We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carroll Villa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Jetty Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$179
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Periwinkle Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$139
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Southern Mansion(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mer Beachfront Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$243
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Congress Hall(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Cape May)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Virginia Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montreal Beach Resort(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$216
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,304)
Filter reviews
1,304 results
Traveler rating
772
381
87
40
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
772
381
87
40
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmad batter restaurantmad hatterbreakfast or lunchgreat happy hourliving socialjackson streettrolley tourattached restaurantmy husband and ihalf blockhotel guestsget awaycrab cakesthe room was niceoff seasonbed and breakfastmid week
Filter
Updating list...
781 - 786 of 1,304 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Carroll Villa Hotel is really a great get-away! The staff was outstanding, not only friendly, but no request was too much trouble. The ONLY improvement that could be made...the shower left something to be desired. The Mad Batter is very nice, both food & service were great. HAPPY HOUR was enjoyed by all! RUSTIC PIZZA is terrific!!!! I hope to make our St Patty's weekend an annual event! THANK YOU CARROLL VILLA!!!!

Room Tip: # 28...3rd floor corner, ocean view ;)
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from Living social special week-end. Stayed in Rm 34. Nice size room, clean and private. Sink way too small. Fridge in room was nice surprise. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Enjoyed happy hr but after several drinks, we asked for some chips or pretzels and was told they didn't have any. Breakfast both days was yummy, however not hot at all. Lukewarm at best. Husband's breakfast potatoes were actually cold and butter would not even melt on my waffle or french toast. Also ate dinner there Sat nite and was informed when bill came, that they would not honor the "one free dessert with purchase of two entrees voucher" they gave us when we checked in. Reason being, we were already getting 30% off dinner which is standard for all their hotel guests. So my question is - why did they give us the free desert coupon in the first place?????? Second question is why did they take the coupon at the restaurant and then come back later after desert was delivered to us and state that they would not honor coupon?? It's misleading. Makes you order a desert that you otherwise might not have ordered. Unfortunately, dinner was disappointing. Had the short ribs and skirt steak. Both lacking in flavor and mashed potatoes were cold. Attended in afternoon what they called a "Pasta Making class and wine sampling". Assumed that WE would be the ones making it. Should have been called a "Pasta Making DEMONSTRATION Class" We watched a former chef of the Carrol Villa make two pasta dishes that we got to sample along with one glass of wine. The best thing about the Carroll Villa is the location. Close to the beach, shopping and beautiful homes.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephanieD121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. We have run the pasta making class for two years now and the vast majority of our customers have enjoyed the experience of our chef sharing with our guests the art of pasta making...
The promotion that you got never offered 30% off dinner..This was for our guests who did not book the promotion. What we were trying to do was give you a better deal of 30% off dinner with the purchase of two entrees-a better offer than an appetizer or dessert in our mind...You were trying to get something that was not part of the offer and we were trying to be generous and now we look like the bad guys.
We are always attentive to food. If there are concerns about ones meal our staff will always try to make it right.
Enjoy the Spring-Mark Kulkowitz-Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have stayed at the Carroll Villa Hotel twice. Once in Oct. where we stayed in the main B&Band room was small, but lovely. This time we stayed in the Acctics. Room was large, very clean and just beautiful! The staff, very warming and helpful. The Mad Batter restaurant in the lobby of the B&B has the best orange juice freshly squeezed! If you need weekend away you will have ZERO regretts staying here. About 2blocks from the shops and 1 block or less from the shore!!!

Room Tip: Just ask the staff they will set you up as needed!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capemaylover29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for your nice thoughts....We are glad that you never want to leave here. Since we have many of our staff here working for many years here I guess they don't want to leave either.
Ask Kathi, hotel manager, Kay, our restaurant manager, or Alexi, assistant manager how long they have been here! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We enjoyed a third floor corner room with a view of the ocean and Victorian Jackson Street. The room was warm and inviting and including a comfortable sitting area. The service was friendly and helpful. My wife was ready to spend most of our time inside, between the Carroll Villa (the common room had a gas fireplace and comfortable antique furniture) and the connecting Mad Batter restaurant (where we enjoyed breakfast and dinners).

Room Tip: We chose a third floor room to avoid the noise of the live music and bar of the first floor Mad Batter. Noise was not a problem.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LYNN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Had a great time at the Carroll Villa over my Birthday weekend. The Hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly. This was our first time staying in the inn, although we have had breakfast at The Mad Batter several times. We highly recommend this inn as it was priced well and included vouchers for breakfast each day. The location is hard to beat as it is close to the Washington Street Mall and also the beach. We would definitley stay again !

Room Tip: We were very happy with room 16
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyMozingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews