We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A September stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A September stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is my 3rd time at the Carroll Villa and my husband's first. It is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are warm and welcoming and have the romantic charm you are looking to get for a quick week getaway. Only 1 block from the beach and 2 from downtown, everything you need is in walking distance. You can basically forget about using your car. The Villa has everything, from food, to a friendly staff to help with all your needs. And to top it all off, they provide you with a$30 voucher to use for each night of stay to use towards breakfast or lunch.

Room Tip: This has 3 flights of stairs and no elevators. Not all rooms have bathrooms in them, your bathroom c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Tracy M.
Thank you for saying the Carroll Villa is a wonderful place to stay and for pointing out the romantic charm of our rooms. Glad you had a good time and hope to see you again. Have a great day from all of us at the CV and the MB.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    343
    82
    36
    21
See reviews for
135
750
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My wife and I had another wonderful stay at Carroll Villa Hotel. The staff are extremely courteous and helpful, and the hotel is filled with warm, comfortable furnishings. The restaurant makes the "deal" especially desirable, since breakfast is included in the room price. The people that wait outside the restaurant for a table every morning is a testament to the great breakfasts that are served. The beach is a half block away, as is the mall. Cape May is a great place for walking or bike riding, and the Carroll Villa Hotel is ideally placed.

Room Tip: Room 20 is the only room on the ground floor, It is very small but has a porch to sit on and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Victoria: We are glad to know that you had an excellent experience at our B&B. Thank you for your review and we hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit Cape May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stepped into the room, and immediately noticed a fresh scent and the clean, well maintained bedroom. The bathroom was very clean and very well kept (I was very impressed with this as I am rather particular about bathroom cleanliness). The room was snug but adequately sized for two people. You get a $30 dining credit for each morning you stay at the Carroll Villa and it is more than enough. The breakfast portions are generousely sized, and that is probably an understatement. The staff was friendly, and helpful. You are less than a 1 block walk from the beach and 1 block from Washington Street which is the town outdoor shopping mall. Fantastic experience and we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Carroll Villa Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to express that it was "as good as it gets". Hope you can join us again sometime. From all of us at the CV and the MB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

just got home and had to post as nice as it gets room very comfortable .The place is almost a B&B has all the charm of a B&B right off the beach and 2 blocks from downtown you can walk every place from her staff is warm and friendly ready to help with any thing could not ask for anything more . Place is post card pretty 1800 s Victorian and very well taken care of

Room Tip: has stairs call first for your needs
See more room tips
Green Features: keep up the Read about Carroll Villa Hotel's environmentally friendly practices... good housekeeping practices
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 116AMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garwood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Can I give the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter 6 stars? I have been taking my son (11 years old) to Cape May for many years now. This is the first time we stayed at the Carroll Villa. It will not be the last. Great room, great location, great service, just a great value. 1800’s experience with all the modern amenities. Very family friendly. Just be mindful that there is not an elevator. Only three floors so not a problem for us.
The Mad Batter is just simply wonderful. It’s like visiting family every year we go there. We eat most of our meals there during our stay. Just can’t get enough. The menu is outstanding. There is a reason that there is a wait for a table all day long. Thank You, to all the wonderful staff at the restaurant and hotel. See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Poppy W. Thank you very much for your vote of six stars! We in turn enjoyed your company very much indeed. Have a great year from all of us at the CV and the MB. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

WOW! What an amazing time we had. The place has that Jersey Hometown feel, friendly staff, Chica, Pam and Kathy the staff, I cannot say enough about their willingness to help with our stay. The food was great!! The beautiful tree line streets and clean, really clean..I would recommend the Carroll Villa to all my friends and family.

Again, THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR A WONDERFUL VACATION!!!!!

Green Features: Carrol Villa meets all environmentally-friendly practice and I should know. My family member works for the EPA
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Norma:
That's our all star line-up. Pam, Kathi and Chita. Always ready, willing and able. Like Jordan, Pippen and Rodman. Thank you for your kind review from all of us at the Carroll Villa Hotel and Mad Batter Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is the first time we stayed at the Carroll Villa in Cape May, NJ.....and we had the best time ever! My husband and I came along with our daughter, son-in-law and 9 1/2 month old grandson...we would definitely stay here again. The rooms were perfect, hotel staff were wonderful. As far as the Mad Batter Restuarant.....the BEST breakfast's around!! Thanks to the Carroll Villa we had a tremendous time.

Room Tip: For a family with a baby, Room 31 seemed perfect for our daughter and son-in-law and their very acti...
See more room tips
Green Features: The practices of The Carroll Villa are right on board with doing what's best for our environment.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theotokus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Hotel Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Its is so nice to hear that you had the best time ever while staying for the first time at the Carroll Villa Hotel. Our staff work very hard to ensure our guests are happy and it is gratifying to know that you enjoyed yourself and had a lovely time with your family. Thank you for your nice review.
Jill, Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#13 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#17 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#16 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing