We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not nearly what I expected for the cost”
Review of Wilbraham Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wilbraham Mansion
Ranked #10 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not nearly what I expected for the cost”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I'm very surprised by all the great reviews of this place. I mean, it was fine. Room was fine. Bed was fine. Breakfast was fine. Innkeepers were fine. But for the amount of money I paid for two nights, I expect way more than fine. And by the way, the pool is a joke. I can only imagine what that Hotel Impossible guy would say about it. No way would I even dip a toe in it, it looked that suspect. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kschiap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    81
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
275
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have been coming in October for about 10 years and have stayed in both the new and the old houses at the Wilbraham Both are equally charming. We got to use the bedroom fireplace for the first time because it got a little chilly this year. Very cozy! We stayed in 203 this year. Very comfortable king bed and love the jacuzzi. We come every year to take time out for ourselves and renew our relationship. It's our couples therapy! Trust Doug and Joanne for the best restaurant recommendations and fun things to do. We love Cape May and the Wilbraham!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Enjoyed the stay at this charming Bed and Breakfast. Sad to say, there were no ghosts, but It was an excellent location, close to everything. We parked our car and did not use it until we left for home.

Doug and Joanne were wonderful hosts, ready to tell the story of the mansion, and a little bit about themselves as well. Very nice people.

The indoor pool was perfect. And yes, on our way home we were planning our next getaway to Wibraham.

Room Tip: Room 7, it has a separate sitting room. Room 6 is not for people who cannot step up a big step.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony_and_Theresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at this LOVELY B&B for our honeymoon, and would not have changed a THING. Upon arrival, the wonderful owner fave us a rundown of how the Jacuzzi & flat screen in our rooms worked (they use their room as a show room for new guests) and gave us a few tips on restaurants and events (not to mention books with menus of many of the local restaurants). We stayed in Suite 204 and couldn't get over the BEAUTY of the place. We stayed in the newer building, where there is a convenient elevator. Awesome fireplace in one corner of the room that kept us cozy, and don't get me started on the two-head shower. We used the Jacuzzi twice, just perfect after a long day. The bed was extremely comfortable, all the linens obviously very clean. The HEATED pool is 24/7 so we took advantage of that, as well. The breakfast was filling and healthy (loved the muffins!) and those ladies were very kind since we had to leave very early our last morning and were quick to get us something to take with. The decor in the main house was, naturally, Victorian, and nice to meander thru. Sitting out front on the porch was very relaxing to reflect on our time spent. We liked that we could walk everywhere, to Washington st, to the beach, to several nearby restaurants, and a VERY quick drive to the point. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: I highly recommend choosing a room with a Jacuzzi. You will NOT regret the hydro massage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hippie_Groomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We always have a wonderful expierence when we come the the owners are always soo friendly and accommodating to any need we have .... Even umbrellas in the rain !!!!!! Always a great time. Can't wait to come next year !!!! Dana and John <3

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have stayed at the Wilbraham many times. This is hands down my favorite B&B in Cape May. The owners and staff are outstanding. They are helpful with local info. They make you feel so comfortable. The rooms are extremely clean and the beds are comfortable. There are 2 buildings, the original mansion with victorian themes and the newer suites building with jacuzzis and fireplaces in each room. The mansion rooms are a typical size for an old period building. Breakfast is always delicious and filling. The mansion is just blocks outside of the Washington Mall, a hotspot of shopping and restaurants. The guests the Wilbraham Mansion attracts are truly down to earth and friendly. You will not be disappointed with a visit to the Wilbraham Mansion when in Cape May.

Room Tip: There is a wide assortment of rooms and prices. Depending on your budget and occassion you may want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QweenBeeachMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the Wilbraham for our honeymoon and it did not disappoint. It was a quiet, romantic B&B, walking distance to downtown Cape May, the beach and even wineries. We stayed in the suite building, which was a great choice. Room 202 was huge but still cozy. The bathroom is massive with an awesome two person jacuzzi and a two person shower. Everything was nice and clean. Breakfast was enjoyable each day: coffee/tea/juice, fresh fruit, muffins, pancakes/french toast/waffles, eggs/quiche, bacon/sausage. Afternoon refreshments were also a nice treat when we were around to indulge. Doug was really helpful in pointing out some great places to eat for dinner. We never had a bad meal! When we go back to Cape May, we'll definitely stay at the Wilbraham again!

Room Tip: The suite building is awesome with two person jacuzzis and big showers. Stayed in 202 and it was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
680 reviews
1.4 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 39 in Cape May
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilbraham Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilbraham Mansion

Property: Wilbraham Mansion
Address: 133 Myrtle Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1237
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilbraham Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1840 and enlarged circa 1890s, this beautifully restored B&B is the only one in Cape May to boast an indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Wilbraham Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilbraham Mansion Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing