We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alcott
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked this hotel on booking.com and only because all the other hotels had a two night minimum. (Hotel Alcott does also, but found a loophole through the site).

Positives: One night was all we needed. Free snack, beverages in lobby. Free Continental Breakfast. Location was ok. Clean room, large bathroom.

Negatives: Free parking is a lot that is actually a 10-15 minute walk. Not fun in the rain. Room was very small. We could hear others talking in their room as early as 6am. Pretty much every word. Pricey for the accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 231 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

My brother and I were traveling to Cape May and just needed a simple and affordable place to crash. This hotel exceeded our expectations in many areas. First off, the bed and pillows were really comfortable! I am guessing a down blend. Although the room was small the bathroom was very spacious and newly renovated. The water pressure was great and there was plenty of hot water for 2 long showers. The breakfast was more than adequate and included fresh pastries, yogurt, cereal, a varieties of tea, and even Nutella! The decor is minimalist and clean with only hints of Victorian flair. This was a welcome change from all the lacy romantic B&Bs I had looked at online. The staff were extremely helpful/knowledgeable in showing us all the places to visit. They even let us park in the drop off area for more than an hour. This hotel was also in a great location and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our stay was nice, but I would not visit again. The walls were so thin that I could hear the conversation of the people in the next room as well as their snoring all night long. You have to park MANY blocks away, and the breakfast was average at best. That being said, the staff was friendly and it was clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tfreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice Victorian boutique hotel, paid $220/per night over Memorial weekend 2013. One block from the beach, street parking is metered 10am-10pm (even Sundays and Holidays), so they give you a free parking pass to a lot on Bank St, maybe 5 blocks away. The staff was friendly and our room was clean and cozy. Nothing special about the rooms. Very basic; bed, tv, nightstands, very small closet, no coffee maker, chair, hairdryer. They had a continental breakfast from 8:30-10:30am with cereal, breads, juice, yogurt, and coffee. A few rocking chairs and tables out on the front patio. A cute outdoor foyer area with a small fountain. We came to visit Cape May and didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel. If you are healthy and enjoy walking, everything is very close. If you aren't, or have to tote around a bunch of baby/kid stuff, you may want a room on the first floor and park in the metered spaces to get around.

Room Tip: I don't remember there being an elevator. Those with bad knees or lots of baby/kid/pet stuff wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunriseFitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We travel to Cape May each year for birding, but up to now, have never stayed in hotel we would return to. Hotel Alcott is now "our hotel" in Cape May. Wonderful historic hotel, well-maintained, spacious room, updated bathrooms, great location, reasonable price (hard to find in Cape May).
Receptionist Dan is great resource: he gave us excellent advice on best spot to go birding on very windy afternoon. Serving of comp cookies & lemonade in afternoon was nice treat, as was wifi which functioned well. Quiet restful nights.
Only caveat is complimentary breakfast: served way too late for birders & very nondescript. We walked over to Uncle Bill's Pancake House on Beach Drive, which opens at 6:30am each day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank KathyPoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A lovely stay in a charming old hotel with friendly, welcoming front desk staff.
This was our first visit to Cape May, After a long day wandering around the area, I enjoyed sitting with my book, on the 2nd floor balcony, off my room, looking at the ocean. Hubby stretched out on the comfy bed and watched his baseball game. Upon reading other reviews, we were prepared for the wedding below our room and got in the spirit and the joy of it all while watching the bridal party and guests arrive. Their cocktail party was in the lobby - no problem for us but an issue if you needed a sitting area other than your room or balcony. Yes we heard the music and bass in our room - so if you're an early to bed person, you may have difficulty sleeping. Things seemed to be quiet by about 10:45. Continental Breakfast was typical and fine.

All in all we had a good stay in the Hotel Alcott

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilt35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very nice victorian hotel 1/2 block from beach in quiet neighborhood. Stayed for one night, beginning of May--weather was sunny and warm, but a little windy. Hotel was perfect for our needs, but I wouldn't stay on third floor again...too many stairs - although a nice young man (hotel employee) carried our luggage upstairs for us. Room was very comfortable - cheapest room, but had nice, soft queen bed, 1 armchair, flat screen TV, adjustable heat and AC, and modern tile bathroom.
Went down for the continental breakfast on Sunday and brought back muffins, croissants, and coffee to room. Also had bananas and cereal available. On Saturday, there was a little noise at night from a wedding reception downstairs, but noise was tolerable. Restaurant was closed, but Congress Hall was two block walk away...enjoyed excellent dinner at the Blue Pig Tavern there. Since it was off-season, free parking was available within two blocks. In-season, parking is farther away - approx. 5 blocks from hotel. Enjoyed our stay and felt it offered excellent value for $189 plus tax on a weekend night, without a minimum 3-night stay requirement.

Room Tip: Try for second floor room, rather than third, if stairs are a problem. Even second floor has two fli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuJube_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,243 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#16 of 37 in Cape May
273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#29 of 37 in Cape May
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#30 of 37 in Cape May
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcott

Address: 107 Grant St, Cape May, NJ 08204-5322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range: $226 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcott 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored Cape May Victorian hotel. Steps from the ocean and town center. Complimentary continental breakfast daily. Egyptian cotton linens. Tile/granite private baths. Complimentary lending library. Complimentary afternoon refreshments daily in-season. Special mid-week rates. Off-site parking. Fine dining in-season. Available for weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alcott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcott Hotel Cape May
Alcott Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing