We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware the Annex” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beware the Annex”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

This was our first visit to Caroll Villa Hotel. We booked in July
when we visited Cape May and stayed at the Grand Hotel. This B&B is really two properties, one in the main building with large comfortable rooms and the annex which, in the original incarnation of the building was the servants quarters. To enter the annex you must get past the Mad Batter Restaurant wait staff to enter through a non-descript white door. Behind the door is a narrow and very steep stairway to the upper floors. Don't even think of bringing large suitcases up those steps. Our "large" room was very cramped and did not live up to our expectations. Because of booking issues, we ended up in the main buildng for our last night at the property...what a difference! I'd recommend this B&B only if you are able to book in the main building. The staff is friendly, the breakfast at the Mad Batter is outstanding and the property is located in the heart of the town.

  • Liked — Location in the heart of town.
  • Disliked — Older, less visitor friendly part of the hotel.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WebmanPoconos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    348
    82
    37
    21
See reviews for
141
771
42
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

A warm and friendly staff greeted us when we arrived at the Carroll Villa. Mark, Pam, and the entire staff made us feel so welcome immediately. It was our 25th anniversary and there were balloons in our room to help us celebrate. The staff is very proud of their hotel and restaurant and it is evident in they way they approach their work. The restaurant was excellent -- great breakfasts and delicious dinners. Cape May is beautiful and we are looking forard to a return visit. John and Peg from Poughkeepsie, NY.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

Great service and very big breakfast on front porch,Delish! Very friendly.Great value.We booked again for 2 days for 2009!

  • Liked — price and friendly
  • Disliked — no front porch
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank laurie064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

I have been visiting Cape May, NJ with a group of friends from Cornell University for nearly ten years. The Carroll Villa is the fourth hotel we have visited. We have stayed there for the past four years, and I expect we will continue to stay there for many years to come. Couples, families and single girls in our group are all welcome & cheerfully accommodated.

The rooms were upgraded this year with flat screen tvs and a nice size refrigerator (larger than a dorm fridge). The hotel is very conveniently located less than a block from the beach and about a block and a half from the center of downtown Cape May. We park our cars after checking into the hotel and don't need them again until we depart.

The staff at Carroll Villa, especially Kathi, are friendly and very helpful. One of the women in our group this year celebrated a birthday during our stay, and was happily surprised by a balloon and saltwater taffy as a gift from the staff. Little touches like that mean a lot in a world of large, anonymous chain hotels.

Another benefit of staying at the Carroll Villa is breakfast at the Mad Batter. Hotel guests receive a $15 voucher for breakfast or lunch, which is more than enough for a large, tasty meal. The restaurant is attached to the hotel so it couldn't be any more convenient.

I highly recommend the Carroll Villa for anyone from couples to families. I am already looking forward to our return visit next year!

  • Liked — convenient location
  • Disliked — narrow stairs
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAPressGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Beach, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

We stayed at the Carroll Villa for only one night. It's located right in the heart of Cape May and is one block from the beach and just a couple blocks from exciting shopping and many of the Cape's night-time entertainment and dining options. As for breakfast, the food is very tasty, but is served in their attached "Mad Batter" restaurant and not at a "home dinner table" as I've experienced at all the other B&B's I've stayed at. You'll get a $30 voucher toward breakfast, which will run you about that much (if you take it easy). I didn't find the food "out of this World", but it was quite tasty. The Inn staff is very courteous and will bend over backwards to see that your stay is just right. With regards to our stay, upon arrival, I asked if they had any additional space for us to stay another night. Even though they no vacancies, the lady who checked us in called around until she found another B&B that would have us. Since the Mad Batter is a restaurant, I didn't get a chance to meet and greet the Inn-keepers as I enjoy doing at other B&B's. Even though this is the case, we enjoyed and had a pleasant stay at the Carroll Villa B&B.

  • Liked — Location Location Location
  • Disliked — Not having breakfast with the Inn-Keepers
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elykgidod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Paterson, NJ
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

Carroll Villa continues to be one of the best stays in Cape May. Stay only if you enjoy Victorian ambience in a clean, well appointed room with modern conveniences. Service is excellent and always cheerful. Food is packaged with the price of the room and is well above the standard fare and always a culinary delight. Located near Washington Street Mall, 1/2 block from the beach and boardwalk. Only minus would be parking, which is off-site, but FREE (a plus). Located several blocks across town, walking shoes or "drop-off" is recommended. A loading/unloading zone is provided for check-in and luggage in front of the hotel. All in all, a very enjoyable stay and experience.

  • Liked — Victorian architecture, ambience, location, food
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gertie2445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2008

My husband and I had never been to Cape May, so we weren't sure what to expect when we arrived. We were pleasantly surprised. Having been to other beaches at the Jersey shore several times, the town offered much more than the average beach town, and the Caroll Villa had a warm, unique atmosphere that is hard to match in a regular hotel. Excellent and friendly staff, a voucher good for $30 every morning for breakfast, and beautifully decorated rooms made this a wonderful and special place to stay for our Cape May vacation.

  • Liked — Great location right in the center of town. Friendly staff, beautiful rooms, daily $30 voucher for meals at the Mad Batter.
  • Disliked — No porches to sit outside.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2vacayPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing