We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont believe everything you read...stay was GREAT!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Northeast PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dont believe everything you read...stay was GREAT!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

We travel to Cape May every year and decided to stay somewhere different this year. After looking at the Cape May web site, we decided on the Marquis De Lafayette Hotel. About a week before my stay we came across the negative reviews about the hotel and I was leary, to say the least. First off, location is amazing. Walking distance from restaurants and shops. We arrived four hours early and was able to get into our room right away. After looking at our room, which was lovely, we decided to upgrade to the 6th floor suite. The front desk clerk was very nice and had was extremely helpful by showing us the other room and then changing our room. NO problems. The room had great beds, two large flat screens, nice kitchenette, and hardwood floors. View was amazing, we sat on the rockers and watched the ocean/dolphins and relaxed. The breakfast was delicous and at no cost to guests. Waitresses were always there to get you a refill or take your plate. With a breakfast like that there was no need for lunch. We are already planning to go back at Xmas time for some shopping. Hotel is pricey, but first time guests get 20% off and return guests get 25% off. You also get reimbursed for your beach tags. Pool is kinda small and with kids swimming and jumping, I really couldnt enjoy it. Tiki bar got a little roudy at times, but I guess that means people were having a good time. I'm not sure why some other people gave this hotel bad reviews and like I said I was leary, but dont beleive everything you read, try it yourself!!! **** (four stars)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kellybeans10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2010
Thank you for your wonderful review! Feedback is always appreciate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    119
    71
    41
    58
See reviews for
138
137
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

My husband and our 2 children (ages 15 & 13) had a wonderful time! Everyone at the hotel is so accomodating and friendly. We loved John - he went out of his way to make us comfortable. Tony from Maintenance was friendly and very informative! I plan on making the Marquis Delafayette our destination hotel when we return to Cape May. The hotel is clean, the breakfast is fantastic and the staff is top notch! Thank you again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2010
Thank you! Your positive comments reminds us why we love working at this hotel...our customers are the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

We checked out today, 7/1/10, after our third stay this year and dropped in to thank the manager for the good job he is doing. We were shocked when he told us about some of the negative comments on tripadvisor, and we could tell that he was truly hurt by them. He said the hotel is his life, and we can't fault his management during any of our stays. Where else do you get central location across the street from the beach with a heated pool attended by Daniel, one of the friendliest and most efficient attendants I have ever met, a varied and delicious free breakfast daily, clean rooms with individual balconies facing the ocean, for a little steep a price, yes, but worth every penny when compared to what you would get in one of the local inns? The manager does try to root out the few "bad apples" on staff, in his words, and is quite successful, judged from our stays. This is an ongoing process. We highly recommend the hotel and plan to go again for Labor Day. Kudos to the management.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnbyrne1574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2010
Hotel management is probably one of the most challenging yet rewarding careers around! You can't always keep 83 units worth of customers happy at a given time but it is certainly worth the try. We have a great staff that cares about your stay. That's what makes the difference at the Marquis de Lafayette Hotel. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

We've stayed here several times over the past few years. Though the hotel is old, it is well taken care of, and always clean. We also love that its pet friendly.
One complaint: the property is non-smoking, but they allow smoking at the poolside bar. The smoke drifts into nearby rooms, and can be very unpleasant, especially if you're sitting out on the balcony or patio that adjoins each room. They need to move the bar further away from the rooms, and/or ban smoking out there as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachdogandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2010
Thank you for your comments. Converting the interior of the hotel to a smoke-free environment in 2004 was very important to many of our existing customer and a big selling point for our new guests. Your suggestion will be considered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

We have been staying here for 5 years, i avrage 4 weeks a year... 1 week in winter, 3 weeks in summer...
Staff is superb, from front desk to pool staff to maint. staff...all excellent! we love the place!
sorry to say if Blair the supposed GM is still there i will sleep in my car before i go back!
unprofessional, rude, degrading, obnoxious to both the guests and to his wonderful staff!
the owners need to know this (im sure he is related to someone) the staff despises him ! the guests sit around he pool talking about how rude he is!

he stands over the guests at the breakfasts and yells at lil kids if they take too much cereal!

i am sad to say... i will no longer be staying here if Blair is still there!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank conceptsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape May hotels

New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

My husband & I and daughter, son in law and 2 year old grandson stayed here for 5 days to attend my nieces Wedding being held at the Alcott. Louise the desk clerk was welcoming and most pleasant upon arrival. She went out of her way to make sure our stay was comfortable. Our cleaning woman, Senna, was courteous, attentive and kept our room freshly stocked and throughly clean. We had breakfast daily with the most attentive, pleasant, warm & friendly staff I have ever seen. From the talented William, the "omelette making king",to our thoughtful & pleasant waiter Oleg, along with the warm & wonderful waitress -Clara, breakfast was a atmosphere of sheer pleasure!
The dining room staff couldn't do more to assist us with our needs. The food was fresh, displayed beautifully and was delicious in flavor.
I work for a Country Club in Westchester, New York and believe me, I can appreciate great service, wonderful food and superb accommodations.
Congrats to all the staff for their dedication to the guests and the pride they take in their job. It truly reflected in our stay. We'll be back in 2010 for vacation.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tistill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights, and had a mini suite w/a mini kitchen & balcony, which looked out over the beach. The location was good, and the hotel was nicely kept up. Free buffet breakfast was a nice touch - beats the morning hunt for a breakfast spot. Food was good, service very nice. Had a minor issue with the air conditioner, and maintenance responded within a few minutes& fixed it. The place is well cared for, the rooms/suites are nice, and the staff is mostly very nice. Free parking is a bonus, and the location is convenient for walking to alot of attractions, so we didn't have to drive too much. I found the front desk staff to be a bit apathetic, but this was the only flaw, besides the fact that the rooms are pricey, considering the fact that there's so much competition.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gdawnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#14 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis De Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Property: Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Address: 501 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2402
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Marquis De Lafayette Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marquis de Lafayette is a premier hotel centrally located in America's original sea side resort. Our property is directly across the street from Cape May's amazing beach and within walking distance to Cape May's famous Washington Street Mall. Breakfast is served every morning in our restaurant 501 Beach, lunch & cocktails served daily at our poolside Barefoot Bar (in season), 1 Parking permit is provided for each room reserved. We are the pet friendliest hotel in Cape May with 17 Pet Friendly rooms! Reservations including pets may only be reserved directly through the hotel (NOT ONLINE) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marquis De Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis De Lafayette Cape May
Hotel Marquis De Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing