We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Escape”
Review of The Dormer House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dormer House
Ranked #20 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Escape”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

The Dormer House was such a charming B&B. Once we got there and settled in , I couldn't help myself, I relaxed immediatly! We went into the parlor to the wonderful "coffee and tea station" (coffee, tea, and bottled spring water available at all times) made ourselves individual cups of delicious brewed coffee, got our books and sat in rocking chairs on the beautiful wrap-around porch. We stayed out there for hours, it was great. From the minute we walked in the door to the wonderful smell of baking cookies, to the minute we walked out we couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more. The food, the owners Lucille and Dennis and staff, the beautiful rooms,, free off-street parking ( a blessing in Cape May) we just loved every second. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different which afford them their own personal charm. We particulaly liked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    50
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
16
130
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at B&B's in Cape May for years on our Anniversary and this one did not disappoint. What a lovely place! The owners, Dennis and Lucille were wonderful. They are extremely knowledgable of all the restaurants and events in Cape May and gave us wonderful recommendations. The Breakfast, coffee, and snacks at tea time were all terrific. This place had a warm and friendly atmosphere and a helpful and attentive staff. The rooms were clean and we could not have had a better time anywhere else. We loved it and we will certainly be back. The rates were great, the food excellent,it was immaculately clean, with a warm and friendly atmosphere and people. What more can you ask for? Thank you for a wonderful stay Dormer House!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were lovely but our favorites were The Smith Cottage and The Dormer Suite. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

But I just didn't. I only stay at Bed and Breakfast places when I travel and Cape May has the mother load of options. We travel here at least twice a year because we love the area. We chose the Dormer House this year due to a fantastic deal offered on Groupons and it was certainly was a great value just not so sure I would return.

So let's start with all the great things about the Dormer House:
The owners a simply wonderful folks: kind, friendly, knowledgeable, social and accommodating. The afternoon snacks are really good plus tea and coffee is available during your entire stay.They are in a great location for getting around the town on foot. They have FREE PARKING. Our bed was super comfy and the TV was Big with lots of channels.

But even with all of these great amenities there was just a few things that are concerning about the Dromer House. It is a very old and large home where the rooms have been converted to include a bathroom which is what every bed and breakfast does. But the use of space was a bit eclectic making for an awkward use of space. We had a lovely Jacuzzi in our room with an interesting wardrobe enclosing the tub. But the Jacuzzi was not fully cleaned when we first checked in nor was it cleaned during our two day stay. The décor had an antique feel to it but every single piece of decoration had about an inch of dust on it an every thing was broken. And I mean EVERYTING. We are talking about the vases, lampshades, fireplace mantel all the way down to the inside panel of the shower and Jacuzzi knobs.

The Domer House has a lot to offer a traveler who is on a tight budget but, it is too big of a compromise to sacrifice cleanness over value for this traveler.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi room in on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BandBFan4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Heights
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Dormer House for 2 nights (May 2nd & May 3rd) on a "Getaway" special run by the B & B. Through our own fault, when booking our room, I picked the "Diana" room after looking at a picture online. This room is located at the rear of the facility and one must climb 20 stairs to get to the room (steep incline). The room was pleasant enough and relatively clean. Windows and sills were dirty. Only one window had a screen and there was a space heater in the room. I wondered how people got cool in the summer heat as there was no air conditioning. Although WiFi is advertised, my room didn't receive the signal and this was a disappointment. Breakfast was served daily between 8:30am & 9:30am, and everyone is served the same food. Day 1 was French Toast, and Day 2 was Eggs Benedict. One thing worth mentioning is that the coffee was excellent. You must serve yourself your coffee and orange juice. Afternoon tea was served between 3:30pm & 4:30pm daily. This was a pleasant experience that we enjoyed. I find that the reviews of this B&B are very generous in their praise. Overall, I enjoyed the visit to Cape May but I can only rate this B&B a mediocre grade.

Room Tip: Be careful when choosing your room. When booking, ask questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weezie6411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We have stayed here several times. We always have great time. Dennis and Lucille are such lovely people. The rooms are immaculate, well appointed and give you the feeling of the victorian age. We have spent many late afternoons relaxing on the front porch with a glass of ice tea and a good book. The Inn is walking distance from everything and has off street parking so there is no need to use your car. I would definitely refer friends to this charming Inn.

Room Tip: Although the first floor room has a beautiful hot tub and is very large. I would avoid it because i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The Dormer House is situated right in the middle of the town of Cape May, right in the historical district. Upon first glance, you notice the large porch that wraps around the front and side of the house (the side of the house is glassed in and is where breakfast is served each morning). When we checked in, it was right in the middle of "afternoon tea", so our check-in process was expedited so we could partake in the tea! Tea was lovely, with various selections of teas and several freshly baked pastries to nibble on. We had one of the rooms in the attic loft area, and it was large with a in-suite bathroom that was situated in a room away from the main bedroom. The bed was extremely comfortable, definitely one of the most comfortable beds we have slept on away from home. The bathroom consisted of a toilet and a stand-up shower, but since my wife and I had no need for any baths, that wasn't a problem for us. There are a LOT of rooms in this establishment arranged throughout the 3 floors. I guess one of the policies is that the veranda and patio area is only open until 9pm every night (to be respectful of the 1st floor guest), which puts a damper on any thoughts of hanging out with some drinks/snacks/wine in the common areas after 9pm. Breakfasts were well done, with freshly made pancakes, juice/coffee, and cereals. To be honest, we stayed here because we took advantage of a livingsocial deal, and we considered it worth every penny! We would probably stay here again unless we planned on hanging out downstairs with friends, in which case the 9pm policy might cause us to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wubar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We spent one night at the Dormer House and we loved it! The Inkeepers are very friendly and the house is really nice and comfortable. The breakfast room is very bright and cheerful with the yellow tablecloths. We had an afternoon tea with goods baked by Lucille. The parlor is decorated with lovely antiques and there is always music playing in the background and the fireplace is always on. The bedroom was comfortable and well appointed and everything was very clean. The only minus is that the pullout bed where our daughter slept was not comfortable. You can hear the guests walking upstairs and some conversation next room.
However, you must adjust your expectations when you are in an older house. These houses where not built with the same resources of the 20th century and you can't expect the same as
being in a five star resort. There is ample parking and the house is well located. All in all, we
definitely would go back to the Dormer House.

Room Tip: I would not stay in a first floor room because they might be less quiet. We went there in February...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spdaroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 39 in Cape May
290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 39 in Cape May
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.2 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Queen Victoria
The Queen Victoria
#4 of 39 in Cape May
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dormer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dormer House

Property: The Dormer House
Address: 800 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2310
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Dormer House Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing