We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dormer House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dormer House
Ranked #17 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South River
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charming place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Did a weekend here and enjoyed the place, its older, but charming! The home is filled with antiques. The room was large and had its own bathroom, the breakfast was ample. Its close to the mall and several good restaurants! The ocean and boardwalk is just a couple blocks away. I would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    49
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
127
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I first saw the Dormer House on a Christmas trolley tour and have since passed it many times. I've always wanted to stay here, but could never afford it. I couldn't pass up the great discount they posted online. My family has been coming to Cape May for 20 years and we rarely stay. This was our 3rd place for overnight and favorite so far. I first delt with Nicole over the phone to book the special. If the discount is running, it's very hard to get through due to the phone constantly being busy. Not only were we were able to use discount for Valentines/Presidents Day weekend......but were also able to get a suite for $10 extra a night! The rooms are very clean, bed bug free (I do my own investigating), and spacious. No king sized beds which I prefer, but queen sized was ok. We were able to check in early at 1:30 and met the owner, Dennis. Then, around 6:00 I got a voicemail from Nicole about checking in and then she tried to key into our room, not knowing we were already there. I think there was a miscommunication amongst the staff. When the staff leaves at 6:00 pm, you are on your own, especially with keying in and out of the house. There is a camera in the lobby, but security made me feel a little leary. We stayed in one of the suites on the second floor which are both large and cozy. The bathroom did not have a lot of counter or shelf space for toiletries. I highly recommend the suite with the 2 person jacuzzi! It takes 45 minutes to fill, but worth it. Every guest gets one large towel and a washcloth. If you need extra, the staff is very attentive to getting you what you need. The beds are soft and comfortable. The heat is challenging due to the size of the the house. We discovered to crank up the thermostat as high as it will go in order for the temperature in the room to reach 70 degrees. An additional heater is provided in the room for extra warmth. As with all B & B's, the walls are thin. You can't control who stays next to you, just hope they're considerate of staying in a house as opposed to a hotel. Breakfast and afternoon tea were fantastic. You can smell everything being baked/cooking wafting throughout the house. Tea and coffee are always available in the palor 24 hrs. There are 9 tables for 12 rooms. Each table seats 2 and they turn over quickly if you need to wait. We were once again greeted by Dennis during breakfast one morning. The food is great and the location is within walking distance of everything. This B & B is also ghost free. I've been researching places to stay in Cape May for many years, especially while on house tours throughout the year. I chose the Dormer House for the discount, 2 person jacuzzi, location, and the great side porch for breakfast with many tables (as opposed to one large table in a dining room like other B & B's).

Room Tip: first floor rooms are right in the middle of everything. Choose 2nd or 3rd floor. Two suites on 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marriottloverNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Dormer is a great old Victorian home of Cape May. The place is very welcoming and relaxing. We had booked an early Valentine's Day getaway and it was truly a great time! We were also able to upgrade to a suite for just $20 more! It was also a 3 block walk to the Washington Street Mall. It was a shame that most of the stores were not open, but that is expected in shore towns during the winter. We had a very delicious breakfast the next day before our departure. We will certainly be looking to head back to the Dormer because of the great hospitality and delicious breakfast!

Room Tip: The George Jacoby suite was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bakedapple, Owner at The Dormer House, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks! We are glad you had a Valentine's Day you will never forget...at The Dormer House! The Commodore John Jacoby Suite is wonderful and definitely with the extra $10 a night! The jacuzzi in there IS something else! We hope to see you again real soon!

Dennis and Lucille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton,NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have a couple of places we love to stay in Cape May, but this is our favorite bed & breakfast. Nicole and Steve run the inn, although they are not the owners, they take care of it like they are. Steve cooks and Nicole serves breakfast, and they both keep the inn clean, and keep the guests comfortable. Nicole`s joke of the day is always a real treat! We feel like family when we go there, and love the accommodations. All of the rooms are unique and comfortable. The breakfasts are fabulous and they offer a delightful afternoon tea. Love it there!!

Room Tip: I prefer the Mary Franklin because it is a 2 room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlvr302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were fortunate to stay in Cape May two weeks before hurricane Sandy did so much damage to the Jersey shore.
The Dormer House B&B is a beautiful and authentic Victorian home built in the days when the wealthy would Summer at the shore.
Dennis, our host & innkeeper, gave us a warm welcome and made us feel right at home.
The house features wonderful wraparound porches. The front and one side of the house has casual seating and a porch swing.
The gem of the house is the enclosed porch that serves as the breakfast area with full width windows looking onto the avenue.
The breakfasts were freshly cooked and offered a reasonable variety to suit different tastes.
We found the first floor parlor filled with antiques and curiosities, while the guest rooms were comfortably furnished in period style.
The house is conveniently located for a short drive or walk to the beach, to the town square shops and lots of local restaurants and cafes.
The Dormer House is a fine place to stay and enjoy a quiet getaway at the Cape.

Room Tip: The second floor Diana room and one other offer a private entrance just off the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suntourhank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

It is a comfortable,spacious and charming bed and breakfast. The location is really terrific and we walked everywhere. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful.
The breakfasts were delicious,we were there for 2 days. Everything was homemade and not ordinary. The biscuits on Saturday morning were as good as the legendary biscuits at the Loveless Motel in Nashville Tennessee.
Our room on the third floor was comfortable and relaxing. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Staff is available, helpful and polite--especially Nicole. A perfect location two blocks from the beach allowing for quiet and peace of mind. The rooms are antiquated, kept up and comfortable. Prices are reasonable and fair. A good deal. They participate in group-on at certain times making it a steal. The baked goods and breakfasts were tasty and well portioned. I've become a regular due to the accommodations.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biopsychosocialguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#6 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dormer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dormer House

Property: The Dormer House
Address: 800 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2310
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Dormer House Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing