We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel with great view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Delran, New Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel with great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Open year round. This is a good get-away location in the off-season. Breakfast included. Plenty to do in area even in teh off-season. All rooms have ocean view and pets are allowed. A few rooms have interior corridors but most are exterior. Short walk for excellant but reasonable casual dining. Keep in mind that this is an older hotel but the rooms still have many amenities including a porch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    112
    71
    41
    58
See reviews for
133
135
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
btm1323
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have traveled to Cape May for many years and have stayed at many properties (hotels and B&B's) but this was our first time at the Marquis. We stayed here over the Christmas parade weekend with friends. Since we both had dogs (two small pups), we opted for the Poolside Suite. It was a nice size and conveniently located on the first floor. The room itself was just so so. It could use a good updating although it was clean and efficient and we were hardly ever in it. The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch. My only complaint was when I called to make the reservation the front desk never told us that it would be an additional $25 for another pet as well as $35 for another person (there were three total). When making the reservation we gave the total number of pets and people. We were also never told that there was a $100 (cash) refundable deposit we had to put down. The costs were understandable but we were never told this in advance and ended up having to shell out more money when we got there. I thought that was in poor taste. Had we known in advance, we would have been prepared (particularly with the $100 cash deposit). I rarely carry cash. Overall, this would not be my first place to stay when going to Cape May but since it's really the only pet friendly hotel we would stay there again if we couldn't get a pet sitter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank btm1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a wedding to attend in Cape May this past weekend. The wedding was at another hotel and we waited too long to get accommodations on-site. This hotel was offered as an alternative. The price was less than the wedding hotel and included breakfast. We asked to check in before the 4pm checkin so we could get changed before the wedding. We arrived about 1pm in the afternoon and were check in immediately. Our 2nd floor suite was lovely, clean and comfortable. We had a great night's sleep, watched the sunrise and a terrific breakfast before checking out the next morning. We were so pleased we plan on going down again in the early spring and just spending a nice weekend there. All in all a very nice surprise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myhrse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a Suite on the 2nd floor although I had requested one on a higher floor but since it was off season they did not book the entire hotel although there were ppl staying on the 6th floor (the highest). Anyway, our suite was lovely. It had 2 very comfortable double beds in one room with very comfortable pillows - which is something I find hard to find in hotels. The sitting area had a pull out bed which we did not pull out but instead slept on it as a couch. All rooms face the ocean and have 2 rocking chairs. There was a large flat screen TV in the sitting area and a regular one in the bedroom area. The suite has a small kitchen complete with microwave, refrigerator, range and full set of dishes, utensils and pots and pans along with detergent to wash dishes. Bathroom was average but could have used a fan. Bedroom is a bit on the dark side and we could not figure out how to turn off the ceiling fan. It was a very windy night and the "wooing" noise coming through the door and windows facing the ocean made it difficult for a good nights sleep. However, we did not hear it in the bedroom. The complimentary breakfast was the best I have ever experienced. I do not have the room to list all that was served but it was everything you would find on a menu in a regular restaurant. It was all very fresh and very very delicious!

Room Tip: Rooms tucked in the corner do not have a good sunrise view b/c they are blocked by part of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a very special reason to visit Cape May NJ in January. There are very few hotels available that time of year. The Marquis de Lafayette was open and readily available for my party. The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloTraveler1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here for a mini-vacation over the 2012 Holiday Season. Great location, great views, great buffet breakfast which was included in the cost of the room. The room itself was a bit dated but clean and comfortable. The elevators were a bit questionable??? As a smoker, I thought their non-smoking rules were a bit over the top...no smoking on your private balcony or anywhere outside the building, except for the parking lot. I don't mind not smoking inside my room or the public areas of the hotel...but I found it interesting that they are a "pet friendly" hotel. I'm sorry but really pets can be very dirty and annoying...a lot more than smokers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FunPlacesToCheckOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great location. However, hotel is very dated and not very clean. Bathrooms are original and fairly disgusting. Staff is delighful and very friendly. But room rates are high and we stayed off season. Would not recommend. Cape May is a cute town and there are better options.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zotise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape May hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Avondale by the Sea
Avondale by the Sea
#15 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#16 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#13 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#29 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#10 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis De Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Property: Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Address: 501 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2402
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Marquis De Lafayette Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Marquis De Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis De Lafayette Cape May
Hotel Marquis De Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing