We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, convenient, and pleasant B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northern New Jersey
1 review
“Big, convenient, and pleasant B&B”
Reviewed September 12, 2008

We recently returned from a weekend in Cape May. This was our first experience at Cape May or at the Jersey shore. The Carroll Villa Hotel/B&B was large with many rooms. We were in room #8, which was small, but comfortable. We choose this room, partly because it was available when we booked and the price was right ($165/night, versus some other rooms that were $225 to $250). We had our own small private bath in our room which was also a plus. My husband loved it and I never thought a B&B would be something he would really enjoy. It wasn't 'frilly or foofy' as my husband would say, but a little victorian and nicely decorate with antiques.

We did notice that a few of the rooms that didn't have private baths IN the room, but instead private baths else where on the floor. The website advertised the baths as 'at the end of the hall', but room #5 was at the complete opposite end of the hall from its associated bathroom. Needless to say, I'm glad we didn't choose one of these rooms.


Overall, the B&B was very nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our favorite part was that the Mad Batter Restaurant is in the same building. We had a great breakfast both mornings of our stay and unlike other B&Bs, we didn't have to be up and ready for breakfast at a particular time. It gave us nice flexibility in our schedule and the ability to sleep in! We could have used our $15/pp for breakfast 'coupons' for lunch, if we had ventured elsewhere for breakfast. Again, nice flexibility, great food. The Mad Batter also serves dinner and has a beautiful bar with 1/2 price happy hour, with drinks that were already reasonably priced. I think we spent $23 for 5 drinks during happy hour. It was very nice and relaxing.

We would stay at this B&B again and recommend it to friends. The only B&B type thing it was missing was a front porch to sit on, since the Mad Batter Restaurant is partly located on the porch. They also allow children over 8 years old and we definitely had some early rising children in the room down the hall. They weren't overly loud, but they were kids and kids tend to not walk quietly down hallways. Overall, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wilhelmkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    356
    85
    39
    23
See reviews for
155
814
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2008

This was the 2nd time we stayed at the Carroll Villa Hotel and B&B. As far as we're concerned this is our summer beach house. The accomadations are wonderful, esp. since we could bring our 7 & 9 year old. The food at the Mad Batter is the most fabulous in Cape May, and that can be observed by the long lines that are seen eagerly waiting for a spectacular meal. The service is excellently efficient and friendly. This is the only B&B we've visited in Cape May, and have no intentions of staying elsewhere. We are very satisfied customers. Thank you all at the Carroll Villa and Mad Batter for making our stay a wonderful experience.

  • Liked — The decor of the room
  • Disliked — Had to park the car at another location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vintageladyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2008

My husband, daughter, and I have been staying at the Carroll Villa for the past 3 summers and can't wait to go back again! It is a clean, comfortable B & B that welcomes small children, which is unusual. This year when we got there, when we got to our room, we received a "Welcome Back" balloon and box of candy. We thought this was an excellent touch. For a place so close to the beach, the rates are reasonable, especially when you factor in that you get a delicious breakfast (we recommend the pancakes!!) at the Mad Batter each day! We definitely recommend both the hotel and restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank emmiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northford, CT
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

This was our first trip to Cape May and we could not have been happier with our choice of the Carroll Villa Hotel. It is right in the middle of the most picturesque Victorian street in Cape May and 1/2 block to the beach. Although you have to park several blocks away, we really did not feel we needed the car for much--everything was pretty much in walking distance (some things a bit further than others, obviously). The food was quite good at the Mad Batter, and if you choose to eat dinner there, you get a 30% discount on the entree if you are staying at the hotel--a nice plus! We will definitely return to stay here in the future.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — 3rd floor walk-up
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank survivor07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We've been coming to Cape May for several years now and have stayed at a bunch of bed and breakfasts in town (the John Wesley Inn, King's Cottage, and the Bedford Inn among them) but never quite found THE one that we wanted to return to year after year. Until now... The Carroll Villa is everything we could have possibly wanted in terms of seashore accommodations! We booked Room #23 in the Annex (added wing located above The Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar), which is one of the smallest, least expensive rooms available, for Labor Day weekend, and we were in heaven. The full-size bed was quite comfortable (firm mattress is always a necessity), the bathroom was a comfortable size (as opposed to other teensy ones we've experienced) and well lit, and we appreciated having a closet with hangers and a modern air conditioning unit and ceiling fan. Especially given that the room is in the lowest category, we were quite surprised at the size and amenities. Room #23 is located right next to the stairs, so we could hear a bit of foot traffic and people talking on their way to and from their rooms, but it wasn't a major concern. We might try out a room in the main building as opposed to the annex next time, though, just to see what we prefer.

Now for the most important part (at least in our book)... the food! The Mad Batter Restaurant is famous among South Jersey shore goers (many people come from the other nearby islands just to eat there), and when you stay at the Carroll Villa, you get a $30 voucher per couple each day to use for breakfast or lunch. The benefits of this over other bed and breakfasts are that: (a) you can have breakfast/lunch any time between 8 AM and 3 PM, allowing you to sleep late if you wish and actually feel like you're on vacation as opposed to having to be ready for breakfast at an hour (usually 9 AM at the latest) designated by the innkeeper; (b) you get to choose from among a huge range of breakfast and lunch dishes, all of which are delicious, as opposed to being subject to whatever the innkeeper decides to make; (c) you can enjoy a romantic meal with your partner without having to interact with other guests around a family-style dining table; and (d) you can enjoy a delicious Mimosa, spicy Bloody Mary, or any other cocktail you desire along with your meal (note that the voucher excludes alcohol, however). Having breakfast or lunch at The Mad Batter every day is truly a treat for us because we always make a point of going there at least once during our stay in Cape May, regardless of whether we are staying at another bed and breakfast where the morning meal is already provided. We look forward to those scrumptious oatmeal pancakes, vanilla pecan Belgian waffles, fruit breads and muffins, etc. all year! And now we have some savory breakfast favorites to add to the list (Eggs Benedict and Chesapeake Bay Benedict) since we were able to try something different every day (we're looking forward to trying more items in the future!). In addition to the breakfast/lunch voucher, guests at the Carroll Villa receive 30% off dinner at The Mad Batter, which is a great deal (make your reservation through the front desk of the Inn). You really can't go wrong with any meal there. We've enjoyed breakfast and lunch there for years, and our first dinner experience was wonderful as well. Half-price drinks at the bar during happy hour (4-6 PM) is another perk.

Those familiar with Cape May know that the location of the Carroll Villa/Mad Batter on Jackson Street is the most convenient to everything---the beach, the restaurants, Washington Street Mall, etc. It is also one of the most quaint and beautiful streets in town, with loads of history and chock full of beautifully restored Victorians. And despite being at the center of it all, we weren't bothered by any street noise during sleeping hours. You can't beat having a relaxing meal on the gracious front porch while watching the surreys, trolleys, and horse-drawn carriages glide by. During the peak season, guests are given parking passes for the Bank Street lot, which is just a short walk from the Inn; you most certainly will not need a car here.

We simply cannot say enough good things about the Carroll Villa and one of our all-time favorite Cape May dining establishments, The Mad Batter. We will most certainly be back for many years to come!

  • Liked — Food (!), location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owlish_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

This was our first visit to Caroll Villa Hotel. We booked in July
when we visited Cape May and stayed at the Grand Hotel. This B&B is really two properties, one in the main building with large comfortable rooms and the annex which, in the original incarnation of the building was the servants quarters. To enter the annex you must get past the Mad Batter Restaurant wait staff to enter through a non-descript white door. Behind the door is a narrow and very steep stairway to the upper floors. Don't even think of bringing large suitcases up those steps. Our "large" room was very cramped and did not live up to our expectations. Because of booking issues, we ended up in the main buildng for our last night at the property...what a difference! I'd recommend this B&B only if you are able to book in the main building. The staff is friendly, the breakfast at the Mad Batter is outstanding and the property is located in the heart of the town.

  • Liked — Location in the heart of town.
  • Disliked — Older, less visitor friendly part of the hotel.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WebmanPoconos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2008

A warm and friendly staff greeted us when we arrived at the Carroll Villa. Mark, Pam, and the entire staff made us feel so welcome immediately. It was our 25th anniversary and there were balloons in our room to help us celebrate. The staff is very proud of their hotel and restaurant and it is evident in they way they approach their work. The restaurant was excellent -- great breakfasts and delicious dinners. Cape May is beautiful and we are looking forard to a return visit. John and Peg from Poughkeepsie, NY.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 37 in Cape May
693 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing