We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast, lovely staff”
Review of Wilbraham Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wilbraham Mansion
Ranked #10 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed one night after a few days in NYC. Totally relaxing, walked everywhere. Doug and Joanne were so helpful and friendly. The breakfast was awesome, especially the french toast and homemade muffins. The day before we had ice tea and cheese, crackers and fruit at tea time, so nice. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddieBocaRaton_fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 352 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2011

We usually do a weekend get-away to Atlantic City each year but found it extremely pricey this year. Wilbraham Mansion came up as an advertisement and was half the price of our usual room in Atlantic City so we looked into the reviews on Trip Advisor first and decided to give Cape May a try.
Everyone I spoke to about Cape May has had wonderful stories to share, and now my girlfriend and I also have our own to share as well.
Customer Service: Everyone who worked there was extremely pleasant and most helpful, very reserved.
Atmosphere: The Wilbraham Mansion was very clean, from the moment I walked in, it reminded me of a dollhouse with how ornate everything was. I found this to be the perfect escape from our everyday rushed about lifestyles of work, work and housework. Sitting out on the veranda at night sharing a bottle of wine and discussion put us both at peace.
Food: Breakfast was of good quality, served right at the designated time, no lines, very relaxing and well organized. We laughed as we left each morning and saw the long line at the breakfast diner at the end of the street, glad we didn't have to wait for our food.
Location: walking distance from the Washington Street shoppes, restaurants, horse-drawn carriage ride etc.

Room Tip: The more in advance you book, the better off you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craig0581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

if you are looking for a great stay in cape may this is it.the staff, the inn and suites are fantastic.the breakfast served there is wonderful and they can handle you special needs.you are a walking distance from most anything at the cape. the rfood and activitys around there are so enjoyable. you could not ask for more for a place to stay.

Room Tip: we stayed at both the inn and the suites the suites are roomier but the inn has a lot more character...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We met some friends here and had an enjoyable weekend. We were in room 6 in the main house, and some of the rooms (including ours) have bathrooms that were clearly not the original part of the floor plan, in a tiny space, one large step up from the rest of the room. The shower was barely 30" wide, the bathroom not a lot bigger. The room was small, but clean and pretty, and the bed was very comfortable. Our friends were in room #1, also in the main house, they had a real bathroom and more spacious accommodations in general. We liked the comfortable front porch, where we could sip on ice tea or lemonade provided at afternoon tea, wait for each other, or just watch the world go by.

The location was great. We just left our car parked for the entire weekend and walked everywhere, including the beach. We had 2 fantastic dinners, one at Backstreet Simply Delicious and the other at the Black Duck. Both were no more than a 3 block walk and highly, highly recommended. The owner Doug was very congenial, helpful with recommendations (he steered us to the Black Duck) and available beach chairs to borrow.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyG-SilverSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

food was good, people were nice, owner very warm and friendly, would return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The Wilbraham Inn has an older section and a more modern section. We chose the more modern section. The inn is maintained to high standards of quality, cleanliness, and personal service. It is located in a charming neighborhood and is easily accessible to the downtown area, fine dining, and shopping. It has its own indoor swimming pool, jacuzzis built for two, fireplaces, and many other amenities. The beach is about 4 blocks away.

We were sorry when it was time to leave after a three night stay, and hope to return soon again. Folks we met at the breakfast table expressed similar sentiments.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evamiller425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We have stayed at the Wilbraham Mansion and Inn 3 times. We Just booked another stay for the end of the month. We plan I staying again in September too. The staff is wondeful and very pleasant. The service is wonderful. Its a very clean and well kept place. We love staying here and will most definitely keep coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjohnson8097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,339 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#10 of 37 in Cape May
728 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilbraham Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilbraham Mansion

Address: 133 Myrtle Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1237
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: $198 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilbraham Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1840 and enlarged circa 1890s, this beautifully restored B&B is the only one in Cape May to boast an indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Wilbraham Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilbraham Mansion Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing