We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just love this place! Quaint, relaxing, beautiful decor, comfortable beds and the staff is so friendly and helpful! Love the fact that they have a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with great food.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Checar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

It is so nice to know that you enjoyed your visit to the Carroll Villa and the Mad Batter and that you appreciate our hospitality and the quaint charm of the hotel. Thank you for your nice review.
Please come see us again when you next return to Cape May.
The Staff at the hotel and restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,219)
There are newer reviews for Carroll Villa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Once again the Carroll Villa Hotel provided a fabulous experience for 18 students attending the Mel Stabin Workshop. Everyone has been pleased with the accommodations, food, and the staff. They are all excited about doing it again next year!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a very pleasant and nice stay at this bed and breakfast. We purchased a package on Travelzoo and got a good deal. The rooms were so quaint and cute. We had a delicious breakfast and several martini's at the bar before dinner. Would stay again,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tunisbridal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your Travel Zoo stay.
Hope you can join us again sometime soon.
Kathi and Jill, Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Our stay at the Carroll Villa hotel was a real value. The location can't be beat - just a block from the ocean, and the breakfast that was part of the package was excellent (in the adjoining Mad Batter restaurant). Most of the regular rooms were already reserved for the date we had to be there, but they told us they had a room with a separate bathroom available. Indeed, the entire bathroom was exclusively for our use (we had the key) but it was located all the way down at the other end of the hall from our room. A little unusual, but the bathroom was nice. I believe all of the rest of the rooms had connected bathrooms.

The people running the Carroll Villa hotel were very nice and provided us with whatever we needed. The bed was comfortable and we slept very well there. I am sure that during the beach season, this entire area is really hopping, but we enjoyed a quiet stay during the off-season.

We would return to the Carroll Villa Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redcaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write and for your positive comments. Hopefully, you will be able to enjoy a different room on a return visit. Thanks again for your appreciation of our hotel and our location.
Front Desk Staff at the Carroll Villa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Carroll Villa due to a Travelzoo promotion. The hotel is well-located, close to the beach and the shopping mall. The Mad Batter restaurant is right on the property, which is nice, and it has good food and service. The managers of the hotel were also very accomodating. The property is in an old victorian structure with pealing paint. It's nicer inside, but if you're looking for a modern hotel, look elsewhere. Some of the rooms do not have a private bath. Our did, but it was small, and the shower was very small. The hotel's HVAC units were right outside the windows, so it was somewhat noisy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was our second time staying here and the staff does an excellent job. The room was good size and very clean. They even had a welcome back balloon with some salt water taffy's attached in our room which was a nice touch. After the guys golfed and the women shopped we caught happy hour again at the bar which has a good selection of craft beers. We had dinner at Tisha's (excellent) and returned to the bar to catch a very good blues guitar artist playing live. The next morning breakfast was superb at the Mad Batter. Hated to go home but will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dabirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us again. The staff appreciates your positive comments. We take pride in our lovely rooms and in providing good service for our guests.
Cape May awaits your return.
Thank you,
Jill at the front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked this through a living social deal. We arrived very early (around noon). We knew it was too early to check in, however, they were very accomodating in that they gave us the vouchers we were entitled to so we could start enjoying our stay. They told us about wine tastings in the area and a nice place to pick up some cheese and snacks for our visit there. When we came back to check in everything was ready as promised, and they gave us the key to our very nice room. We stayed in room #9. It was beautiful and very romantic. We had a great trip and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollym426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

We are pleased that you had a great time with the Living Social special and appreciate that you took the time to let us know that you enjoyed staying with us. We take pride in the appearance of the hotel and are glad you found you room beautiful and romantic. We hope that you come back and stay with us again soon. Thank you.
Jill, Front Desk and all the staff at the Carroll Villa and Mad Batter Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,167 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
718 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $167 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing