We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located with a great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Centrally located with a great staff”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I travel alone, so I like to stay at a bed and breakfast where I can get to know my hosts and staff. I was very happy to find the Carroll Villa online, and delighted when I got there and realized I was only one block from the beach and also only one block from the shopping district. Perfect! Plus it was nice to have live music right downstairs nightly. Kathi, Pam, Jill and the staff were wonderful and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Hotel Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Diane, It was a pleasure to meet you and we are glad you found the Carroll Villa to be a great place in a great location. It was nice to see you enjoying yourself in our great little town. We hope you will dance your way back to us sometime soon. Thank you for your review.
Yours truly, Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    363
    86
    39
    24
See reviews for
159
824
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Staff was super friendly and location is perfect - literally a minute from the main strip and the beach.The walk from the public parking lot to the hotel is not the best, but it's not as far as other reviews make it seem - shouldn't take you more than 10 minutes. The rooms were super clean and there was no issue with the noise. It is a little expensive but the location alone justifies the price.

Only 2 complaints:

$30 voucher for breakfast was nice, but memorize the menu the night before because the moment you sit down the staff is all over you for your order. We told them we needed a few minutes and I think the waiter actually came back about 60 seconds later. They rush you out as quickly as they can because the wait time for a table at breakfast was about 30 minutes. Food in general is OK, big portions but nothing special.

If you are staying in the Annex pack 1 bag - the staircase is super narrow and carrying things up and down - especially a baby stroller - is hell.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JL71_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was my first stay at the Carroll. Two friends and I shared Room 31. We were welcomed, and treated with courtesy by each and every staff member. The owner took pains to speak and check in with us on our comfort. SHORT walk to EVERYTHING - beach, shopping, and great food. We ate only breakfast at the Carroll [with our breakfast credits]; GREAT food! Our room was cool, comfy, and quiet. We can't wait to visit the Carroll again!

Room Tip: Go to the web site to view each room, along with details. You will find just what you're lookin...
See more room tips
Green Features: I read in their blog that they fuel a car with used oil. Check it out!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skoolmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your praise of the Carroll Villa. We are glad you enjoyed your room and found it comfortable and that you enjoyed Cape May and all that it has to offer right outside our door. You are always welcome and we hope to see you soon. Yours truly, Jill, front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW VA
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a lovely little room, and the staff here was great, and breakfast at the Mad Batter was delicious. It is very close to the beach and restaurants and bars. The housekeepers were top notch, and done with our room before 10:30 one of the days we stayed. On the day we arrived, the weather was horrible, and they went out of their way to get me back from the parking lot dry, that is much appreciated, which brings me to my only issue, and that is that the parking is close, but just a little further than ideal. Not a big problem, given the town, though, the walk to fro is very nice. Also, be mindful of the size of your bags, being an old building, the stairs are narrow. However, if you are into Victoriana and the bit of craziness that goes with it(like we are, especially my wife) , then this is a great choice. Couldn't have found a better place for our anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

250 a night for a shoe box? We stayed in room 25. You can hear everything... Seriously I would have happily paid an extra hundred to stay next door at the Villa which we hung out at most if the time. This place is like an expensive hostel. The front desk is behind plexi glass...(yes behind plexi glass like you're going to rob them, how inviting) They don't even stand up to greet you. $30 dollar voucher for breakfast downstairs which is expensive for what it is. The bed is HARD, meaning you'll wake your partner up if you move an inch as the bed shakes. A squirt gun has more water pressure than the shower.
You couldn't pay me to stay there again, I'd rather sleep under a boardwalk. I hope the owners wake up and make some changes and read this review. Avoid.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CPNYC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is my first review on TripAdvisor. The Carroll Villa was a nice little B&B. The food was above average and hanging out at the bar listening to the live bands was cool. Everything is within walking distance which is great. Good restaurants, bars & shopping close by. As for my room(31), I have no complaints, the room was clean and it was spacious for two people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasheppard29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us in Cape May and that you liked the music. Thank you for your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atglen
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My room was nice, my parents room was small, my friends room was a closet with a bed... all bathrooms were nice. It was fun, and my first bed and breakfast experience. If you want to stay near the beach and the center of town, this is the place for you.... also good air conditioner!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanieC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you had fun staying at our bed and breakfast hotel. Please come again sometime. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#8 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing