We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Alcott”
Review of Hotel Alcott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alcott
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Loved the Alcott”
Reviewed September 23, 2007

The hotel Alcott is an excellent alternative if you like a little bit more of a hotel feel than the bed and breakfasts in the area. The service is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms have probably some of the most comfortable beds that I have slept in. The mattresses were just upgraded this year to pillowtop mattresses. In the morning you come down to newspapers and continental breakfast, which includes the most amazing croissants that we have ever eaten
(toasty and flaky) There is no parking, so you will have to park a couple of blocks away or pay for a meter outside the hotel, which costs 25 cents for 20 minutes between the hours of 10:00 AM and 10:00 PM. Not a big deal.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank fef5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    57
    38
    25
    17
See reviews for
50
104
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
tenafly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Very cute little place... Has a Victorian charm about it, along with the benefits of the 21st century (modern bathrooms, plasma tv's). However, during my weekend stay there were two weddings taking place, so these events overran the hotel. If you want to check out their acclaimed restaurant, don't book your stay during a wedding weekend.. It was closed the entire weekend I was there due to the wedding bonanzas. Also, the quaint lobby became part of the wedding receptions/pictures/set-ups, etc. Oh, and the NOISE from the reception! Yikes! I couldn't even relax. I felt secondary to the wedding event. My advice: Check what is being planned that weekend with the hotel before you book and work around it.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — hotel overrun with weddings!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank apple613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

Booked 2 rooms at the Alcott for 4 nights in mid august.....1 room with queen size bed and another with 2 queen size beds......180 per night for first and 230 per night for second......the room with single bed was way too small...eventhough the bed, flat screen tv and nice bathroom helped.....the room with 2 queen size beds was a good size and much more comfortable......both rooms had zero views.....the daily breakfast was excellent....the staff were extremely friendly and the hotel serves hot cookies with lemonade during afternoon.......cape may is beautiful but if you go in the summer, you want a terrace overlooking the ocean, a swimming pool and a fitness center....all things this hotel didnt have.......i felt it would be a great place offseason but in FULL summer it felt way too stuffy with all the victorian furniture and ambience.......ov erall its a great hotel with great people, etc but for my tastes, i would prefer a more modern hotel on the ocean........oh, and the hotel is 2 blocks from beach.....very easy quick walk.......and they give out very nice beach towels daily.......so, if you are willing to deal with limitations above and still pay a PREMIUM price, go for it.....otherwise, Congress Hall looks amazing!

  • Liked — Daily breakfast
  • Disliked — No Pool/No Fitness Center/No Views/No balcony
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MHillqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fluke19
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2007

We have stayed at the Alcott before and always loved it. Our latest stay was just a few weeks ago and the changes they have made are phenomenal. The new beds and coverlets are so comfy, I hardly wanted to leave the room! Flat screen Tv made my husband hardly want to leave the room! The new tile, rugs, even curtains are really tasteful and elegant! Their breakfast and refreshments are always yum! Dining in their restaurant has always been top notch and has not faltered one bit! The location is ideal for a walk to the shopping area and what... like a block from the beach! OK, the parking may be a little dicey sometimes but, I park the car and never touch it till I leave! Who wants to drive around in Cape May anyway?? Not me! Thier staff is always really helpful and they pretty much know all there is to know about town. if not ,they'll find out for you. Everyone is really warm and pleasant and want to do what they can so you have fun!
It really doesn't get better than this for me! So go... have fun!

  • Liked — friendly, attentive staff
  • Disliked — short stay
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank fluke19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern NJ
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2007

My wife and I are regular visitors to Cape May. We try to make it down to Cape May 3 to 4 times a year. Normally, we stay at one of the Select Registry Bed and Breakfast Inns, or one of the top rated B & Bs on Tripadvisor.

I was in desperate need of a getaway this week, and I saw the Hotel Alcott's ad in the Philadelphia Inquirer, which stated that they had rooms mid week starting at $110 a night. At this time of year in Cape May, that rate is an absolute bargain for a nice place.

This is a beautiful old hotel that has been nicely restored. The hotel dates back to the 1800s but the renovation took place fairly recently, judging by the overall condition. I'm guessing but it had to be restored within the last 10 years.

First, I'll list the positives:

1) It is a beautiful hotel. It has old world charm without being overly Victorian. The pictures on their website will give you a nice feel for the place.

2) The rooms are nicely furnished and very comfortable. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've slept on in Cape May. I'm normally an early riser who jumps out of bed at 6:00 a.m (even on vacation) but my bed was so comfortable I just had to get an extra hour in it!!! The room had a large flat screen TV too, which was nice for the one rainy day we had.

3) The location is perfect!!! The hotel is 1 block to the beach, 2 or 3 blocks from the pedestrian mall which is filled with shops and restaurants. If you are able bodied and can walk even short distances, you'll be able to see most everything with little effort. Also, this is a relatively quiet part of town, so you'll get a quiet stay but still be within a short walk of most everything. I didn't hear any street noise at all during my stay.

4) The restaurant, la Verandah, is fabulous! It is a beautifully decorated room that serves gourmet continental cuisine. I've dined at most of the finer restaurants in Cape May and la Verandah is right up there with the best of them. The Philadelphia Inquirer's food critic raved about this place a few years ago, as did the Atlantic City Press, and I can see why. I had a fabulous dinner. It was not cheap but it was not overpriced either. Don't miss the opportunity to dine at this restaurant!

5) Service at the hotel was very pleasant, from the front desk to the housekeeping staff.

In fairness, even though I did not experience any negatives during my stay, I'll list potential problems this place could present:

1) There are no elevators in the building so you will have to walk up either one or two floors to get to your room. If you are unable to walk up a flight or two of stairs and carry your own bags, then this would not be a good place for you to stay.

2) Parking could be problematic. I had no problems during my stay ( I got a spot within 20 feet of the building on a non-metered side street). My first day, I had to circle the hotel a couple of times to find a spot, but once I did, the car stayed parked the entire time I was there. If you've been to Cape May before, you konw that parking can be problematic. Since this hotel is in a fairly quiet location, it might be a little easier to find a spot than if you were staying right in the heart of the historic district.

3) You might hear a little sound from a room next door or above or below you. I guess this can't be helped in a building that dates to the late 1800s but it's not like there are any wild parties going on in the rooms here.

Let me reiterate that I had no problems whatsoever with this charming hotel. I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The overall charm and la Verandah, the restaurant
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MisterBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2007

Very relaxing place for weekend after Memorial Day, soft beds, great balcony. Rooms are small, parking is off-site, if you can't deal with that, go elsewhere. We found the staff extremely accommodating, the location great for seeing downtown, and overall we would recommend this hotel for short visits.

  • Liked — balcony
  • Disliked — off site parking
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank victorypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2007

After staying one weekend here with my fiance, we both agreed we had to go back immediately!! The Hotel Alcott is the perfect Cape May getaway. Beach is block and half away, restaurants, outdoor mall, all within walking distance, beautiful Victorial hotel (with fabulously new and pristine bathrooms!). My lad loved the impressive flat screen-- I loved our balcony with rocking chairs, slight breeze and beautiful ocean view. We've already booked our stay for Fourth of July weekend and a weekend in August, we might be a little obsessed..you would be too! This hotel has it all..

  • Liked — Cleanliness, completele renovated, beautiful hotel and awesome location
  • Disliked — It was almost too perfect..
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank JustJustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,184 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
349 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#30 of 37 in Cape May
387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#28 of 37 in Cape May
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcott

Property: Hotel Alcott
Address: 107 Grant St, Cape May, NJ 08204-5322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcott 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored Cape May Victorian hotel. Steps from the ocean and town center. Complimentary continental breakfast daily. Egyptian cotton linens. Tile/granite private baths. Complimentary lending library. Complimentary afternoon refreshments daily in-season. Special mid-week rates. Off-site parking. Fine dining in-season. Available for weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alcott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcott Hotel Cape May
Alcott Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing