We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“" a little dissappointing"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“" a little dissappointing"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Very nice place...but did not get the specific room requested and reserved! Placed in smaller room which was unconfortable! Also "Promised Departure Gift" never explained or offered! Had to return later after checkout to "ask" for it! Staff was friendly and accomidating and FOOD (Dinner and Breakfast) was excellent as was the wait staff! Just had to endure some shortcomings as mentioned!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misteri0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    343
    82
    36
    21
See reviews for
135
750
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Carroll Villa Hotel. This is an older large B&B Victorian style building. If you are looking for the finer things in a hotel this may not be your choice of stays. But if you are looking to stay at a hotel that takes you back to the Victorian era with some added updated ammenities such as flat screen TV, then this is the place for you. We booked our 2-night stay by using a Living Social certificate which was a great deal at a great price. The staff at Carroll Hotel are xtra nice and go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. I highly recommend you try both the breakfast and dinner at the Mad Batter. Both were beyond our expectations. The dinner menu seemed a little pricey, but by utilizing the different discounts that they offer the check at the end of the meal was a pleasent surprise!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Our first visit to The Carroll Villa will not be our last. We went on a Saturday in October. It was chilly and blustery outside but warm in all ways in the hotel. Our front desk reception was friendly and informative. We were told of all the features of the hotel and provided with Coupons to Cape May attractions. If you haven't been to this tourist beach town, you will be impressed by the four season efforts of local businesses to make your stay interesting.
Our room was cozy and stayed that way overnight and into Sunday morning in spite of a dip in temperature outside. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. We had good sleeps.
Sunday breakfast at the Mad Batter is not to be missed. I safely assume that this is true for the other six days. As an old breakfast chef, I had to have the oatmeal pancakes. They were everything pancakes should be, light in the mouth, substantial once they landed. The short stack was more than enough. You might want to split an order.
Our one somewhat negative experience was the Christmas comedy at the local Playhouse. We paid full price for tickets and then read the dinner and a play specials in the Play Bill. We could have had dinner at the Mad Batter and bought tickets for less than we paid for the show. How much? I thought I was being sent to seat number 102 when I was informed of the charge.
One negative - no reserved parking. We didn't have a problem in October but Sumer could present an issue. I do not think it too big a problem, however, this family-run establishment has been in business for 35 years.
Location: Ideal. You are steps from the pedestrian mall, the beach, and a number of prominent restaurants and cafes.
If you are looking for a relaxing getaway, this is a good bet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was the first time my husband and I visited the Carroll Villa along with some friends and we had a great time. Living Social had a special and we were going to take the Christmas tour of the Inns so we jumped on the deal. Rooms were very clean and the bed was comfortable. Mad Batter for breakfast had excellent french toast and the coffee in the morning hit the spot. Would definitely advise to try it. No onsite parking but, that was not a problem because of the time of year and also we walked everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortescue, NJ
Level Contributor
77 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Enjoyed a cozy room facing Jackson Street with my 20-something granddaughter. Enjoyed the Happy Hour (coconut martini!), 30% off dinner and had the crab cakes which were delicious, then off to a concert in the new Convention Center. Ate the famous Chesapeake Bay Benedict for breakfast ($30 voucher), which has always been a favorite. They were very busy when we got done, so I would say to make reservations, whenever possible. Has always been a fun place to visit with an interesting menu and great food and drinks. Oh yeah, I'll be back.

Room Tip: The website shows a picture of all the rooms so you can see what is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baycoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Using our discount coupon we stayed one night at the Carroll Villa and opted for a second floor smaller room because of the stairs (no elevator) we had a tiny quaint room for myself and my sister .... the amenties were wonderful. we had 2 bottles of water and a wonderful Chardonnay wine from Chile at our bedside table. . we used the trollery tour, the visit to the Cape May Winery (also available was Hawk Haven winery) and the breakfast included (wonderful.. passed on the bloody marys) we also used the 30% off the dinner which was absolutely terrific. the staff and the servers at the Mad Batter could not have been better. having come from Congress Hall the night before and having had a terrible experience at breakfast at the Blue Pig, this was a wonderful and delightful experience. the whole day and night could not have been better and it is the best bang for your buck ever. we highly recommend it and have friends going right after Christmas. Being a Cape Mayer for years and years, but having never had the oopportunity to use the Mad Batter, it will certainly go into my future plans for Cape May.

Room Tip: the room is not spacious, small bathroom and no view... if it is bedrooms that are important you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floss757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We upgraded to a superior room for our stay on 12/12/12. For the extra $30 we got a tiny room with peeling wallpaper, it was the worst room that we have ever had anywhere. The room was so bad that we just went home at 7 PM forfeiting our non-refundable (thank you travelzoo.com) fee and the $30 breakfast voucher for the next morning. The one bright note was that the help was very pleasant and cheerful, we couldn't have asked for a nicer staff. And I almost forgot there was a $10 gratuity that had to be paid at the time of check in. Am I alone in never having heard of such a thing? Also there was a beg envelope in the room for tips for the housekeeping staff, in addition to the $10 gratuity I presume.

Room Tip: If we had a premium room I can't imagine what the standard rooms must be like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
HAPPY NEW YEAR...IT Is Frustrating when we get taken to task because our customers do not read what they are entitled to and their responsibilty with the special offer. We take great pride in our national landmark hotel and restaurant. We are now in the Winter season repapering walls, painting, adding art work , lighting, carpets and new furniture which is hard to do in season
Your LIVING SOCIAL promotion stated that gratuities were to be paid by the customer for our housekeepers and wait staff. This helps insure compensation for our housekeeping and restaurant staff because customers sometimes forget that gratuities are included in the package.
.We normally have 2/3rds of our rooms available for any promotion...The problem is that if you wait until the end of the promotion to choose a room that the most popular ones are not always available or that the date has already been booked...I hope that this helps explain some of the customers concerns
Mark Kulkowitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#18 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#13 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#17 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing