We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“WHATTA DUMP!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“WHATTA DUMP!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We upgraded to a superior room for our stay on 12/12/12. For the extra $30 we got a tiny room with peeling wallpaper, it was the worst room that we have ever had anywhere. The room was so bad that we just went home at 7 PM forfeiting our non-refundable (thank you travelzoo.com) fee and the $30 breakfast voucher for the next morning. The one bright note was that the help was very pleasant and cheerful, we couldn't have asked for a nicer staff. And I almost forgot there was a $10 gratuity that had to be paid at the time of check in. Am I alone in never having heard of such a thing? Also there was a beg envelope in the room for tips for the housekeeping staff, in addition to the $10 gratuity I presume.

Room Tip: If we had a premium room I can't imagine what the standard rooms must be like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
HAPPY NEW YEAR...IT Is Frustrating when we get taken to task because our customers do not read what they are entitled to and their responsibilty with the special offer. We take great pride in our national landmark hotel and restaurant. We are now in the Winter season repapering walls, painting, adding art work , lighting, carpets and new furniture which is hard to do in season
Your LIVING SOCIAL promotion stated that gratuities were to be paid by the customer for our housekeepers and wait staff. This helps insure compensation for our housekeeping and restaurant staff because customers sometimes forget that gratuities are included in the package.
.We normally have 2/3rds of our rooms available for any promotion...The problem is that if you wait until the end of the promotion to choose a room that the most popular ones are not always available or that the date has already been booked...I hope that this helps explain some of the customers concerns
Mark Kulkowitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    332
    78
    34
    21
See reviews for
128
711
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Old world charm and the friendly staff at the Carroll Villa and Mad Batter always make my stay here a very memorable one. The Hotel is centrally located and is walking distance from shopping and fun. Happy hour is always a good time at the bar at the Carroll Villa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SingleTraveler1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

For a hotel 1/2 a block from the beach and 1 1/2 blocks from the pedestrian mall in Cape May, this hotel had a very nice location. It is a little run down, but the living social deal was well the price. No curb appeal. They have an excellent happy hour (which is really 3 hours) at the Mad Batter Bar. Best beer on tap in Cape May. We went with another couple and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the water pressure was great. It was also nice and quiet for sleeping. We were in room 16. A little dark (even with two windows) and the furniture was a bit big for the room, but we only slept and dressed there, so not a problem. Tiny shower stall, but again, adequate. The shared living room on the main floor was very small if you wanted to meet with friends, because you were not going to meet in your room - too small. We had the breakfast coupon which covered our breakfast cost and included Mimosa's. We ate dinner at the Merion Inn around the corner, which was excellent!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank napank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester City, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had a great time at this Villa Hotel.........great weather for December.....Staff was friendly and helpful..........Food from the Mad Batter was great........The room was small, next time I will reserve a larger room.............bed was just fine for us........We stayed in Room 11........nice bar but it closes too early.........9/10 PM.........

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCSWEIRISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, Pa.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Carroll Villa Hotel in Cape May, NJ is one of the finest hotels in the town. Has the bed and breakfast charm. Staff is incredible, price is right, rooms are clean and the decor fantastic. Keep in mind the rooms are not sound proof but everyone seems to respect others. Oonly 2 blocks from great food and drink and the shopping on Washington St. Mall is only a block and 1/2 away.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are small so if you are booking and need more room then be sure to check out there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Checar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel was quaint and the bed was very comfortable. Had a great experience. Loved eating at the Mad Batter. The food was wonderful. Everything is close and within walking distance. Took a trolley ride and saw all of the Christmas Lights. Very nice place to visit in the Christmas Season. A very nice vacation. We had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We purchased a Travelzoo voucher and upgraded to a king-sized room. Very warm reception and quick check in. Staff very helpful and friendly. Room was sunny and bright, overlooking the street. Room looked a bit worn, needed to be freshened up. The attached restaurant, the Mad Batter, serves a delicious breakfast and dinner. Although this B&B could use a bit of freshening up, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#12 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#17 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#10 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing