

My girlfriend and i stayed there over the fourth of July weekend and the room was very clean, the staff was nice, and the location was great. could not ask for more; especially for the price. we stayed in the smallest room they have and it was more than enough

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury NJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here a few times previously over the years. The room was renovated from top to bottom, new bathroom, carpet, beds, linens painted great job! Had a small flat screen TV and a reasonable sized fridge with parking. Across the street is the arcade, Convention Hall, fudge kitchen and Morrows Nuts and across the street from one of the better stretch of beaches in Cape May. Easy walk to Wahington Street Mall and restaurants. great Value pre season!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranshaw, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. This B&B is in a great location, directly across from the beach, in the middle of tons of shops and restaurants. The room itself was very clean and the maid service was great. Parking is free and great as well since finding a spot in Cape May can be hard. For some of the negatives: The beds are extremely hard. If you like sleeping on a hard bed then this place will be perfect. The internet was terrible. I couldn't get a signal at all even though their internet was password protected and I used both a Mac and PC and it didn't work for either. I would also recommend bringing a pair of earplugs since it is a B&B and you can hear people walking up and down the hall ways. We got our room at a great price, however, especially being a holiday weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed there last July. It is located right in the hub of Cape May on Beach Avenue, across the street from the arcade and very convenient to the Cape May Convention Center, restaurants, the Washington St. Mall, and several other attractions. The Beach and promenade are just across the street. Rooms were adequate, but no frills. Some are oceanfront. Very clean and victorian styling. Hotel has a beautiful wrap around porch. Very tranquil. Perfect place to read or just people watch. An elegant restaurant is located right on the premises for dinner (The Union Park Dining Room). The restaurant is excellent, but a little pricey.

Now for a couple of cons. They have no elevator and no porters (belhops), so if your room is on the top floor, it's quite a hike with your luggage. The rooms have no phones, and there is no desk service after 10:00pm. But for me, the charm of the place and the outstanding location overcomes the problems. No swimming pool or fitness center, but the beach is literally across the street, and walking the town and the promenade is much more pleasent than any fitness center. I would not recommend The Macomber if you are unable to climb stairs. If you are able to climb stairs, it's a pretty cool place, and considering the location, it's relatively reasonable.

Room Tip: Request a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musicman1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. george, ks.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

While there was a host of more modern and probably less challenging places to stay in Cape May, this hotel evokes a past glorious era, the destination of wealthy and privileged, and today, its sitting room appointed with Victorian era touches lets one feel part of that. Challenging because there is no elevator, one needs to take the stairs slowly. Modest furnishings in the rooms encourage humility, but they are spotless, the beds finished with whimsical 'towel' animals (mine ha a dog made from one). At night, the sea wind makes eerie sounds in the wooden structure, and the ocean's breaking waves lend a rhythm that induces sleep. Sadly, the restaurant was closed during our visit, but I plan to return to feel that sense of place the hotel offers.

Room Tip: try to book the front room on the second floor - view of ocean excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dru C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I often visit Cape May, staying in B&Bs. We decided to try a hotel for our two day stay this time. BTW, we've traveled extensively through the States and Europe for both business and pleasure. We had problems with the Macomber (room 51), which I will list below. Our main complaint is more about the way in which our issues were either ignored or mishandled. The two desk agents have little or no idea of what customer satisfaction is about.
Our complaints: we were greeted by surly woman and NOT told that the front desk is only staffed from 9:00AM until 9:00PM and if we had a problem we would have to call a phone number listed on a small plaque at the front desk, our room was 4 flights up and we were not offered any help with our bags, when we went to take a shower at 10:00PM WE HAD NO HOT Water in the room, as there are no phones in the room I was unable to reach the front desk - but it wouldn't have mattered as there was nobody at the front desk. I use my cell to all the main number and got a recorded message. As per the recording, I left message which was never answered. Not that night, nor the next day. When we complained the next morning we were told that, "there is not way we couldn't have had hot water." Was I lying or just unable to figure out who to use a sink and/or shower faucet? I told her that we let the water run for over 20 minutes. THERE WAS NO APOLOGY until the next when we were checking out. As an adjustment in the room rate was not offered, I suggested would that it would be appropriate. That did not happen.
Some other minor issues, no wireless in our room - they said we'd have to come down the lobby (remember we're 4 flights of stairs away). No chair-told to get one from hall, if there is one. Towels like sand paper. No place in bathroom to put anything down. This rooms is more like a "Garret" - scantly decorated, while we paid the same $ as other rooms. No closet. Old soap left in shower. No shampoo - you better bring your own.
While the hotel is nicely situated and has an "old fashioned charm", that does not extend to the staff or the owners.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Arnold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape May hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.7 mi away
The South Winds
The South Winds
#21 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Buckingham Motel
Buckingham Motel
#34 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macomber

Property: Hotel Macomber
Address: 727 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2464
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Macomber 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Hotel Macomber is a historic landmark hotel featuring 37 rooms with full amenities. We have everything you need to unplug, unwind, and relax in Cape May, NJ. Located just steps away from pristine, white sand beaches, Hotel Macomber is a family-run hotel where you'll feel right at home. Our prime location and attentive customer service paired with our pristine rooms and convenient amenities have allowed us to be a Cape May destination for many families and guests. We offer you a great getaway location with award-winning fine dining, free parking, and a relaxing atmosphere. Cape May is a quaint, family-oriented seaside resort town rich in Victorian architecture and gourmet restaurants in addition to its many beach related offerings. Our passion for Cap May shows in our customer service. We want you to have the best experience you can in our great seaside town. Consider us for your next reunion or spiritual retreat. After a day of lounging on the beach or sightseeing come relax with us in our historic hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Macomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macomber Hotel Cape May
Macomber Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing