We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Victorian Weekend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manahawkin. NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Victorian Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2007

Cape May, N.J.--Carroll Villa B & B
March 3, 2007
S. Markert, Manahawkin, N.J.
We previously stayed at a few B & B's in Cape May.
This was our first stay at Carroll Villa.
The ambience of the accommodations was just lovely and VERY clean. We felt very welcome. Entire staff made us feel as if they were happy to have us as their weekend guests. The $30. voucher for two at The Mad Batter was more than sufficient for a hearty breakfast. Location a half block from the beach and block and a half from the Victorian shopping area was a plus. This B & B is far superior to our previous stays in Cape May and we will definitely return.

Stayed March 2007
1 Thank slake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, NJ
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2007

We checked 6-8 B&B inns in Cape May, NJ, and the Carroll Villa was the only one that accepted young children. It's prices were a bargain compared to others -- and it was only half a block to the beach. The location couldn't be better. The street is delightful with beautiful Victorian homes. You're a short walk to great shops and charming restaurants. The room was a good size and comfortable, though the foam pillows were my only (minor) complaint). There was some confusion over whether our breakfast was included the first morning and we just paid for it because the owner was out of town -- but he called in an hour later and immediately cleared the confusion. We were promptly and graciously credited for the breakfast charge. The staff were gracious and helpful and we would certainly go back -- with or without our kids!


Stayed February 2007
Thank jfheene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, De
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2007

We just returned from our weekend stay in Cape May. We visit often just to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We arrived on a freezing Friday night. We ate dinner at the Mad Batter. The food is gourmet and the choices are an ecclectic assortment of delicacy. We didn't need to leave the hotel, just walked up the steps to our beautiful victorian room. On Saturday morning, I choose the victorian breakfast. It is an assortment of fresh fruits, breads and cheeses. We spent a lovely day in wondering around and arrived back to the hotel in time for happy hour! This hotel truly thinks of everything!

We had our reception at the Mad Batter in 2001. Since then, we have returned many times as do some of our guest from our reception!

The service is excellent. The food is the best at the Jersey shore and the prices were reasonable!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kitty0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2007

What a wonderful winter getaway! Our room was beautiful, the service was tops with friendly, gracious people. We felt like we've known them for years even though it was our first trip to their Inn. The food was wonderful -- gourmet enough to feel extra special, yet normal enough to know what we were eating! It was prepared exactly as ordered and the presentation was really nice -- not to mention the taste -- awesome! We're looking forward to our next trip down and wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else!
Mary & David

Stayed January 2007
Thank dtchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#12 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#17 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#2 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing