We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Victorian Style B&B in the heart of Cape May” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NY,NY
Level Contributor
148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Victorian Style B&B in the heart of Cape May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Carroll Villa B&B in Cape May from the moment we arrived until the sad moment when we had to check out. The room ( we were in no. 16) was so quaint and charming. There was a small sitting area and a nice large bathroom along with our queen size bed. We had a flat screen tv ( for those tv junkies - it was on the small side though). This B&B is on Jackson Street which is right down the block from the beach and also from Washington Mall area ( shopping / dining area). Upon arrival, we rec'd a wonderful greeting and lots of info from the woman in reception ( sorry I cant remember your name but you were fantastic!). This B&B has a restaurant attached called the Mad Batter which is excellent, nice sitting room with magazines, etc ( coffee in the am) and the location is excellent. It is along a street lined with other historic B&Bs. We had breakfast in the hotel which was fabulous plus the wait service was excellent as well. Oh the room also has a small fridge so you can keep some snacks, drinks which is nice.
This place is also very romantic for couples. Great wknd getaway!
A quick tip - we went off season so there was no issue with parking b/ c the meters were turned off. It may be an issue in the summer season though. Not sure if B&B offers parking.

Room Tip: Room 16 was a nice size with a very large bathroom and a small sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michygal05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Carroll Villa Hotel. We are glad that you found Room 16 to your liking and enjoyed your breakfast. We try our best to accommodate all of our guest and want you to know that we do have access to a municipal parking lot during the time the meters are an issue. We provide our guest with a free parking permit for the lot and it is a charming 8 minute stroll back to the hotel from the lot. Thanks again for your welcome comments.
Kathi and Jill, Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    332
    78
    34
    21
See reviews for
127
711
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were excited to yet again, spend our anniversary at the Carroll Villa. We stayed two nights and didn't want to leave. From our arrival, until our departure, our needs were met at every turn. We were fortunate to stay in a recently renovated room that we said will become the room we request going forward as it was perfect! The Carroll Villa's location to the beach and shopping can't be beat! Can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor of the annex (room 34). Very large room and out of the way from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cldangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your special occasion at our hotel. It is good to know that you found your room so nice and have added it to your favorites list. Thank you also for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you back again real soon.
Yours truly, The Hotel and Restaurant Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

From the time we arrived every staff member was nicer than the next. The food was delicious and the room we stayed in was charming. My close friend and I had terrific girl time away. We wished we had stayed one more night. We had a package with groupon and felt like we got the deal of the century. Enjoyed the wineries and convenience of where we were located in Cape May.Only downside was the parking. We will be back next year to celebrate our April birthdays. Thank you Carroll Villa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abeachbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Carroll Villa Hotel in Cape May and what a treat! You cannot beat the charm of Jackson Street or the warmth of this Historic Hotel. The staff is engaging and friendly and our room (#21) was lovely with even a peek of the ocean. Breakfast both mornings was delish and we loved the energetic vibe of the Blue Bar at Happy Hour. Thanks to Mark, Pam and staff for a most memorable getaway...we thoroughly enjoyed our time with you and hope to return in-season!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barefootinnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husdand and I recently stayed at the Carroll Villa Hotel for one night. The hotel is in a great location in Cape May. The room was small and the hallways and stairs are narrow but is it is a beautiful old victorian house so I guess that comes with the territory. The room was charming and had everything we needed. The only issue we had was parking. There is no parking at the hotel so you have to find street parking. Going in April wasn't too big of an issue as all the parking meters are free and it wasn't too crowded. However I don't know if I would return in the summer if you had to find your own parking. We had a great breakfast at the Mad Batter and used the $30 coupon. That was a nice feature.

All in all we had a great night at the Carroll Villa Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamasheep2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Front Desk Clerk at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your nice review of our hotel. We wanted you to know that between May 1st and November 1st when the parking meters are activated we do have access to a municipal parking lot and will provide you with a permit to park there free of charge. The lot is an 8 minute walk from the hotel and we find this arrangement has worked out well for our guests. Also, if you have a Handicap permit it may be used in any of the regular parking meters in town. Hope to see you again.
Yours truly,

The Staff at The Carroll Villa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in Carroll villa hotel in first week of April in 2013 for two nights Saturday and Sunday for our wedding anniversary. We used the living social deal for Sunday night .the living social deal was perfect. On Saturday we had a small room with full size bed and bathroom outside. Queen size rooms were available on Saturday but we we were OK with the small room. The outside bathroom is bit inconvenient. Sunday we moved to bigger room with queen bed in the Annex building. I thing this building is newer and well maintained. The food at Mad Batter restaurant is amazing. They give you $30 coupon with the stay which can be used for Breakfast or Lunch.The hotel is very conveniently located to the beachfront and Washington street mall. In first week of April the weather was bit cold so not much was open on the beachfront. We had a amazing time at Cape may thanks to Caroll Villa hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhurisunil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My impression of B&Bs has always been that they are old and dirty. However, my husband and I decided to give the Carroll Villa Inn a try because we found a great deal with them through Travelzoo. We were pleasantly surprised to stay in a lovely room that was decorated tastefully and had all of the modern conveniences you could want. I was so impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the nice sized bathroom. We enjoyed the happy hour and the wonderful breakfasts at the Inn's Mad Batter restaurant.

My only criticism is with the bed in our Room (18). The mattress really needs to be replaced. Thank you, Carroll Villa Inn for opening my world to B&Bs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenofpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent time spent with us. We are glad that we changed your thought about dirty and old and tired bed and breakfasts. We as a third generation business that takes pride In our hotel, bar and restaurant. We are working constantly to refresh, replace and renew. Our daughter,Marta, has worked very hard along with my wife, the housekeepers and our maintenance man ,Todd, to keep our National Landmark hotel as inviting as possible.
We will look into the sleeping accommodations in your room
Best Wishes
Mark Kulkowitz and Pam Huber Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#11 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#17 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#10 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing