We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Weekend...no thanks to the Carroll Villa” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sparta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Weekend...no thanks to the Carroll Villa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband & I have been going to Cape May for our anniversary for 10 years. This was our first time staying at Carroll Villa. We did have a great weekend! The weather was terrific! The Mad Batter is excellent for breakfast and dinner! But our room was disappointing. It was tired and old; definitely in need of refurbishing. I knew it would be small, but was surprised that the ceiling was peeling and marked up, carpet was extremely worn and bathroom was rusty. The room and bathroom were clean, just not as nice as we're used to.
My biggest problem with the Caroll Villa and my motiviation for writing this review.....our reservations were for Nov 9-11. Just after Hurricane Sandy. My husband and I live in northwest NJ and our area was without power for almost 2 weeks. The children missed 2 weeks of school. There had hours long gas lines and then odd-even days at gas stations. As recovery from the storm dragged on, my husband & I realized we felt unsettled having our anniversary weekend in the midst of all the turmoil.
We called and spoke to the magager, Kathy, at Carroll Villa. The hotel's cancellation policy is 10 days advanced notice for a refund. We called 9 days in advance of our scheduled trip. Kathy was incredibly unsympathetic and inconsiderate. We explained that we had several issues that might prevent us from keeping our reservation. All due to Hurricane Sandy. We had problems getting gas, our babysitting situation was up in the air because the kids were supposed to be off from school but now looked like they might be in school, we didn't want to leave our home and kids if the power was still out.
Kathy's initial reaction was cold and matter of fact. She said the hotel strictly follows their cancellation policy and it wouldn't be possible to refund our deposit. We asked to speak to the owner. If a refund wasn't possible we asked for a credit to use for a future stay. Several phone calls later......we did not speak to the owner and Kathy became harsh and rude. She said to my husband that no one else is trying to cancel. The Cape May area was fine and had no damage from the storm so we don't need to cancel. And finally, she grew impatient with talking to my husband, who was shocked at the conversation he was having, she said my husband was creating the problem! She said they are running a business and we have 'two choices. To keep our reservation or stay home and lose our money.' They did offer us a credit, but we would have had to use it by February! Not reasonable in our opinion!!
We worked everything out at home and went to Cape May for the weekend; not sure what kind of reception we'd get when we checked in. We didn't meet Kathy. And the gentleman at the desk was very nice. But that wasn't the way we should have had to celebrate our anniversary. What a poor example of how to treat people in a time of crisis! For this reason alone, I would never stay there again or recommend it to anyone else. Even if the room was gorgeous, I would not give Carroll Villa our business again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mitchcacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    343
    82
    36
    21
See reviews for
135
754
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a wonderful overnight stay at Carrroll Villa Hotel. The staff was great, very accomodating, helpful and eager to please. Although we are summer residents of the Cape May area this was a bit different from the summer hustle and bustle. We will definitely do it again.

Room Tip: Room 34 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here while using a Travelzoo voucher. The items included were great - trolley tour, tastings at 2 wineries, free breakfast with mimosa/bloody mary, bottle of wine in the room. The inn and room were a bit dated and musty. Our room (#18) was on the 3rd floor, which you do have to walk up to, however, when I made the reservation, they did advise me of that fact so we knew in advance. The room was fairly small and just seemed dated - the wallpaper, furnishings, etc. I understand it is a Victorian B&B, however, the room just seemed old instead of antique. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nice. I will say that the downstairs bar has a great happy hour, and the breakfast was excellent!

I can't wait to return to Cape May, but would likely stay elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler129212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Nice place, was as described would definately go there again. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Restaurant and bar were nice as well. No need to go anywhere else. Short walk to the beach about half block.

Room Tip: Room 21 has ocean view very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our second time staying at Carroll Villa and the first time we brought our 20 month old son. Most Cape May B&Bs won't allow kids, but the folks at Carroll Villa are very welcoming of well behaved children and still manage to keep the B&B elegant and luxurious. Our first trip was for our anniversary, and it was perfectly romantic. This time, with our whole family, we felt just as welcomed. And there was another couple with a 6 month old. The walls are thick and everything is quiet, despite the presence of children.

We wanted to do something special and memorable for Thanksgiving, as this was the first in 15 years that we would not spend with my father who passed away in September. The inn was self-check in, and we enjoyed the peace and quiet after a great turkey dinner at a nearby winery and a stroll around Cape May to enjoy the Victorian holiday lights.

I had mentioned in passing that the next day would be my husband's birthday, and they remembered and left a Happy Birthday balloon and little salt water taffy gift in the room. We felt welcomed and well cared for.

Our breakfast the next morning at the Mad Batter was superb as usual. All in all it was the perfect holiday "get-away" for our little family to relax and celebrate after several months of a very difficult time in our lives due to the illness and death in our family. We are so thankful!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kesrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is our second time staying at this charming bed and breakfast and we were not disappointed. Our room was clean, the bed & linens comfy. A bottle of wine was a gift in our room. The breakfast included was fabulous & the service accomodating and excellent. The bar was so comfortable and welcoming & we loved the fireplace on. Our dinner was delishous and again the service was great. Great location near the beach and shops. We met some really nice people who also were repeat customers. What a good value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprillola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndmoor
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The ratings below are based on the Trip Advisor Package and/or the Groupon Deal. For $119.00 per night ($145.00 with all taxes) you get a variety of additions to just the room. Breakfast, of course at a restaurant in the building and a bloody mary (excellent!), a bottle of wine on arriving, free tastings at two wineries and a trolley tour of the town. I highly recommend this deal. The rooms that qualify are among the smaller ones but they are still reasonable. Everything else was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob7749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#10 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#17 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#13 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#16 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing