We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed June 27, 2011

It is a nice hotel with a good pool and pool bar. The rooms are not fancy but nice and clean with all amenities we needed. The morning breakfast even though free was very disorganized and not great but otherwise we had a great stay. The location is in the middle of everything and can't be beat.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kidrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

The Marquis de Lafayette Hotel is centrally located on the beach front-can't beat this location! The Housekeeping and Maintenance departments do an impeccable maintaining the property. The complimentary buffet breakfast is usually very popular with our customers. Our thanks to this reviewer for taking the time to post their comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 408 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed at the Marquis De Lafayette Hotel from June 15 - 18, 2011 with two adults and three children (2, 4, and 7) in the Cathedral Penthouse Suites. We found the internet rates to give us a reasonable rate for such a large one bedroom suite on the sixth floor with ocean view. The suite was very clean and with two double beds in the bedroom and a queen-size sleeper in the living room. A buffet breakfast is included with your stay for each day. The restaurant staff are amazing...especially Ioan (pronounced "John'), he has amazing customer services skills, hustles to ensure you receive anything you need fast, and also helps entertain the kids while eating. He had our girls smiling and laughing everyday at breakfast. The hotel is located right across the street from the beach but has a very nice pool and outside bar area. During the summer months, there is poolside restaurant and drink service also. We went to the beach one day (which the hotel provides beach towels for) and then went to the pool for the remainder of the trip. Sitting poolside and being waited on was great. Our girls loved the pool. The location of this hotel is the best. It is located in the historic area of Cape May within walking distance to everything that matters...promenade, Washington Square, beach, restaurants, etc. We highly recommend this hotel for any family that is looking for a quality vacation. We are definitely going back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwmiii1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Thank you for your review! We appreciate the time you took to let everyone know about your stay! Remember, we have a loyalty program that will give you a 25% discount on your next stay as a repeat customer. Check our web site for more details. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

When looking for a place to stay in Cape May, be forewarned that ocean front hotels are very pricey--especially on weekends, and even before the start of the busy Summer season. We thought briefly of staying at a Bed and Breakfast to save on costs, but were worried that we might have to "Share a bathroom down the hall," or that we wouldn't have air conditioning if we needed it.

Anyway, the Marquis gives AAA members a 25 percent discount and a free full-breakfast buffet each morning, which makes the whole thing a bit more enticing. It also has a weird architectural "style" comprised of a turn-of-the -century psuedo-Victorian interior and a garish art-deco-ish.exterior. It's primarily a family establishment, with staff and guests very pleasant and friendly. The pool is clean and well-managed, althought he water was a bit overheated and I can see how the limited number of poolside lounge chairs could easily run out very quickly once the busy season begins.

Keep in mind that the Marquis is extremely well-situated. You can't get any closer to the beach and there is a hub of activity nearby in an open-air shopping district. Think gift shops, clothing stores, crafts, book stores, ice cream parlors, restaurants, artists, fudge, etc. There is also a kiosk handy for booking all side trips, trolley rides and excursions.

You may also want to know that the Marquis is well stocked with ice, soda and snack machines. The suite gives you a nice ocean view from the balcony and things are very quiet. The room is also pitch black at night which contributes to sound sleeping.

Again, the service is also very prompt if you need extra towels and shampoo, or if the remote to your ancient TV doesn't work good. Others on this site have have complained of rudeness or billing problems, but we didn't encounter any of that. My feeling is that if you are polite and reasonable and play by the rules you won't run into any difficulty.

Room Tip: Ask for the AAA discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brainman2ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Our thanks to this reviewer for their candid comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed two nights for a May wedding in town. Great location, able to walk everywhere!
It appears that every room has a balcony. Hotel has some local history!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gezette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Cape May is a great wedding town. Being in the center of town makes it convenient to get to most wedding venues.

We thank the reviewer for their post!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I vacationed here with my parents and my spouse. Front desk staff was rude and unprofessional. They refused to allow us into our hotel room despite proper ID because my father booked the room (he had given our names at the time he booked the room). My father had to leave the beach to come grant us access to the room. The wi fi wasn't working intermittently during the stay, and all the desk staff did was try to avoid this issue.
It is beachfront, but the condition of the rooms is similar to a motel with rusty stairwells leading to the upper floors.
Pets are only allowed on the ground floor, and not in the lobby of the hotel. There are no pet amenities like those I have been granted at other hotels. The Bill Mae is the most pet friendly hotel - not the Marquis de Lafayette.
People smoke on the balconies so the property smells like cigarette smoke, even if you are in a smoke free room.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SavvyTravel38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2011

Refusal to access a room usually occurs when the reserving guest is not present and anticipated guests are not indicated on the registration card. This security is necessary to ensure unauthorized persons do not enter guests’ rooms, especially when there are belongings within.

Internet access on the property has been problematic. However, we are happy to announce that effective July 1st, 2011 wireless Internet will be available throughout the hotel and accessible from guest rooms and no longer limited to a public area.

Surface rust and staining are typical in an oceanfront environments. This building is subject to various official structural, electrical and safety inspections. The Hotel would not be permitted to operate if conditions posed a danger to our guests.

Pet Friendly rooms are all outside access and on the first floor. There are 17 units with three different styles. The Hotel has accepted pet guests for close to 25 years. In an 83 unit hotel accepting pets and keeping those guests without pet comfortable can be a challenge. There are customers who are allergic to dogs and some that are simply afraid of them, so keeping pets segregated is necessary. To keep the balance we must have policies that protect everyone - even our four legged customers. Our customers appreciate that they can bring their pets on vacation and understand the need for these requirements. The policies work to keep everyone comfortable and safe. There are a handful of accommodations other that the Marquis de Lafayette Hotel that accept pets. The Billmae Cottage is one of those but is not a hotel as represented by the reviewer. Choose the property that is right for you by asking questions and understanding the policies. All our room descriptions, rates, fees and policies are available for everyone to read on our web site with a dedicated “Pet Page”. Being informed before bringing your pet will ensure a pleasant experience for you and other guests in the hotel.

Lastly, our rooms, interiors hallways, lobbies, and balconies are smoke free areas. It is not possible to continually monitor the activities of the guests. When one does decide to smoke on the balcony, we encourage our customers to advise us when this happens so can address the situation – AND THEY DO! We take appropriate action, including evicting a guest for flagrantly ignoring the policies. There are no ordinances in the City stopping people from smoking on the sidewalks and perimeter of the building. Because of this, it is just not possible to completely guarantee you will not smell cigarette smoke during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Since we have been going to the Cape May beach for years in the summer, we decided to try the Marquis de Lafayette because it is directly across from the street. Also, we wished to see the penthouse condominiums because we have been discussing purchasing a place in Cape May for retirement.
So we rented one of their most expensive rooms, a penthouse Cathedral Kings suite, and expected it to be the top of the line. To say the least, we were disappointed in the smallness of the suite. Their advertisement of outfitting the room with "all beverage ware", led me to believe that the room would have cocktail and wine glasses. I was wrong; the room had 4 coffee cups, 4 plastic juice glasses, and 4 plastic water glasses. Then when I visited the bar to ask to borrow two wine glasses so my wife and I could enjoy some wine on our balcony, I was given quite a few excuses about why I couldn't. The bartender even insinuated that I might steal them. So of course I said I didn't pay $400 a night just so I could steal a couple of wine glasses. I didn't have this problem at the Hotel Macomber, who was more than glad to allow us the use of their glasses.
The staff is instructed to tell all incoming quests that their hotel is a 100% Smoke Free Environment. But smoking IS allowed on the premises at the front door and in the outside bar area. So if there happens to be smokers at the ashcan, which is located not 5 feet from the front door, you have to pass through a cloud of smoke just to get into the hotel. Depending on which way the wind is blowing, the smoking that is allowed at the outside bar could affect the pool area, which is separated from the bar by a four foot wall, or the hotel's rooms directly adjacent to the bar on the first floor. So it is beyond me how they look you straight in the face and claim the hotel is a 100% Smoke Free Environment.
Now back to the room. If you are interested in purchasing one of these condominiums, you NEED to check out the Hotel/Condominium Association rules, which only give you fourteen (14) days use of YOUR condo between June 15 and Sept 15. Apparently, this allows the hotel to rent YOUR condo without paying you for it because if you go over the fourteen (14) days then you have to pay regular going rates to the hotel for those days. This was a deal breaker for us.

Room Tip: Do not rent one of the rooms by the outdoor bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jdw8456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My husband, son and sister-in-law stayed here just before Memorial Day weekend began. Positives of the hotel are few, one of which is proximity to the beach and the ocean view. The negatives were many and we definitely won't be going back. I almost cried when we arrived because it was such a disappointment! We will probably stay at Congress Hall or another hotel in Cape May. The existing hotel was built in the 1960's and has a definite mid-century modern feel from the outside, which is pretty neat. When you walk in, the interior is "faux-Victorian". It doesn't make sense. The dark interiors (wine colored rugs, upholstery, etc), heavy furniture, and the dusty, fake flower arrangments in common areas were depressing to say the least. The room we stayed in was a suite with the small living room facing the ocean. The bedroom was off of that and was the first room you walked into from the hall. The bedside table lighting was very dim, so the hotel came up with a really cheesy way to give you more light (which really doesn't work). They constructed a series of fake windows that are lit from behind with fluorescent bulbs, and covered with unfortunate lace curtains. It really is horrendous. The bathroom was very outdated. The sink was a free-standing type with no counter space. Every time I would put my contact lens case on it, it would fall into the sink. Above the toilet was a metal bakers rack. It was impossible to keep your things on it without them falling through the slats. It didn't look like it had been dusted in a few months. Lastly, a previous guests clothes were left behind on the back of one of the ugly Victorian chairs in the living room. Makes you wonder how thorough the cleaning staff really are.

This could be an amazing place to stay considering the location. Why not embrace the fact that the building was built in the 1960's and stop trying to compete with all the real Victorian Inns in beautiful Cape May. I recommend a renovation using mid-century modern pieces, light colors, and clean lines. I would come back it that happened.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank phillycww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
719 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
737 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#15 of 37 in Cape May
576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Shack
Beach Shack
#20 of 37 in Cape May
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis De Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Address: 501 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2402
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $151 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marquis De Lafayette Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marquis de Lafayette is a premier hotel centrally located in America's original sea side resort. Our property is directly across the street from Cape May's amazing beach and within walking distance to Cape May's famous Washington Street Mall. Breakfast is served every morning in our restaurant 501 Beach, lunch & cocktails served daily at our poolside Barefoot Bar (in season), 1 Parking permit is provided for each room reserved. We are the pet friendliest hotel in Cape May with 17 Pet Friendly rooms! Reservations including pets may only be reserved directly through the hotel (NOT ONLINE) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Marquis De Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis De Lafayette Cape May
Hotel Marquis De Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing