We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but great value considering location, service and food that's to die for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philly Burbs
1 review
“Pricey, but great value considering location, service and food that's to die for!”
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We went the last week of September. Great time to visit. Hotel was clean, staff was friendly and helpful as we had some special requests. Seriously, I don't know when I had such incredible meals. With free breakfasts and 30% off our dinners included with our room we were very happy. I really suggest if you stay there, you should eat there. Have breakfast before 9am as by 10 the waiting line stretches down the street.

Everything you'd want to do or see is walkable from here. Beach is across the street. We even walked the beach up to the Cape May lighthouse and took Sunset drive back to see historic houses and other great sights....about 5 miles round trip.

I would go again and highly recommend it for a romantic weekend getaway.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corp122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2009
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken the time to let others know. We do try our best to accommodate special requests wenever possible, be it in the hotel or the restaurant. Please check our website regularly for hotel specials and return soon. We are open year round and Cape May has a special charm for every season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    363
    86
    39
    24
See reviews for
159
824
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
home
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2009

This is an old hotel on historical Jackson Street in Cape May, NJ. The hotel offers a comfortable room with modern amenities. (AC, flat scree tv and in room frig) The price of the room is reasonable by Cape May standards. You receive a full breakfast/lunch with your stay at the award winning Mad Batter restaurant which is within the hotel. The breakfast/lunch value and quality is excellent. You can also receive a 30% discount on your dinner if you dine at the restaurant in the evening. The owners are down to earth and often chat with the guest. The service is excellent and user friendly. We have recommended the hotel to others and they have enjoyed their stay. Great place!!! Great value!!! We have stayed at the hotel for the past 13 years and plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bc102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2009
We appreciate your taking the time to post your review and are ecstatic that you continue to return to the Carroll Villa Hotel and the Mad Batter Restaurant. We strive to give our guests the highest quality stay for the most reasonable cost. We hope you wil check our website for hotel specials and look forward to your return visit in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Three couples for 33rd, 35th and 37th Anniversary Retreat

The good - Pam and her staff were very accommodating, lovely rooms, Mad Batter Restaurant food was excellent for both breakfast and dinner. The servers were wonderful! Hotel in a great location - a block from the beach and 2 blocks from the promenade! For the most part, we felt like home...We loved the fact that the bedding wasn't hotel white. Nice touch. The eclectic decor is fun and yet in keeping with the victorian vibe. We loved the back dining room and the sitting room. The cupola has a marvelous view...

The bad - lighting in bathrooms (altho most B&B have that problem) - no bathtubs and a bit of a moldy bathroom smell. No outside seating except for the restaurant. It needs a beautiful porch on the second floor - with rockers - just like the neighbors.

All in all we would recommend this place for anyone who wants to come and enjoy beautiful, historic Cape May.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased that your overall experience, both in the hotel and the restaurant, was pleasurable. I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the decor to Pam, who is responsible for your enjoyment of it. We will also share your kind remarks with our servers in the restaurant. We are blessed to have a staff that is consistent in ther level of service and that we consider to be part of our extended family.

As to the lighting in the bathrooms and the slightly moldy bathroom smell, we are looking into what can be done to improve this. Unfortunately, in a building as old as ours, occasionally this happens but we are addressing it in an effort to make our guests more comfortable during their stay.

For future reference, Room 21 and Room 31 do have bathtubs. Feel free to ask if these rooms are available for your next visit. We will do our best to accommodate you.

We will also consider adding to our "wish list" the possibility of a second floor porch for our guests to sit on and enjoy. At this time, we are continuing to focus on our efforts to "green" our hotel and restaurant, thereby reducing our carbon footprint.

We look forward to your return. Please remember to check our website regularly for specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

I had a hard time figuring out if this was more of a B&B or a hotel. It seemed like it was in the middle somewhere. The rooms are smallish but nice enough, decorated like you would see in victorian times. However, unlike a B&B, there are none of those "small touches" that make you really feel like you're being catered to, such as chocolates in your room or freshly baked cookies. But again, this is not a B&B (though they advertised fresh brewed coffee in the mornings... it must have been gone by the time we woke up because I never saw it). The front desk staff seemed friendly enough and knowledgeable. We had an issue with the air conditioning on our first night, and it was promptly fixed the next morning. The cleaning staff seem to do an OK job (although our bathroom was really tiny and I didn't feel like we got enough towels). The shower water alternated between very hot and very cold, but not much in between, and the pressure was not good, only adequate. Soap was limited. It looked like there were two closets in the room but only one opened (the other was blocked by a refridgerator). We stayed in Room #1. I would suggest not staying there unless you a) don't mind being woken up by the cleaning staff, whose storage closet was next to our room and b) don't mind being woken up to delivery trucks and delivery men going back and forth to the Mad Batter with supplies. Both of these things happened before 9 a.m. on Saturday and Sunday.
Since we were not at a B&B, I guess I shouldn't have expected a fresh baked breakfast in a communal dining room or anything, but I do think although they have a wonderful restaurant to eat at free for breakfast (The Mad Battter), guests who are paying to stay at the Carroll Villa should get first dibs at seating. We had to wait like everyone else, and the lines are long. Lastly, although this seems to be the way it is at almost all the B&Bs in town, parking is an issue. We had to park several blocks away and walk back to the hotel. Once you check out, you can leave your belongings in the dining room, but we didn't want to do that, and so we loaded the car, but having nowhere to park, we decided to leave early and go home after our stay was up. The Carroll Villa is a decent place to stay, but if you're looking for those special touches, I'm afraid this is not the place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spaingirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2009
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and wish you had spoken to us while you were here so that we could try to make you more comfortable. We strive to be responsive to the needs of our guests as much as possible. As we have never had a complaint of this nature before, we will certainly look into the issue of noise from the housekeepers and delivery people. With regard to waiting for a table at the restaurant, in the past, we served guests from 8 a.m. to 10 a.m. but in response to their requests to "sleep in", that was changed to allow them to eat anytime between 8 a.m. and 3 p.m. Certainly, we try to keep wait time down to a minimum but feel it is fairest to seat people in the order in which they arrive. As you so aptly stated, parking is an issue in Cape May. We have found that most of our guests do not mind the 5 to 7 minute walk back to the hotel after they unload their vehicles and park. As a matter of fact, many of them welcome it as it gives them a chance to stretch after their trip and puts them in the "Cape May mood" since the city is best seen on foot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

One of few B&Bs (small hotels) in Cape May that has rooms large enough for a family with young children. Room had pullout day bed. Ideal location: 1/2 block to beach, 1/2 block to walking mall and restaurants. Mad Batter restaurant has delicious food, though sometimes had to wait for a table to become available. Front desk manager was extremely helpful and knowlegable about the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NyLongislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2009
We are pleased that you discovered our family friendly hotel . Regrettably, sometimes there is a wait for a table in the restaurant but we do our best to make that as short as possible. We hope you and your family will visit us again soon. Be sure to check our website for specials periodically.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2009

I too am a little surprised by the overwhelming positivity in the reviews. Although it is called the "Carroll Villa Hotel," it is a B&B, make no doubt. I am not a B&B lover, and this is the only time I visited Cape May, so take some of my comments with this in mind:

The Good: The receptionst was extremely nice and friendly, I felt very welcome. The location is excellent -- very close to tons of things in walking distance -- restaurants, stores, bars, beach, etc.

The Bad: This place is -really- old. My room smelled SO musty and old. Cape May is a very old town, with very old buildings, so perhaps this is unavoidable, I don't know. I had a tiny little 13" TV in my room. My hot water did not work. Maybe it takes a very long time to heat up, or maybe I tried to use it at prime time, but I waited a good 15 minutes for it to warm up, and it never got warmer than lukewarm. This is quite suboptimal. And, I am not someone who takes really hot showers, by the way. One very big negative is that you have to park in a municipal lot, which is a 10 minute walk away. You can park on the street next to the entrance for 15 minutes to check in, check out, pick up family, etc. If it is -really- hot, raining, really late at night, etc, this can be a disaster. If you plan to use your car a lot, this would be very difficult.

Few more general comments. There are no luxury hotels, or even chain hotels in Cape May, which is what I prefer and am accustomed to. Slim pickings. The 'nicest' hotels, based on price, appears to be the Marquis and Congress hall. Friends who stayed there mentioned both places were very old, and not very nice, especially considering their price. So, maybe the standards are different in Cape May, given its historic nature. My comments are based on comparison to standard hotels in this day and age.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeter2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2009
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you pointed out, there are no luxury hotels or chains in Cape May. That is part of our charm. Many of our guests return year and year and thoroughly enjoy their time here. Bed and Breakfast stays typically seem to be an "either you love it or you don't" experience. It is not everyone's cup of tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We have stayed ay the B&B several times and have never been disappointed. The rooms are clean and bright, the staff accomodating and friendly. The HAPPY HOUR is a great time to relax and the patrons are friendly (mostly locals ?). The food is very, very good and everyone has heard about the breakfast. A can't miss in CM.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
We are delighted that you have returned to the Carroll Villa once again. We find that many of our guests do so and consider that a great compliment. We have found that Happy Hour is popular both with our guests as well as the locals and the ambience in the bar seems to forge an atmosphere of friendliness overall. We look forward to your next visit with us. Don't forget to check our website regularly for hotel specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#8 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing