We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it, LOVE IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carroll Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Love it, LOVE IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I first went to the Carroll Villa Hotel in June of 2011 and fell in love! The staff, the beautifully appointed rooms; the wonderful restaurant with seating on the front porch or the atrium in the rear, happy hour, proximity to the beach and shopping area...sooo wonderful. I returned with my friend on a "girls getaway" in October 2012 and as I was crossing the threshhold, my youger sister and her friend also shared a getaway. I had frecommended the jCarrolll Villa but had no idea she was there! So much fun! I highly recommend it for couples, friends, even if an individual wants to travel alone but not be isolated. The packages the Carroll Villa puts together is a great way of introducing yourself to the Hotel and the Cape. The friendliness of Cape May residents was refreshing. Great day trip from DVM area.

Room Tip: Tallk to the staff and tell them what you'd like. If possible, they will do their best to accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpatrice58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    336
    80
    34
    21
See reviews for
130
726
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

First off, I must say this is not a bad place to stay. My fiancee and I saw a deal on a travel website and decided to take a Veteran's Day trip to Cape May. The deal included one night stay, two wine tastings, a trolley tour, breakfast, and a discount on dinner. What they didn't tell us before we bought the voucher, was that it would be an additional $26 in taxes and fees (just a note if you get the same voucher).

Parking was an issue, though nothing we couldn't resolve during the slow season. There is a metered parking lot about two blocks from the hotel, but the meters are non-functional November-March (I think). We were able to find a spot in the lot, but it is a small lot and I can only guess how absolutely packed it would be during the busy season. Also, there didn't seem to be any cabs or public transportation, but that might be different in the busy season as well.

The front desk staff was very accommodating, and had obviously sold quite a few of the same voucher, so they were well-versed in directions and instructions. Check-in was easy, and everyone was very nice, and they gifted us a free bottle of wine (don't ask if it's a good bottle, we haven't even opened it yet!).

The building has no elevator, only stairs, and the hallways are very narrow (one person halls). I would NOT recommend this for handicapped.

We stayed in room 8, which is the first room on the left up the stairs. The room itself was very small, and the room was also a bit musty, but the bed was clean and the bathroom worked. It also had a tv, which was nice to drown out the noise from the bar downstairs. Speaking of, the room is VERY loud in the afternoon/evening with noise from downstairs. I'm not sure exactly what time they close up there, but it is until at least 11pm. Also, we were feeling a little itchy in the bed, and continued feeling itchy when we got home. Not sure if it was just an allergy to the detergent in the sheets, but we were definitely itchy until we got home and took a shower. Both of us seem to be ok now, though.

Check-out was easy, and they let us stay a little later than the scheduled time so we could have an extra mimosa for breakfast.

All-in-all, I would suggest this place for a day trip to see the area, but not so much for a romantic bed and breakfast getaway.

Room Tip: I would imagine higher floors have less bar noise, though I really don't know. 8 is not quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed overnight for a wedding at Congress Hall. Great location to everything. Loved being in walking distance to the bars and Congress Hall. The room was great, perfect night sleep.

The room and especially the bathroom were much larger than expected from a non-traditional hotel. Plus I was greeted by a Giants fan, which was another pleasant surprise!!!

Food at the Mad Batter was great. My breakfast really hit the spot. What's better than walking downstairs for breakfast?

We plan on coming back to the Carroll Villa!

Room Tip: We used 14, facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were married in n j cape may court house in june and chose the carroll villa for our wedding night. The hotel experience was truely like finding the best kept secret in cape may. The warm and friendly staff was such a gift. We just spent an awesome weekend again in november and have allready booked new years eve and new years day in one of the hotels amazing rooms. If you love cape may you need to have the carroll villa and their restaurant mad batter experience. I hope the feeling of relaxation and hassle free vacationing will be yours too if you are lucky enough to treat yourself to the hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yukon03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A lovely small "Victorian" hotel very close to the beach. You eat in the Mad Batter as an extra, in the same building.

We stayed in the annexe at the front, first floor, in the first week of September. It had been recommended and we booked online via a very pleasant member of staff but I think the hotel is family owned and managed. The room was large with an ensuite, carefully updated and clean with a glimpse of the sea. The bed was comfy and the elderly furniture easily held our lothes but a rail rather than a wardrobe for hanging clothes.

An easy walk to the seafront (under 100 metres) and to the Washington Street open mall.

The hotel owns a restaurant called the Mad Batter on its ground floor, excellent, see my separate review and the hotel will sell you vouchers to eat there.

A couple of warnings. Being an old building, there is no lift (elevator) but the staff will carry your bags upstairs for you. And there is no car park. Outside in the street there are meters but it is difficult to find a space other than the loading bays which you can use for a few minutes. The hotel does supply a free parking pass to an outdoor, unsurfaced car park they advise is an 8 minute walk away. This was spot-on time-wise for me but (as happened once) eight minutes is eight minutes when it starts to rain.

This is written after the hurricane and I have seen photographs and TV about Cape May. I hope that this hotel and all the other buildings, (many quite beautiful if a little kitsch) have survived.

Room Tip: A small hotel across two buildings. We were in the annex on the first floor, overlooking the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david_kravitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Positives: Location on Jackson St., old time, congenial bar scene with live music, Mad Batter restaurant was nice with good serviceand on the premises, comfortable bed.

Negatives: The only hotel parking was at least 1/2 mile away, so darkne ss and inclement weather were inconveniences we hadn't planned on, and unlike other neighborhood hotels, Carroll Villa did not offer any valet services. Our second floor queen bedroom with blue walls (it's the room on their postcard) was shabby: upolsteted furniture worn, battered antiques, dusty pull shades and curtains. The in-room Poland Springs water bottles both had seals already broken and appear to have been simply refilled. Bathroom, very small, doll-sized sink, had broken and rusty baseboatd heating, no adequate reading lights in room or in the main living room of the hotel. Hallway curtains were full of dust, really grungy. One public room, other than the large bar in back, dark and somber, and this seems like neglect, not a reflection of the Victorian period; never saw anyone sitting in there. No place to read with lamp light and have a drink before dinner. The front porch was converted to the Mad Batter restaurant, and this seems to be the main priority for the hotel. At most B&Bs, the owners are visable, there are pleasant interactions with other guests or staff but the folks at Carroll leave you alone to the point if obscurity. I cannot recommend this hotel.

We DID find a lovely respite and dinner right next door from the Carroll at the Virginia Hotel, where we read and had a great dinner at the Ebbit dining room. The staff was welcoming and let us use one of their side visiting rooms to relax and read before dinner. They have valet parking too, at a lot on the next block.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OneLifeToLive100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for the weekend. I parked my car Friday and didn't get back in it until we were leaving Sunday. We did some sight seeing and took a walk to the beach. We shopped and ate delicious food. The Mad Batter, located on the first floor of the Carrol Villa Hotel, was awesome! Delicious food! Also, they had live music each night and the bloody Mary's are to die! They really were the best I ever had. Speaking of live music, not only the Mad Batter, but everywhere had live music! It was so much fun! Our weekend was too short! We spent a lot of money, but what are you gonna do? I love cape may and our stay there was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggyvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#13 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#16 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#10 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing