We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Macomber
Nearby Hotels
Carroll Villa Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$229
$179
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jetty Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$179
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$139
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Congress Hall(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Southern Mansion(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montreal Beach Resort(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avondale by the Sea(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Cape May)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mer Beachfront Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
59
92
40
25
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
92
40
25
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorunion park restaurantacross the streetfront porchbagel shopconvention centertop floorrocking chairscozy hotelsmall tvmy husband and ipeople watchmini golfwater pressurerestaurants and shoppingthe jersey shoreon site parking
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 238 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have been visiting Cape May since the 1980s. We have stayed in a variety of B & Bs. For the past five years or so, we have stayed at Hotel Macomber. We love this hotel. We now have a favorite room that we book each year (not telling which one!). The comfort of the rooms, the warm and friendly staff, the convenient location to the beach and downtown, the Union Park restaurant, the front porch and its rocking chairs, on site parking. We feel at home here and will continue to return, booking far enough in advance to ensure that we get our favorite room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Pleasant staff. Clean spacious rooms
Great location. Beach view was terrific
Close to restaurants and across the street from the beach. Historic hotel so no elevator. Third floor is actually 4 flights. Might be an issue if unable to do stairs. If you can.worth the walk

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LDBrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

These people seem to play a bate a switch scam with the rooms they rent.Our online booking clearly stated room 44 with 2 queen beds.Upon getting there we were given room 43 with 2 double beds.I went back to the desk to ask why we weren't given the rooms we booked she stated there was a computor error and she doesn't understand the difference between the 2 queen beds and the 2 double beds.After a long engagement with her she said we could have room 41 which was the exact same room as 43.We were ready to ask for our money back when she came up with room 10, 2 queen beds, but only for 1 night.We booked for 2nights.I saw people having the same problem at the front desk as we were leaving.The hotel has no modern amenities,all rooms are small,showers small,and when they say pack light due to steps they are not kidding. We will never stay here again.Aggravation is not want we want on vacation.

Room Tip: Lower the room number the less stairs you have to cllimb
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Macomber for 2 days. The location is ideal and the view from our second floor bedroom was stunning. We knew about the stairs so that was not an issue: we even joked that the exercise gave us a free pass to eat whatever we wanted. The bed was comfortable and the room clean, but be advised that if you are looking for tranquility this is not the hotel for you. It is beach front, and at the height of summer this means NOISE. We attempted to open the windows on the first night to try to hear the surf, but all we heard were cars and drunk people screaming to one another until 3 in the morning. In addition, the air conditioning unit in our room (18) sounded like a jet plane taking flight. There was also a terrible intermittent buzzing coming from something outside our room that made it very difficult to sleep. Also, people clamor up and down the stairs all night like elephants. The noise issue is not the hotel's fault, and the view made it all worth it for me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Crystal and your team,

We had to thank you for a lovely midweek stay. I've been in the Macomber before (for dinner) but had not stayed there, so some of the past reviews seemed questionable.

We rented two rooms, 1 and 26 (above famous room 10 but sadly, no excitement :) It IS an old hotel. It DOES have lots of steps. Hello!

Both our rooms were immaculate. The beds were great (we all have bad backs!) The beds were clean, we check! As was the bathroom, spotless. Yes, they were small, again it's an old hotel. The towels were clean and fresh, and you offered more for us to use at the beach. The TVs were small. We came for the beach though, not to watch TV, and they were more than suitable to catch up on the Olympics. Your staff was polite, actually, the were both sweet.

We will definitely visit again. Your house provided our family a great stay and wonderful memories during a challenging time and we are very grateful.

All the best!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CandM_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews