We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We have stayed at the Carroll Villa before and have always had a great experience. We stayed in room 25 which is very small but was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great and the service was good. The staff is always very accommodating. We will definitely come back. The hotel is close to the ocean and shopping on the Washington Mall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle7528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Michelle: We are glad that you return to the Carroll Villa and glad that you can report that you continue to enjoy your stay every time. Thank you so much for taking the time to let others know as well. We look forward to seeing you again. Best Wishes for a great summer. Jill, Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,216)
There are newer reviews for Carroll Villa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

We have been vacationing at The Carroll Villa in Cape May for many years now, and they never let us down , the rooms are always beautiful and clean, this past week they gave us a great rate, we stayed in their Double Room, It was amazing. We had our 3 year old Granddaughter with us and she loved it!!! Carol Quattrone (South Philly)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueeyesphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Guest Relations Manager at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Carol: It was so nice of you to express how much you enjoy the Carroll Villa again and again. Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We are happy that your Granddaughter enjoyed her visit. Have a fantastic summer! Kathi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Mother's Day get away with my Mom was just perfect. This hotel is the perfect location, in the heart of town, but quiet for sleeping. Everyone was so nice...accomodations were perfect. Mad Batter restaurant at the hotel was superb!! Definitely recommend eating there for breakfast, lunch or dinner!! If you are looking for an upscale, but reasonably priced get away, this is your town, hotel and restaurant all in one!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

We are so pleased that you and your Mom enjoyed staying with us for a Mother's Day Getaway. Thank you for your lovely comments about the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter and also about Cape May as well. Please come back again sometime. Jill, Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I just spend two nights at the Carroll Villa Hotel. We had a wonderful time. The room was very clean and comfortable. It was an L-shape with two chairs to sit in. The room was perfect except that it could have used some lighting in the corner with the chairs so that you could read. We were in room 26. My husband and I didn't mind, but if a view is important to you, room 26 is not the room for you. Just a view of the A/C units on the roof and the other side was the view of the building next door. You will also hear the live entertainment downstairs but that's only until 10 and it was actually very pleasant. We were very happy that there was a mini-fridge in the room. The Mad Batter served the most amazing breakfasts and we also did happy hour there one evening which was great. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 540catherinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Carroll Villa and we look forward to your return. Have a wonderful summer from all of us at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

the mad batter is the restaurant at VC and we ate there for breakfast twice and dinner once during our may 2014 visit. more food than we could eat at all 3 visits and prices were more than reasonable. i would definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Nancy: We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and the great food we offer in The Mad Batter. We hope you will come back and visit Cape May again soon. Thank you for your review and your patronage. Jill, Desk Clerk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I chose this place because it looked sweet. And it was. It feels like being in a big old house. Very cozy with a little salon on the first floor for sitting or reading the paper. I felt very at home. I was surprised at how large the bathrooms were.

The gentleman at the front desk could not have been more helpful. He took his job very seriously - and it's a pleasure dealing with someone like that.

I think Cape May is the only town on the entire Jersey Shore that has real character, real style that has been preserved. And it's walkable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Ken: So glad you liked the grand old lady. We love knowing that people really appreciate the preserved charm and beauty of the Carroll Villa. Chita was the gentleman at the desk and he goes out of his way to make sure that our guests are well taken care. Thank you for complementing him so nicely and thank you for taking the time to write such a "sweet" review for us and for our little town in general. Cape May has a way of calling your name long after your leave. Hope to see you again sometime soon. Jill, Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My husband and I visited Cape May for the first time and has the pleasure of staying at the Carroll Villa. This was our first time staying at a B&B so we had no idea what to expect. We were immediately impressed by the cleanliness of the room and the added touch they included to acknowledge our anniversary. The location was excellent as it was close to the beach as well as shopping. Our room had an ah-mazing view of the beach which we enjoyed daily.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iiallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
705 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,166 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $167 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing