We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Conveniently Located” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Macomber

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Macomber
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Conveniently Located”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We attended a wedding held in the hotel at the Union Park Restaurant. We stayed two nights in a second floor room with a slight view of the ocean. The room was acceptable. The decor was dated. There was a dehumidifier in the room which had me a little concerned but there was no sign of any mold or mildew.
For the price ($129 + taxes) i would have thought they could include a few basics such as shampoo and conditioner.

There is a nice wrap around porch with plenty of seating but there was almost always someone smoking when we were out there. The hotel obviously did not mind since they provided lots of ash trays.

The location was the best part of the stay. The beach is across the street. The convention center is less than a minute walk. There is some shopping near by and a nice little cafe located under the hotel. It was only a half mile walk to the outdoor shopping plaza where there are lots of stores and restaurants.
Not sure i would stay again just for the value alone.

Room Tip: The two front rooms with a shared porch seemed to be the nicest in the hotel. There is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJPlantsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    79
    37
    22
    21
See reviews for
38
100
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sea Cliff, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed there three nights. The shower is tiny with a curtain and the bathroom is small. There are no frills to this hotel. I would try another place next time but it is clean. There are many many steps......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowfall20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

First, I should say that it was our first time in Cape May. The hotel is old and has a lot of character. But what it didn't have are bed bugs (at least i didn't find any) -- it's the first thing i look for when i enter a room. Second thing I check is the bathroom; it was newly remodeled and impeccably clean, but there was a problem with the window. The wicker furniture was dirty; didn't like that -- that was a bit gross. I always carry disinfectant wipes with me so i wipe off everything.
The stairs weren't really a problem or issue -- as they say on the website: "pack light."
Front desk staff, as with everyone we came in contact with in Cape May, they were friendly and SUPER helpful! The hotel is centrally located; it was great to walk through all the neighborhoods and to restaurants.
I think the review from Dee G about the flat screen TV was a little off-base because the tv was small but who goes to the beach to watch tv?
Overall, the hotel was adequate. There are so many places to stay in Cape May that it depends on There are so many places to choose from in Cape May that it all depends on what you want.
Hotel Macomber is centrally located, good bargain, and very nice staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vvla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

You can't beat the location of the hotel, its in the middle of everything. It has a lot of character and if you are really active then the stairs won't bother you. We were on the second floor which is really like the third floor. It has a historic feel to it, the stairs creek and there was a slight mold odor in the hallway. Our room was called a petite and it was very petite, but we didn't mind. We honestly enjoyed our time there. We didn't have any problems but the only down side was that we arrived early and we understood our room was not ready so we asked to use a bathroom to just change into our bathing suits so we can enjoy the beach. Well there was a firm No on that one. They explained they had no bathroom in the lobby area and directed us to the public bathrooms across the street if we wanted to use that. So there was no bending of rules.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs, either don't stay here or ask for a room on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I am writing this review while I am on “vacation”. This should tell you that is no ordinary matter.
If you ever heard the motto “you get what you pay for” this hotel typifies it. For the record this is one of the cheapest places to stay on Beach Avenue in Cape May for a good reason – Cheap service.
Not just the customer service but the product too – the advertised “flat screen TV”… is barely bigger than my computer monitor. The “individually controlled AC/heat” is also a misnomer… watch out for those wall A/C units (not kidding). The manager scheduled major maintenance on a Saturday afternoon, yes a Saturday, when rooms are the busiest. If you ever visit here’s a tip… the shower lines were switched when installed… so what’s normally the “hot” region of the shower dial is the “cold” and vice versa.
If you need maintenance to come up to the room, sign language might help(read good luck communicating). He forgot to plug the fridge back! What?!? Kiss those food items goodbye…
Location is nice. The beach is right there. I’m glad something worked out well for us. And the book I am reading now is fabulous…
In short, “you get what you pay for”… I would not recommend this hotel unless you don’t mind possible annoyances on your vacation.
As an alternative I would suggest Ocean Club Hotel. This is the real deal, clean and elegant. Just two blocks away…

Anyone familiar with the “i”Phone? Now come along with me for one minute… Let’s talk about Hotel Macomber.
Serv”i” – Where SERVICE is not complete. You the visitor is to Serv”i”, who only cares about what’s in it for the “i”-Owners.
If you are looking for window-mounted A/C units and outdoor wicker furniture including your bed, you’ve found your spot! Rosetta Stone gift set not included.
IMO, save yourself some time and hassle. Buck up to a better hotel – great service, great accommodations.
You get what you pay for… good luck in finding your spot…

Room Tip: Enter at your own risk. OK, it's not that bad... but you should get my point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape May hotels

Little Silver, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have been visiting Cape May since the 1980s. We have stayed in a variety of B & Bs. For the past five years or so, we have stayed at Hotel Macomber. We love this hotel. We now have a favorite room that we book each year (not telling which one!). The comfort of the rooms, the warm and friendly staff, the convenient location to the beach and downtown, the Union Park restaurant, the front porch and its rocking chairs, on site parking. We feel at home here and will continue to return, booking far enough in advance to ensure that we get our favorite room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aristes, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Pleasant staff. Clean spacious rooms
Great location. Beach view was terrific
Close to restaurants and across the street from the beach. Historic hotel so no elevator. Third floor is actually 4 flights. Might be an issue if unable to do stairs. If you can.worth the walk

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDBrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#31 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alcott
Hotel Alcott
#26 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#18 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#2 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macomber

Property: Hotel Macomber
Address: 727 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2464
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Macomber 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Hotel Macomber is a historic landmark hotel featuring 37 rooms with full amenities. We have everything you need to unplug, unwind, and relax in Cape May, NJ. Located just steps away from pristine, white sand beaches, Hotel Macomber is a family-run hotel where you'll feel right at home. Our prime location and attentive customer service paired with our pristine rooms and convenient amenities have allowed us to be a Cape May destination for many families and guests. We offer you a great getaway location with award-winning fine dining, free parking, and a relaxing atmosphere. Cape May is a quaint, family-oriented seaside resort town rich in Victorian architecture and gourmet restaurants in addition to its many beach related offerings. Our passion for Cap May shows in our customer service. We want you to have the best experience you can in our great seaside town. Consider us for your next reunion or spiritual retreat. After a day of lounging on the beach or sightseeing come relax with us in our historic hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Macomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macomber Hotel Cape May
Macomber Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing