We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in a very lovely community by the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 17, 2009

.A very comfortable clean Bed and Breakfast with very generous breakfast included and a generous discount for dinner at Mad Batter Restaurant on ground floor. A great bargain. Very nearby free parking included. Very clean well kept beach half block away. Cape May Light House, bird watching and Sunset Beach all nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derbein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,148 - 1,154 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2009

This was a wonderful, relaxing experience. We have vacationed in Cape May over the past 30 years but this is the first time we have stayed at the Carrol Villa Hotel. We booked the first floor room in the annex with the little, private front porch. What a delight! We had our morning coffee, afternoon and evening breaks on the porch and enjoyed chatting with all the visitors passing by. We met a lot of delightful people and felt like we were part of the 'social scene'. Yes, we would definately recommend this spot for anyone wanting great service, great food and a comfortable, friendly environment to take a little rest!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmahaNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Always looking for a new place to explore for our anniversary. This was 21 years & we've never been to Cape May. The drive down from upstate NY took 5 hours & was super easy, we noticed traffic in the other direction though & should have been forwarned! Took 8 hours to return-note: look for other route than Garden State north, at least we had a book on CD to keep us amused. After unloading the car at the Carroll Villa hotel (B&B) had to park in lot 10 minute walk away, but never really needed our car except to go to Diamond beach & really shouldn't have wasted our time. The room was charming, and the staff was very helpful & friendly. The hotel is right in the center of the village, 30 second walk to the beach - great location. Happy hour with fun martini's & the restaurant out back in the garden dining area are great, we had breakfast there each morning ($30 certificate included for breakfast for each night you stay). Also had dinner there one night (30% off for hotel guests), and the other night went to dinner at 410 Bank St. (Loved it!!) 410 Bank St. is bring your own bottle or they can sell you a bottle from the local winery, but no bar. Food & presentation were amazing, we took pictures of our dinner. One day we walked through the charming shops, and the next day we walked all day - 10 miles along the beach. We walked to the lighthouse & climbed it, and hit all the nature walks along the way (paths on boardwalks through marshes). You have to buy a beach tag $5/day each person (cheaper if longer stay) to walk on the beach, but pays to keep the beaches clean & protected. You can buy them from the people that sit at the entrance to any pier. It was very relaxing & fun, and I can't say enough about the nice people at the hotel. On the way out we had lunch at the Lobster House (where you first enter Cape May - at the boat docks) you can get fresh fried seafood or around back to the raw bar for steamers & crab. Fun. Also stopped at Wildwood (10 minutes away) just to see it. We walked for a bit on the boardwalk - totally a teenage wonderland! 2 mile boardwalk behind all the buildings with arcade games, food, t-shirt shops, amusment park rides & free beach in the middle. If we had the kids, maybe would have spent a day there.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmcscoobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

This was a perfect get-away following my daughter's college graduation. We just needed some time to unwind. The weather didn't cooperate, but the accommodations could not have been better. The room was larger than I expected, though the bathroom was tiny. It was beautifully decorated and very clean. The fridge in the room was stocked with bottled water that was a great idea! The food at the Mad Batter is always good - and we took advantage of the nightly happy hour deals at the bar. The location is excellent. We would love to come back to visit!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We chose a week that rained....and rained...anyway, lovely room, great service, friendly staff, good food, relaxing...and we still had a great time....staff went out of their way to help us with parking...would definately go back again....when the sun is out....Kathy is a pleasure to deal with and so is all the staff....see you again.....
Robin and Billy

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patches002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Quiet rooms. Great restaurant and bar. Very friendly staff

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbslice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

We have stayed at the Carroll Villa for the past 17 years and would highly recommend a stay next time you're in Cape May. Nothing bad to say. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, and the food at the Mad Batter is great with breakfast included with your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,190 reviews
0.8 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
232 reviews
0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
719 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#7 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $120 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing