We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great Food, Great Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This was my 5th time at the Carroll Villa. It has improved with every stay. The rooms are
clean, nicely furnished. The flat screen TV's, and the small refrigerator (Both New) were
nice. The staff as always, were great, and the restaurant is THE BEST in Cape May period. With the unbelieveable breakfast(included) and discounts on dinner and drinks,
makes this an excellent value, a really, really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsw_nn09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,057 - 1,063 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2010

Our stay at the Carroll Villa Hotel was very enjoyable. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Our meals at the Mad Batter were delicious. We would be glad to visit again on our next visit to Cape May.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDELandenberg_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Can't say enough about how perfect our stay at the Carroll was! From the beginning, online and on the phone, the staff at the Carroll Villa was nothing but friendly and helpful, and that continued through our three night stay last week. They were concerned about me requesting one of the smallest rooms (#11) as we have a newborn - but the room turned out to be huge (compared to our first NYC apartments!). Private bathroom and a closet provided plently of room for our stuff. The vouchers for the Mad Batter are awesome - we stuffed ourselves every morning. The daughter of one of the staff babysat our newborn when we went out for a night, and it worked out great. Location - perfect. Staff - perfect. Amenities - like vouchers, parking, extra towels, wireless internet... everything was perfect. Thanks so much CarollVilla staff for making our first family vacation a complete success!

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
Thank CapnJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

I love B&Bs so I was excited to find one that allowed a 3 year old. Location is absolutely perfect - a block to the beach and a block or two to the Washington Street Mall. Stayed in room 31 for 4 nights then switched to room 28 for one night (couldn't leave so we decided to stay an extra night but had to go to another room). Loved room 28! Food at Mad Batter is excellent! We got a $30 voucher each day to use between 8am and 3pm - awesome deal. Staff and service was excellent too. By the end of the week we felt like part of the Carroll Villa/Mad Batter family. I couldn't have asked for a better beach vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbugs_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I really enjoyed the Mad Batter. The meal and service was out of this world. The hotel was nice enough, the owners were sweet and went the extra mile which means a lot.
However the room was kind of drab and not worth the money. It needs a update and a new bed for sure! All that being said I would return, I loved how thoughtful the owners were
And the location is great.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon6026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Loved Carol Villa. Very accommodating, child friendly, and located a hop, step and a jump from the beach, restaurants, some light souvenir shopping, and a mini golf course! Friendly staff, breakfast is included at a fantastic restaurant downstairs. Parking is included at a parking lot a ways away, but we were able to find metered parking on the street in front - about 25 cents per hour or something similar. It's pricey, but most good places in Cape May are. Cape May in general is a wonderful getaway, only 2.5-3.0 hours from NYC, with some great restaurants and a long boardwalk for biking and walking. Highly recommend this as a spot to getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KXB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Location, comfort, ease, fine food, good people. There's nothing spectacular about Carroll Villa but it's all good. The street is probably the most picturesque in Cape May, and Carroll Villa is easy walking distance to everything. The Mad Batter breakfast is excellent, though we tried other restaurants for other meals, just to have a broader experience. Bed was comfy, room not huge but ample and interestingly decorated, shower a bit weak but who cares? Definitely will return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob46637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
565 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#10 of 37 in Cape May
728 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $123 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing