We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carroll Villa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Jetty Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$280
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avondale by the Sea(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel of the Sea(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capri Motor Lodge(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Cape May)
$338
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Hotel(Cape May)
$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mer Beachfront Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$397
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Congress Hall(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$489
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,317)
Filter reviews
1,317 results
Traveler rating
783
383
88
39
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
783
383
88
39
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmad batter restaurantmad hatterbreakfast or lunchgreat happy hourliving socialjackson streettrolley tourattached restaurantmy husband and ihalf blockhotel guestsget awaythe room was niceoff seasonmid weekbed and breakfastno elevator
Filter
Updating list...
613 - 618 of 1,317 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The folks who work there are very friendly and helpful. This is the best place to stay in CM.
Sure, the rooms are on the small side, but the location is terrific.
The beach is a half block away and everything else is nearby.
The Mad Batter breakfast is one of the best anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SunsetPelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Dear PelicanSunset: Thank you for your great review from all of us at the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel was perfect for our first visit to Cape May. Although we thought the price was high, it was a lot less than most of the hotels in the area. Also, as a guest of this hotel you are given a 30% discount at the restaurant (The Mad Batter) in the same building, so therefore it's a pretty good value.

Our room was small but it met our needs because we were hardly in the room. More importantly, it was clean and had a private bath. The hotel is old, the floors are a little crooked, the aisles are narrow and the steps are steep but that is what gives Cape May its historic atmosphere. This hotel would be difficult for someone who cannot walk up and down steps. The location of the hotel was great; just a half block from the beach and about one block from the Pedestrian Mall (Washington St.).

The staff is efficient and friendly and would stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Want2travelallaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Want2travel: Thank you for choosing the Carroll Villa for your first visit to our beautiful old town. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience and soaked up the historic atmosphere. We hope that you will return again soon. Your friends at the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

My fiancee and I spent a few nights in Cape May for Valentine's Day. We have eaten at the Mad Batter several times but this was our first stay at the Carroll Villa. The building is a historic B&B with a great location. Our trip was planned with short notice and we were happy that they had a room for us. The room was a bit small but it was clean and we had everything we needed to be comfortable. Please know that this is an old building. You will have to climb stairs and you will hear creaking floor boards and such. If that bothers you, maybe you would be more comfortable in a hotel. We love the character of old buildings so we consider those things a plus. We were even able to climb up into the belvidere to watch the snow flurries float over Cape May and the ocean. It was lovely and romantic.
The staff at the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter are extremely nice and helpful; from the wait staff, to the person at the desk, to the house keeper!
We would definitely recommend the Carroll Villa and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BlynnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear BlynG: Thank you for sharing your happy memories of your Valentine's Day stay with us. Its especially nice to know that you really appreciate the character and charm of the Carroll Villa. Keep in mind that Halloween weekend in Cape May is a lot of fun too. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We had a great time staying at the Carroll Villa in Cape May last week. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean very pleasant. Breakfast, included, is outstanding. Staff is helpful, courteous, and fun.

Room Tip: You choose your room online when you book and you can see exactly what you are getting.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Jax2001: Glad to know your Great Time in Cape May included our bed and breakfast hotel. Thank you very much for your perfect review from all of us at the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband and I just spent three days at the Carroll Villa and had such a nice time. I love the fact that this is an historic house decorated with antiques. There are so many beautiful pieces of furniture to see. The room was very cosy and I loved the bathroom set-up where the shower had built-in body wash, shampoo and conditioner dispensers in it. So convenient! Location of the Carroll Villa is perfect since it is about a block from the beach in one direction and a block from the Washington Commons Mall the other way. They provide free parking a very short walk from the hotel. Also, you get vouchers for either breakfast or lunch at The Mad Batter, a premier restaurant in Cape Mall that is on the first floor of the hotel. Housekeeping of the room was excellent and always done by the time we got back to the room from morning errands. To top it off, I forgot to leave the parking permit on the rearview mirror of our car one day and the owner of the hotel drove me over to the parking lot himself so I could put it in the car and avoid a ticket. That is SERVICE!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Such a great review. From Housekeeping to the Owner himself, you made our day. Come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews