We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time once again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great time once again”
Reviewed December 8, 2010

We had another great experience at the Carroll Villa. The bar is fun, the restaurant has great food and friendly service. This time I stayed in room 9. A nice sized room that was recently redone. It's a great space and very comfortable. The staff is always friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingleTraveler1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    355
    85
    39
    23
See reviews for
153
807
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Spent two cold blustery nights at the delightful Carroll Villa in early December and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. A perfectly charming setting to enjoy our special weekend, the Carroll is very conveniently located to the beach and the shopping areas (although many were closed for the season). The staff was friendly and attentive and the rooms well appointed although the shower stall is small. We had two very good dinners next door at the Mad Batter, and although we had planned to find another good restaurant for the second special evening…decided to go with what works and went back for that last night. Glad we did too! My wife and I have decided the time to visit Cape May is in early December and the place to stay is the Carroll Villa. Thanks Kathi and the good folks who made our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memjfm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Recently spent a wonderful weekend at the Carroll Villa in Cape May. This charming hotel is within walking distance to all the sites, and the delicious breakfasts and dinner were highlights of our Christmas kick-off weekend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Because business was slow we were upgraded to a lovely room on the second floor with a view of the ocean. We were able to climb up the cupola for an even better view. The location of the hotel was wonderful--just a few steps up the road to the main street for shopping and restaurants. Parking was no problem. Our breakfast at the Mad Batter Restaurant was fabulous with great service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaidMarrian48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila PA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Everything was very nice, the location is superb! parking can be tricky but it's free! the breakfast is really nice, we were full for the whole day. the room we got was nice and clean. The only thing is that beds are old too. But I guess it's part of the deal.
People are also very nice to deal with.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-77-Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Olive, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

We thought we would stay only in room #6. Now after staying in room #9 we have two first choices.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbrown49375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Wow what a great charmer! This well managed and maintained Victorian inn put us in the center of Cape May’s quaint charm and beauty. Our room was located in the annex portion of the inn and was a beautiful room with old world charm yet modern comforts. It is not often you have the opportunity to meet the owner; or for that matter the manager of a hotel yet at this B&B I had the pleasure of meeting the proprietor Mark Kulkowitz. He is a man of charm and character and seems to have a finger on the pulse of his guest’s needs and the happenings of Cape May. My wife and I enjoyed our weekend and every aspect of the bed and breakfast experience and would recommend anyone visiting Cape May to stay at the Carol Villa B&B

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landscapeexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing