We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An okay historic hotel”
Review of Hotel Macomber

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Macomber
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Sea Cliff, New York
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An okay historic hotel”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed there three nights. The shower is tiny with a curtain and the bathroom is small. There are no frills to this hotel. I would try another place next time but it is clean. There are many many steps......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowfall20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    91
    38
    22
    22
See reviews for
43
110
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

First, I should say that it was our first time in Cape May. The hotel is old and has a lot of character. But what it didn't have are bed bugs (at least i didn't find any) -- it's the first thing i look for when i enter a room. Second thing I check is the bathroom; it was newly remodeled and impeccably clean, but there was a problem with the window. The wicker furniture was dirty; didn't like that -- that was a bit gross. I always carry disinfectant wipes with me so i wipe off everything.
The stairs weren't really a problem or issue -- as they say on the website: "pack light."
Front desk staff, as with everyone we came in contact with in Cape May, they were friendly and SUPER helpful! The hotel is centrally located; it was great to walk through all the neighborhoods and to restaurants.
I think the review from Dee G about the flat screen TV was a little off-base because the tv was small but who goes to the beach to watch tv?
Overall, the hotel was adequate. There are so many places to stay in Cape May that it depends on There are so many places to choose from in Cape May that it all depends on what you want.
Hotel Macomber is centrally located, good bargain, and very nice staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vvla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

You can't beat the location of the hotel, its in the middle of everything. It has a lot of character and if you are really active then the stairs won't bother you. We were on the second floor which is really like the third floor. It has a historic feel to it, the stairs creek and there was a slight mold odor in the hallway. Our room was called a petite and it was very petite, but we didn't mind. We honestly enjoyed our time there. We didn't have any problems but the only down side was that we arrived early and we understood our room was not ready so we asked to use a bathroom to just change into our bathing suits so we can enjoy the beach. Well there was a firm No on that one. They explained they had no bathroom in the lobby area and directed us to the public bathrooms across the street if we wanted to use that. So there was no bending of rules.

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs, either don't stay here or ask for a room on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I am writing this review while I am on “vacation”. This should tell you that is no ordinary matter.
If you ever heard the motto “you get what you pay for” this hotel typifies it. For the record this is one of the cheapest places to stay on Beach Avenue in Cape May for a good reason – Cheap service.
Not just the customer service but the product too – the advertised “flat screen TV”… is barely bigger than my computer monitor. The “individually controlled AC/heat” is also a misnomer… watch out for those wall A/C units (not kidding). The manager scheduled major maintenance on a Saturday afternoon, yes a Saturday, when rooms are the busiest. If you ever visit here’s a tip… the shower lines were switched when installed… so what’s normally the “hot” region of the shower dial is the “cold” and vice versa.
If you need maintenance to come up to the room, sign language might help(read good luck communicating). He forgot to plug the fridge back! What?!? Kiss those food items goodbye…
Location is nice. The beach is right there. I’m glad something worked out well for us. And the book I am reading now is fabulous…
In short, “you get what you pay for”… I would not recommend this hotel unless you don’t mind possible annoyances on your vacation.
As an alternative I would suggest Ocean Club Hotel. This is the real deal, clean and elegant. Just two blocks away…

Anyone familiar with the “i”Phone? Now come along with me for one minute… Let’s talk about Hotel Macomber.
Serv”i” – Where SERVICE is not complete. You the visitor is to Serv”i”, who only cares about what’s in it for the “i”-Owners.
If you are looking for window-mounted A/C units and outdoor wicker furniture including your bed, you’ve found your spot! Rosetta Stone gift set not included.
IMO, save yourself some time and hassle. Buck up to a better hotel – great service, great accommodations.
You get what you pay for… good luck in finding your spot…

Room Tip: Enter at your own risk. OK, it's not that bad... but you should get my point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape May hotels

Little Silver, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have been visiting Cape May since the 1980s. We have stayed in a variety of B & Bs. For the past five years or so, we have stayed at Hotel Macomber. We love this hotel. We now have a favorite room that we book each year (not telling which one!). The comfort of the rooms, the warm and friendly staff, the convenient location to the beach and downtown, the Union Park restaurant, the front porch and its rocking chairs, on site parking. We feel at home here and will continue to return, booking far enough in advance to ensure that we get our favorite room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aristes, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Pleasant staff. Clean spacious rooms
Great location. Beach view was terrific
Close to restaurants and across the street from the beach. Historic hotel so no elevator. Third floor is actually 4 flights. Might be an issue if unable to do stairs. If you can.worth the walk

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDBrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westville, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

These people seem to play a bate a switch scam with the rooms they rent.Our online booking clearly stated room 44 with 2 queen beds.Upon getting there we were given room 43 with 2 double beds.I went back to the desk to ask why we weren't given the rooms we booked she stated there was a computor error and she doesn't understand the difference between the 2 queen beds and the 2 double beds.After a long engagement with her she said we could have room 41 which was the exact same room as 43.We were ready to ask for our money back when she came up with room 10, 2 queen beds, but only for 1 night.We booked for 2nights.I saw people having the same problem at the front desk as we were leaving.The hotel has no modern amenities,all rooms are small,showers small,and when they say pack light due to steps they are not kidding. We will never stay here again.Aggravation is not want we want on vacation.

Room Tip: Lower the room number the less stairs you have to cllimb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,201 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale by the Sea
Avondale by the Sea
#15 of 37 in Cape May
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macomber

Property: Hotel Macomber
Address: 727 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2464
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Macomber 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century, the Hotel Macomber is a historic landmark hotel featuring 37 rooms with full amenities. We have everything you need to unplug, unwind, and relax in Cape May, NJ. Located just steps away from pristine, white sand beaches, Hotel Macomber is a family-run hotel where you'll feel right at home. Our prime location and attentive customer service paired with our pristine rooms and convenient amenities have allowed us to be a Cape May destination for many families and guests. We offer you a great getaway location with award-winning fine dining, free parking, and a relaxing atmosphere. Cape May is a quaint, family-oriented seaside resort town rich in Victorian architecture and gourmet restaurants in addition to its many beach related offerings. Our passion for Cap May shows in our customer service. We want you to have the best experience you can in our great seaside town. Consider us for your next reunion or spiritual retreat. After a day of lounging on the beach or sightseeing come relax with us in our historic hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Macomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macomber Hotel Cape May
Macomber Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing