We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of The Cliveden Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cliveden Inn
Ranked #37 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I decided last minute to stay in Cape May this past weekend. After searching for any open B&B we came across the Cliveden Inn. Sight unseen we agreed to book a room. We were pleasantly surprised to see it's location as it is 2 or so blocks from the beach. The house was super clean and the staff & owner were very pleasant and helpful. One thing that surprised us when we arrived was that they only accepted cash, personal checks or travelers checks. Since we did this trip as a last minute deal we were caught off guard but thankfully we had the cash. Just keep this in mind if they do not tell you ahead of time. There were 2 rooms left and the staff let us look at both before choosing. We chose room #4. It was a large room but our only complaint was that the bed was as hard as sleeping on the floor. Even though I was exhausted from an active day I could not sleep on that bed. For some people that would not be an issue but for me it was. Other than the bed we didn't have any complaints. The breakfast was good and we loved eating out on the front porch. Tea was a lovely extra as well. We also borrowed the bikes and rode out to the lighthouse. It was a long ride but Cape May has some great roads for riding. Unffortunately we started our ride after breakfast and got home just before check out. I would suggested starting out earlier on a day you don't have to check out. Overall I would say it was a lovely last minute stay in Cape May.

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms but don't stay in #4 unless you like a super firm bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JokoEaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 38 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our friends invited us to join them in Cape May for the weekend, so we booked the Cliveden Inn. Location wise it is excellent - two blocks from the beach and 5-10 minute walk to Washington Street Mall. The owner and staff running the Inn are very friendly and knowledgable of the area's restaurants, activities, etc.

Our room was located on the 2nd floor. The room was good sized for a B&B and decorated in the typical Victorian B&B fashion. However the pillows and linens are very basic - need to upgrade linens quality. The mattress was very hard, so I didn't sleep too soundly. The air conditioner is in the window, but cooled the room quite well. The TV is small and old - seriously needs to upgrade to a flatscreen. However they do provide a mini fridge in the room - big plus!

The in-suite bathroom is tiny (expected) but basic, with no toiletries provided - make sure to bring your own. The towels are basic - need to upgrade quality. Also be sure to bring your own hair dryer, as none is provided.

The hot breakfast provided wasn't fancy, but good - a baked egg dish. They also provided watermelon and cake. Coffee was automatic drip style. The orange juice was not fresh squeezed. Breakfast is served in the parlor, but you have to eat it on the porch - which was perfectly fine.

In the afternoons, the Cliveden Inn has a "tea time" in which crackers, cheese, and cookies are served with pitcher of instant iced tea.

They also provide bikes, but never had a need to use them. Parking is at a nearby sister B&B, but we parked on the street (which I recommend if you can get a close-by space). Check in is at 2:30 pm and checkout is at 11am, so plan accordingly.

All in all it is a good place to stay while in Cape May and I would have no problem coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PD2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just finished our 3 days at the Cliveden Inn and I have to say it was wonderful. The Cliveden Inn is so centrally located that you park the car and dont have to drive until you leave. It is a short walk to the beach, mall and all dining! Sue and her staff make the Cliveden Inn one of the best places to stay in Cape May. The Inn serves breakfast and 4PM Tea and is dog friendly. You can just sit in the front porch and watch the horses and buggies go by. The rooms and the cottage are always clean and tastefully decorated. It was our anniversary and we walked in to a bottle of champagne waiting in the room and well wishes. It was thoughtful and a nice way to begin our stay. I would definitely go back, as a matter of fact I don't think we would stay anywhere else! Thanks Sue and your staff!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage last year and in Room # 3 on the second floor this year. I would recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at the Cliveden Inn for three nights in April and enjoyed the experience so much that we'll book our return visit for an entire week. The main reason for choosing the Cliveden was that it is dog friendly. We stayed in the Cliveden's cottage for more room, privacy, and dog isolation. For us the cottage is perfect; it only has one bathroom, but has two bedrooms and a fully equipped kitchen with small oven and refrigerator. There's no dishwasher so it's lucky I had my own.
The televisions are not state of the art, but we don't go to Cape May to watch television. The wi-fi worked flawlessly for my laptop and my wife's KIndle Fire.

A few others have complained about the hospitality, but Helen and Peg couldn't have been more friendly or accomodating. Helen allowed us to take a tour of the main building and see all the rooms for ourselves. The rooms vary in size but are quaintly furnished and aesthetically pleasing. Since the rooms differ, be sure to ask any and all questions before booking.

We were also very pleased with the lighting of our unit. On trips we always bring lightbulbs to replace the 20 or 40 watters found in most places. At the Cliveden with its generous lighting, our light bulbs stayed in the car.

The location of the Cliveden is absolutely perfect. As a reference point, it's very close to the Chalfonte. We parked our car upon arrival and didn't move it at all during our entire stay. Shopping and the beaches are both within comfortable walking distance. On our last day we took a leisurely walk to Uncle Bill's, our must destination each trip. If staying during peak season, parking is at a premium so it might be a good idea to find a good parking spot on the street and stay there. The Cliveden also offers parking in a lot at its Hebenthal location.

If one doesn't have unreasonable expectations, he/she should enjoy the Cliveden Inn. One can't expect the same amenities in a circa 1800's building as in a modern facility. The age and the Victorian decoration add to the charm of the Cliveden.

If you decide to stay here, say Spudman sent you.

Room Tip: Ask questions first. A few rooms accept dogs. The rooms are equipped with small refrigerators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spudman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We were in Cape May on the off season, so many of the B&B's were closed. We just started walking down Columbia street and came to the Cliveden Inn. After ringing to door bell we met the most lovely women, Helen, who invited us in and made us feel welcome.
Our room was comfortable as was the bed, we slept like logs.
Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Fresh muffins, sweet breads, fruit bowl , juice and a cheese and zucchini quiche was served one of the mornings we stayed. It is not served until 9:00AM however, so be prepared to take an early walk or sleep in a bit longer. After stuffing ourselves with Peggy's delicious breakfast we skipped lunch, but were hungry just in time for tea and cookies in the afternoon. We enjoyed tea on the sunny front porch.
Shopping, beaches and restaurants are all within walking distance.
This is a wonderful bed and breakfast to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vermontsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Although we've been to Cape May many times over the years, this is the first time we traveled with our dog. The Cliveden offers a couple of rooms on the first floor that have plenty of floor space to park a dog crate, and Helen and Peggy were both fantastic about meeting our dog, even though we would have kept him in our room, otherwise.

We had to go into the kitchen to get breakfast, but it was fine.

The cliveden was fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms A and B are dog-friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussWayNorthofPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband & I frequent B&Bs often....well, a little less now that we have a child & one on the way! But this quaint home is just the perfect solution to beat the hustle & bustle of the city/suburbia. Centrally located, its a few blocks away from the beach & the shopping area of Cape May. Hands down, this is one of the best values in all of Cape May & the surrounding area with the rooms very reasonably priced, even during the on-season. We stayed in Room A on the 1st floor...a nice sized room, filled with antiques & the biggest bonus was that they allowed our 4 legged kids as well! And let me tell you, for a B&B that paw-friendly, (I believe 1st floor only) it was beyond clean...not even a spec of dust on the antique headboard! Bed was very comfy, and the house has a lovely wrap around porch in which breakfast is served...wide variety of fresh breakfast foods & if they run out for whatever reason, they are happy to make you something to order...the guests start every day with a full tummy. Then they offer tea and a variety of homemade breads daily at 4PM to boot! And of all the B&B's we've been too (almost 30), the staff is the most engaing I've ever encountered. The owner, Sue, was the perfect hostess, made everyone feel warm & welcome. Here's to hoping we'll be back before the next little one is due...thanks again Sue & the Cliveden Inn staff!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OperaLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel
0.9 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#20 of 37 in Cape May
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliveden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliveden Inn

Address: 709 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2307
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing